We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHORT BREAK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SHORT BREAK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Originally booked for 1 night loved the hotel booked another 2 nights.Sarah on reception very helpfull Andy the night porter & barman top man.The breakfast manager very helpfull & professional,chambermaids very friendly.We had a seaview room wonderfull.GR8 value for money. Will be back. Phil & Pat Nichol

Room Tip: Sea view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Cliffdene Hotel. It is always encouraging to receive positive reviews from our guests and I am glad that you had an enjoyable time. Hopefully we may see you return in the future.
Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    95
    78
    34
    20
See reviews for
38
132
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel has a great location, opposite tolcarne beach. The staff were friendly and we had a nice view at breakfast. We had two single rooms, which were spacious. The bathrooms were modern with nice hot showers. rooms were very clean. downside was the rooms were very warm even with windows open. one had a view of a small enclosed courtyard. i had to keep window shut till late at 1am due to noise of other guests echoeing in courtyard, but slept well after spoke to porter, who was quick to help. one room had a view out from the side of hotel and was much quieter. The hotel is close to shops, cafes etc, great location, everywhere in walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for sea views . Cooking fan is noisy but goes off early at 8.30 pm and doesnt start till 7.30 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyholidays321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Cliffdene Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found my staff friendly, you enjoyed our breakfast and found our bedrooms & bathrooms comfortable and clean.
Please accept my apologies for the noise coming from the courtyard next to the building.
On behalf of the team thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope to see you return in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

spent a week at cliffdene as part of coach party,all staff very efficient and friendly,food was good,my only complaint is the mattress in room 20 was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on,and the pillows not much better. A new mattress needed for a better nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank map206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Cliffdene Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found my staff efficient and friendly, that you enjoyed our food and you found your stay good value for money.
Please accept my apologies for the uncomfortable mattress and pillows, which have been changed already.
Thank you for your comments again and I do hope to see you return to the Cliffdene Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The staff were miserable. They had a set routine and made no effort whatsoever to provide a service. They say they have free parking, but the 'car park' can only handle about 5 cars, after that they suggest you pay £7 for every 12 hours nearby or shrug their shoulders. The bloke serving breakfast was hyper, but again had no idea that he could possibly stretch to accomodate your request. It was the breakfast they had on offer or nothing. You couldn't even say which bits you wanted or didn't, he effectively said that you could sort it out yourself on your plate. That said, he did do this with a big smile. An incredibly patronising smile, but a smile nontheless.

Stayed there as it was al lthat was left and certainly wouldn't do so again in a hurry.

It also smells a bit funny.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Cliffdene Hotel in Newquay. I am of course grateful for your feedback, however I am disappointed that your review casts a negative image of our hotel.
We are often praised for the level of service and friendliness that my staff provide and you will notice from the majority of the reviews on Tripadvisor that many of our customers make comment to this. I am therefore surprised to read that you found them "miserable". If for any reason my staff failed to be friendly, helpful and professional, then I apologise, however I am very proud of my team and know that they are committed to their roles and try very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests.
If you would like to discuss the experience of your stay in greater detail I would be delighted to do hear from you.
In the meantime, thank you once again for writing a review and sharing your experience.

Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here during August and was allocated a lovely room. Very comfortable and clean.
Went in for breakfast and was greeted by a Very Pleasant Gentleman who explained everything and showned us to our table. Shame his appearance was an open shirt and what seemed to be Jean type trousers. (Not very professional looking) but as i said very polite and pleasant. you have to order your evening meal at breakfast which felt a little strange as we have never done this before (but understand why this is done).
My only concern was on the back of the door in the room (as in Most hotel) were the evacuation procedures stating the alarm press button was next to the fire door opposite the room. we were a little disturbed and worried by the fact that this door actually had a lock on it and not a push bar or one of those glass tubes that you break and that in the event of the hotel having a fire we wouldn't be able to get out of the building using that door.

we would use this hotel again as long as they sorted this issue out.
we was unfortunate to be staying in the hotel that burnt down in Newquay about 6 years ago so this is the reason we look at these things. i know we should have mentioned it whilst we were there but every time we were in reception area they were busy and didn't want to alarm anyone else. I am sure i would have been ok but !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123PJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Advertised parking, no parking room filthy, hotel falling to pieces, food really bad, over priced. Will never go back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan080587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just returned from a 6 day coach holiday staying at this hotel, & am very suprised at the earlier negative review - I am even wondering if it was genuine. First, the food was excellent, with special orders and every possible request being enthusiatically attended to by the human dynamo Nick. The rooms were well furnished, in a style possibly more attractive to senior travellers, but that's just a matter of taste. They were warm and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. As I was travelling with my student daughter (she wanted to visit Cornwall) I didn't attend any of the entertainment put on every night but it certainly went down well with the rest of the group. The hotel is ideally situated opposite the beach, ten minutes walk into town and quiet and safe to go in and out of at night. We strolled home most nights around 11pm and would stop a while to look at the sea. On the last day the staff provided packed lunches for the journey home if requested, said goodbye to us on the coach and waved goodbye, saying they hoped to see us all again soon. I'm sure they will.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutoftownWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing