We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day - pay for what you want!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holywell Bay Fun Park

Holywell Bay Fun Park
Ranked #22 of 57 things to do in Newquay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride, slide, splash and spin - with FREE entry, FREE parking and 20 rides and attractions Holywell Bay Fun Park is a great day out for all the family. One of Cornwall's top family attractions, Holywell Bay Fun Park is close to the beach and just 4 miles from Newquay. Our 'your day, your way' approach allows you to choose to either pay as you play or buy bulk star deals, saving you pounds. What's more if you buy online ahead of arriving, you can save a further 10%. Our bulk star deals offer great value for money and don't forget, only those playing need to pay, so can bring granny and granddad on your family day out at no extra cost! Get fast and furious on our F1 go karts, drench dad on our super squirty blaster boats, or dodge the mystical waterfall and make mum mad by getting lost in our magical maze. Aim, shoot, spin and steer on rides and family attractions for all ages. When it's time to cool down we've got it covered! Our original ice cream parlour, Daisy's, is a beautifully designed space to sit back and enjoy a delicious Cornish ice cream, freshly made smoothie or milkshake. For lunch or a quick snack, enjoy a welcoming atmosphere and stunning views at The Diner. Serving hot and cold food and beverages, The Diner is a great way to power up before continuing play on the park. At the back is Jelly Tots, a soft play area for Toddlers. Next door at the Golf Club, Woody's bar and restaurant is open to all. It's the perfect place to sit back and relax whilst enjoying the amazing views over the famous Gull Rocks. Newquay's Holywell Bay Fun Park is open from 10.30am for the main season, Easter - October, but please check opening days and times on our website before embarking on your day out.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day - pay for what you want!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The scenery around Holywell Bay is absoluteley beautiful! This day out can be a cheap or expensive as you want it to be. The facilities and staff were spot on. Would recommend to anyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review Connie C. We're pleased you liked our 'Your Day, Your Way' approach and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    136
    106
    51
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Holywell Bay is widely advertised as being a free attraction, which the entry is! However, the park works using a token scheme: you buy tokens from the gift shop, and spend them on the attractions. These tokens can work out expensive if there is a group of you or you want to go on multiple rides.
The highlight for me was the go-karts - it was the only attraction we went on as some of it was closed the day we visited. The little arcade was nice too.

A nice way to kill an hour or so - could work out pretty expensive if you spent a full day there, though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Abi P - Thank you for your review, although I notice you haven't visited us since last year. Since then, you'll be pleased to hear we've introduced an all-day wristband which allows you to pay just one price and go on as many rides as you wish. We've also retained the original 'Pay-as-you-play' option for those who just want to go on one or two rides.

Whichever option suits you best, we'll hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Kind regards, Holywell Bay Fun Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“an expensive dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived here full of expectation with 2 little ones on our holidays to newquay. £15 each or £47 for a family ticket is ridiculous. It is advertised that u can pay as u go but most if the rides at 4.50 each!! Also its supposed to be 20 rides but that's a joke too. One is a very,small bouncy castle u could put in a garden, one is a awful maze and one a gold mine which is basically playing with sand and water. He other rides are all car type driving rides which my boys were too little to go on there own. Crazy golf was also £4 each!! We walked round and didn't pay to go on anything and would not recommend it. The go carts were the only thing that looked OK. Everything else was old and shabby and it is a massive rip off. Don't bother. If u have little ones go to dairyland or lappa valley instead!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oois25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi oois25 - thank you for your review.

We're sorry you felt that we did not offer value for money but we are finding that many of our customers really like our 'your day, your way' approach which allows you to spend as much or as little as you wish.

The family tickets are there for those parents that wish to go on all of the rides too, but as entry itself is free, we find that most people choose to buy wristbands for their children only and then pay for individual rides if required. Price is always relative but many of our customers believe £30 for a family of 4 day out to be good value.

With regards to your comments on height restrictions, we do have a number of height charts available in the park to check restrictions but we're sorry if this was not immediately clear to you. If your children were in the £15 price bracket then they would have been tall enough to go on many of our 'car type driving rides' either as a driver or as a passenger (for which the adult driver can accompany free of charge). All of our Shop Staff are also happy to help with any questions you may have but again we're sorry that you left without getting the full picture.

We hope you'll return again in the future, kind regards Holywell Bay Fun Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good day out in Cornwall! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to visit here with our 3 year old on a particularly dull day in Cornwall. Glad we did! Lots for little man to do from trampolines, go karts, remote control cars and a very good maze where even mummy and daddy were worrying how to get out! We especially liked the crazy golf course , one of the best ones we've seen.
I would advise to purchase the all day unlimited wristband rather than pay individually for each activity (which you can do if you're not planning to stay long).But in our experience our boy wanted to go back to the same thing 20 minutes later so well worth having the wristband for under a tenner.
The on site diner was also very good offering a wide range of diner style snacks like milkshakes and hot dogs ect.

In all a great day out to keep the little ones entertained.

Helpful?
Thank Addster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Addster79 - we're glad to hear you enjoyed your day with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. With Kind Regards, Holywell Bay Fun Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best days in Cornwall so far - Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stumbled across this park via a leaflet and thought we'd give it a try. What a glorious day we had! We took our two twin boys here and had possibly, one of the most fun days we've had in Cornwall so far. The rides were all great and with the all day wristbands, nearly all of them free. We even managed to get on a couple of the rides ourselves with the kids (Star Cars and the boats with the water jets). We thought the place to be extremely excellent value for money and you can keep going on again and again. We'd definitely come back. Fantastic, probably the best value for money in Cornwall and a wonderful place for the kids.

I'd also like to make special mention of the staff - everyone of them had a smile, were polite and attentive and are a real asset to the business - look after them all as they are the reason our trip was such a wonderful experience - clearly, they work tremendously hard at making the experience there 10/10. Of special mention...the staff member at the boats with the water cannon was excellent - taking the time to ensure we were OK in the boats and answering any questions (sorry I didn't take your name!), the diner staff (again sorry folks if I didn't get any names but appreciate the service you gave) - they were attentive, polite and quick with the food (which again was very well priced and we thought good quality), the two chaps on the aqua orbs who ensured the boys were in the pool together and enjoying the time, little Will (didn't forget to mention you!) was superb - took the time to ensure my two sons were safe and enjoying the time in the re-bounder and also Dan (I hope I remembered your name correctly pal)? (I remember you being a Liverpool fan and your mate a Derby County fan) on the Star Cars attraction, which we had such a laugh on as a family. What was nice, were that the staff had the time to talk to you, tell you about Cornwall and were enthusiastic about the site and area - it really is lovely to see and makes you want to come back.

For the money, I'd recommend anyone to try this park out as there is absolutely no way you can get to Alton Towers for the price you get into this park, either as two children or as a family. We live near Alton Towers in Derbyshire and all you get are queues and the misery of waiting for a ride. We didn't have any of that here. Great staff, great rides and 10/10 for value of money.

Go here with your kids (ours were 6 years old) - you won't regret it.

10/10

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicesTR8, Guest Relations Manager at Holywell Bay Fun Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Rob, thank you for your kind comments and for the email you sent too. Your words are greatly appreciated by all the team and we're delighted you had such a great day. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Cornwall. With kindest regards, the Holywell Bay Fun Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holywell Bay Fun Park also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Holywell Bay Fun Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing