We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent helped to make our holiday first class.”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Went to this hotel last year so was looking forward to this year,but one never knows,well what a surpise,was better than last year new owners,new management and some new staff,things were good last year ,but things excellent this year first class,food beds rooms the whole hotel A***** .We went with a coach company and can't wait for next years dates to come out.Well done to all at The Cliffdene.Maureen &Tuck Davies

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitizbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2011

we where greeted by very friendly staff, we use this hotel for a national express reunion . wonderfull weekend rooms spotless hotel red hot from the heating, bedding spotless bathrooms spotless , we have stayed in here for the last three years for this party they cant do enough for the guest, just like to say thank you for a wonderfull weekend excellant food breakfast and buffett could not fault it see you all in 2012 or maybe before

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186258Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Travelled with bucklyes coaches had a great time as usual.room was a twin, quite spacious and clean as was the bathroom,food good only fault it could have been hotter.enertainment was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbyboyYokshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Just returned after an enjoyable 5-day break. Totally brilliant - love the place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missusgrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Went with a tour. Requested quiet room, given one over kitchen with irritating air conditioning playing whenever kitchen was in use. Room was dirty, beds uncomfortable, no soap in bathroom, towels not changed; toilet not cleaned. Dirty tablecloth on dining table the whole week despite request to change it. Very poor management of housekeeping. Beds and pillows were lumpy and hard. Carpeting showed wear and seats in lounge were torn. Nowhere to put luggage in room, nowhere to sit just two hard upright chairs pushed into a corner.

The only thing to recommend it was the food - tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merrywidows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Were there for a short break before the bank holiday so a quiet time. Is in a great location and easy to find but once inside it's like stepping back in time. It clearly caters to coach parties of older folks so we felt a little out of place but they were all very sweet and freindly.

We arrived late so it wasn't a surprise that there was no-one on recieption, we'd phoned ahead and checked and were told that we needed to pick our key up from the bar. The barman was as welcoming as he could be.

Our room was a good size, old fashioned but ok and if you don't look too closely the cleanliness is passable (they need to clean under & behind not just around every now & again) but my main problem was the heating. It had been warm a few days earlier but not anymore and this is britain so even if the days are warm the evenings can be cold so i was freezing that first night. When we asked the barman about it he said we'd have to sort it out with the manager the following day, which as it was late, wasn't unreasonable.

Breakfast was passable, nice sausages, but the service wasn't up to much. Not the staffs fault though, 2 servers rushed off their feet with 2 coach loads of pensioners didn't help. My main issue was that breakfast is served from 9am until 9.45. Seriously ??? I thought it was a typo but a 45 minute window for breakfast doesn't help the guests or staff. Plus who wants to get up at 9am when they're on holiday - not much of a lie in.

As we left for the day the manager told us he could switch the heating on in our room for the night so we were ok with that but got back around 6pm by which time reception had closed for the day only to find that the heating hadn't been switched on. We could do nothing about it as there was no-one to help. Waking up at 5am because I was freezing cold despite using the extra blankets provided made me grumpy and extreemly tired the next day which I wasn't best pleased about.

Overall the hotel is in a good location perfect for exploring around Newqauy and good for the beach. Parking is ok if you're lucky to get a space but if not ask reception for a pass for the car park around the corner (wasn't told this - overheard him talking about it), is fairly clean but if you're under 70 you might want to try somewhere else. This hotel should stick to what it's good at - providing a touch of nostalgia and a good old sing song in the evening for the older generation. And for all the silver surfers if you can't get the free wi-fi in your room try the reception room downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

A friend and I were booked on a Mon-Fri coach tour to stay at this hotel, but the trip was cancelled at short notice with no viable alternative available as our annual leave from work was "set in stone." I contacted the hotel directly to explain the situation and ask if they could help. They were very understanding and bent over backwards to save our holiday!

We explained that we would now have to travel via National Express, as this would take about 10 hours we wanted to confirm there would be someone available for a late chek-in. In response they offered to keep us roughly in budget and allow us to check in on the Sunday to allow us to travel down and still get four full days in the area!

On arrival we were shown to our rooms which were clean, comfortable and offered plenty of storage. We had booked single rooms and were pleasantly surprised to find them to be of a very comfortable size. The on-suite was generously proportioned with enough room to be able to step out of the shower and move with ease, this is no converted cupboard!

The hotel was quiet, and the staff were very helpful. As we were planning to use the local bus service to travel around we were pleased to see both the outgoing and return bus stops were directly outside the front door of the hotel, from these we travelled to Padstow, Truro and St Ives - it was like having a taxi service! The manager took an interest in what we were doing and printed out the local bus timetables and left them at reception without being asked!

Breakfast was very good, cereals, yogurt, fruit and a full cooked breakfast with toast set you up for the day. We spent a short time in the bar to play a few games of pool one evening and on finding no tips on the cues the staff immediately got to work locating replacements with a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. The bar prices were fair and the lager was served to a high standard.

We have since discovered we can fly to Newquay airport, and as the frequent bus service stops outside the door we are looking to return. My friend has commented she would be happy to reccommend her mother joins her for a stay there in the future, very high praise indeed!

Just one thing that has nothing to do with the hotel. If you fancy going out for a curry and have the full use of your sense of taste, an average appetite and disagree with being completely and utterly ripped off:

***** AVOID "The New Maharajah" JUST DOWN THE ROAD*****

We failed to to check the reviews before entering the establishment, and we paid for it!! We now see how they can afford to furnish the place with leather sofas and big screen plasma TV's - they simply provide cheap and nasty food in small portions for a premium price COMPLETE WITH HIDDEN COSTS! The mushroom rice had next to no mushrooms, we are sure it was "Uncle Bens" microwave rice or similar, the portions were almost up to childs portions of uninspired "curry" (Supermarket??) - and when the bill arrived we were shocked to discover there was a £2.00 per person surcharge for the chicken! - the mints should be replaced with the protection you will need while being screwed at the till! - I am looking to write a seperate review, but this need to be mentioned here as well to prevent other unfortunate souls staying at his hotel falling into the same trap! - type "curry, newquay" into google maps and read the reviews - they are being generous IMHO!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank free_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £26 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing