We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cinema”

Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Completed in 2011, Lighthouse Cinema is a purpose built, fully digital, 4 screen cinema in the centre of Newquay. It has a capacity of over 600 seats and offers 3D films and Dolby 7.1 Surround.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Cinema”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

So great to have a decent cinema in Newquay, the nearest before was Truro. 5 screens offering the latest films with all the usual drinks, snacks, popcorn etc. 3D and good sized screens, Brilliant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AzureBlue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    68
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cinema”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place though the volume for the children's movies is way too high. Both mine sit with their ears covered through most of the movies they've seen there. Now they wear ear plugs - would be great if they could take this into account for family films and lower the volume to bearable!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dickieharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent cinema but hate entering the auditorium from front!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good cinema but small auditorium sizes means not booking / reserving tickets can be risky for popular films. The one I went to see had loads of tickets available an hour before but when I reached the box office, they were selling fast, in fact it was practically a sell out with only one or two seats empty by the time the film started.

The screen and sound are both good and 3D rendering is good also.

One thing I don't like about it, is the screen entrance design. I hate screens where you come in at the front of the auditorium as if you decide to leave, you then have to walk in front of everyone. Not only can that be embarrassing but it also interrupts the film for them. The cinema would have been far better designed with a traditional rear entrance to the auditorium. I only visited 1 screen (upstairs) so can't comment if they're all like that, but I rather suspect so.

Overall, worth it and well worth a visit if on holiday if only to support the local facilities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very pleasant cinema which added to our holiday was modern and very clean with a nice range of cinema snacks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Orange Wednesday”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Good cinema but it's quite small, we had to sit at the front because there wasn't any seats so make sure you get there early.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Cinema @ Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing