We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Crazy golf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holywell Bay Fun Park

Holywell Bay Fun Park
Ranked #22 of 57 things to do in Newquay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride, slide, splash and spin - with FREE entry, FREE parking and 20 rides and attractions Holywell Bay Fun Park is a great day out for all the family. One of Cornwall's top family attractions, Holywell Bay Fun Park is close to the beach and just 4 miles from Newquay. Our 'your day, your way' approach allows you to choose to either pay as you play or buy bulk star deals, saving you pounds. What's more if you buy online ahead of arriving, you can save a further 10%. Our bulk star deals offer great value for money and don't forget, only those playing need to pay, so can bring granny and granddad on your family day out at no extra cost! Get fast and furious on our F1 go karts, drench dad on our super squirty blaster boats, or dodge the mystical waterfall and make mum mad by getting lost in our magical maze. Aim, shoot, spin and steer on rides and family attractions for all ages. When it's time to cool down we've got it covered! Our original ice cream parlour, Daisy's, is a beautifully designed space to sit back and enjoy a delicious Cornish ice cream, freshly made smoothie or milkshake. For lunch or a quick snack, enjoy a welcoming atmosphere and stunning views at The Diner. Serving hot and cold food and beverages, The Diner is a great way to power up before continuing play on the park. At the back is Jelly Tots, a soft play area for Toddlers. Next door at the Golf Club, Woody's bar and restaurant is open to all. It's the perfect place to sit back and relax whilst enjoying the amazing views over the famous Gull Rocks. Newquay's Holywell Bay Fun Park is open from 10.30am for the main season, Easter - October, but please check opening days and times on our website before embarking on your day out.
Barnehurst Kent
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fab Crazy golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent the morning here & we had a great time. The Crazy golf was one of the best we've played. & the Farm golf was fun. We actually got completely lost in the maze !!! My son loved the mini F1 cars & the water ride too.

Panning for gold, was his favourite thing & was very enjoyable. The children even get the (gold) weighed & receive a certificate.

£15.00 wrist band & go on everything you like as much as you like. Perfect

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    136
    106
    51
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

All of the semi-decent rides had big queues. We queued for an hour for the trampoline bungee ride because only one was working. We queued for 30 minutes for the water balls, then gave in when one of the two available deflated without the attendant noticing. Our 5 year old went on a car-type ride but was clearly too young for it (despite the signs indicating that she would be fine). She nearly fell out of it, so we asked to swap her to another ride but were refused.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank KLR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for younger children!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

we have been twice now and i'm not knocking the value because its great, its just that the only things that were okay for teenagers was the go-carts! its a great place to take your kids and young ones because they have mini-golf and a maze, also sand pits with mini diggers. its just you need younger kids to have a great time!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wont be visiting ever again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was the fisrt time I had been back to the fun park since visiting on a lads holiday over 10 years ago. What I remember was a really fun place to spend the day but it has really gone downhill since. The park was reasonably tidy but appeared to be in need of a lick of paint and general spruce up. There was great confusion over where to use 'stars' or monetary value i had put on a card, some rides required a visit to a kiosk to get the card zapped but there was nothing to tell the visitor that it was required until they reached the front of the queue. Some staff appeared to have nothing better to do than standing around talking to their colleauges.The queues were not managed at all which allowed some insanley big queues to develop and some cheeky children to queue jump (something that most other parks are hot on and eject people for doing). There were was a general 'down at heels' feel to the park in its appearance but also from the staff there. In all it reminded me of the 90's game themepark I used to play where i would deliberatley make peoples day out expensive and not much fun. Wont be going back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since the wristbands were introduced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

In the past, Holywell Bay was a thriving fun park with lots of rides, and staff making an effort.
Unfortunately, this is not the case anymore.

On our visit in August, we were thoroughly disappointed by the service provided. The park was busy, but due to everyone paying right at the beginning of the day for wristbands (as opposed to paying throughout the day), they made no effort at all to speed up queues. The F1 Go Karts were only running with 6 Go Karts (used to be 8), Bumper Boats were only using 3 (used to be 7), and the Star Cars were only running 3 Cars with a queue of over an hour! After paying £19.99 for a wristband, this is unacceptable as it limits the amount of rides you are able to do.
Another major disappointment was that Thunder Racing, a fantastic indoor racing track (similar to Scalextric) was closed and "had been closed all year." Despite this, it is still listed on the website as an attraction, and on the leaflets. This is false advertising.
Also, Battle Boats kept breaking down all day, and on average they were only using one boat at a time.
Further to this, the park closed at 5pm on the day of our visit, which had previously been 6pm.

Unfortunately, the way the park is being run currently has ruined it. The attractions are fun (hence why this is a three star review and not two), but the park's attitude to paying customers is very poor. I believe it is under new management this year, which would explain a lot. Very disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank CoasterReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holywell Bay Fun Park also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Holywell Bay Fun Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing