We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just come back from stag do, and MOR was briiliant”
Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MOR
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked 5 rooms of 4 for my mates stag do over the weekend of 18 - 19 july 2014 and the hotel was brilliant.
The cost of the rooms was realistic.
The staff at reception were more than helpful and welcoming. And despite the fact that we arrived well past check-in time they were very understanding in the fact we ran into a few problems on the way in.
The bar staff were also brilliant (especially the barmaid on the even of 19/07/2014 as she was very friendly and lovely to talk to) and the booze was cheap.
I would happily stay there again and i encourage anyone who is looking for a cheap no thrills place to stay, to book this place. Plus because its up on a hill, the view from the front facing rooms and the terrace is enough alone for me to go back.

NB it was the barmaid who asked me to do a review for here and because she was so lovely to me and my friends despite us being drunken idiots i felt it was only fair that i did and i feel a little bit bad that i don't know her name.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bartman1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a lush stay , absolutely amazing. Staff were lovely , rooms were clean and drinks were cheap. All you need for a weekend away !

The location was far enough away from town to be quietism but close enough to not need to get a taxi which was great.

The bar had a really nice chilled vibe and they were happy to turn up the football which was great !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura1234567891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Spontaneous weekend in Newquay with family. We found this hostel on the web and we are surprised how clean, close from the city centre and the sea side is. Modern style and fairly priced. Staff were friendly and helpful all the time. Great experience.

Gabriela & Roxy & Sebastian

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

MOR Lodge is a really good cheap place to stay! You get what you pay for, bunk beds, flat pillows (bring your own!) nice little en suite bathroom though. Staff were very helpful and friendly! Just be aware the doors slamming at night as people aren't that considerate obviously of others sleeping! Bearing in mind that the lodge is full of stag and hen dos! That is the only gripe about this hotel is the doors slamming at night but there is not a lot the hotel can do about that themselves!! Maybe fork out for some new pillows!! Overall I had an amazing 4 days here which was made better by the staff that worked here to advise about places to eat and activities to do! TRY THE SURFING! Most amazing fun I've ever had! Will definitely consider visiting again!!

P.S FYI There's a £30 deposit per person required at check in that isn't noted anywhere that I've seen on the site (hostelbookers.com)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great friendly and spacious place, no complaints at all.
in house bar, open to all but discounted for residents.
great nights sleep, and great views over the town. decent comfortable room
cant comment on breakfast i didnt get up in time hahaha
is about 10 mins walk to the bars scene, depending which end you start.
very limited free parking but pay car park opposite and some side on-street parking nearby.

Room Tip: best views on top floors in return for a few more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChilliAndGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute after a change of plan!
Perfect for a break with my friend. Clean, simple, but everything you need. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, awesome view of the town and beach from the room we stayed in. Felt safe and secure at night, which was good as it was just us 2 girls on holiday.
Towns just a 2 minute walk. The bar downstairs was perfect for us 2 and spent most evenings in there after dinner!
Couldn't of asked for more and already planning to go back, definitely recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GeorgiaLiz0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Patrick and Rees are great hosts. Very friendly and run a great hostel. Its clean, beds are comfy enough, you can't hear the other rooms. They have a night porter and it feels secure. And the VIEWS! Panoramic picture of the coastline and beautiful sunsets. Whilst sipping your Cornish rattler cider from the bar. A cheap bin was damaged and a curtain rail too, but they were very realistic and said don't worry about it. Its good to have a manager who is realistic about damages in a hostel basically catering for groups of friends partying. Would definitely revisit, although hopefully there won't be another stag do for a while, I'm getting too old for the hangovers!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
56 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 14 in St Merryn
167 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#6 of 37 in St Austell
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AbreakAway
AbreakAway
#67 of 78 in Newquay
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing