We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Darwen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here one night whilst visiting Newquay as it was one of the closest to Newquay Station and right on the seafront. We did not have to pay extra for single rooms which were only £22 each and both had en suite facilities. The rooms were basic but immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the Pizza Express if you are not eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladieswholunchDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We quite often do special prices for some of our budget rooms and look forward to feedback. Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    96
    79
    35
    21
See reviews for
39
134
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stay at the Cliffdene every year for a staff reunion, and have never been disappointed. Handy location right on the seafront at Newquay, with a great view. Handy for the town centre, handy for the rail station, and so locationwise spot on. The hotel is warm, welcoming and friendly, and does not promote itself as being 'top end', but is cheap and cheerful, and in a good way. Great staff (and consistent too, its good to see the same faces every year, obviously a sign that they are happy in their work) who do all they can to ensure that stays are relaxing and hassle free. Well worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manage at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Many thanks for your rview and kind comments.

We have a good team at the Cliffdene Hotel and although we have only had the hotel 18 months we are making great progress.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have stayed at The Cliffdene for our club Xmas meal and disco for past 10 or so years. The staff at Cliffdene have always been friendly and ready to help in any way and the rooms we have stayed in have been good quality. But, this year, on top of the usual good times, the food was outstanding. Well done Cliffdene.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nig87101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review about our hotel on Tripadisor. This is very much appreciated and we certainly also appreciate your loyal support throughout the past 10 years.
My team work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and I'm pleased to hear that you found the Cliffdene Hotel this Year better than ever. On behalf of my team thank you for sharing your experience and for speaking highly of us.
In the meantime, please be assured that I have passed your review onto our staff members and I look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013.

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We hold an annual event at the Hotel and this year they really did shine. Last year there were a few minor grumbles about the food. Personally it was never bad but this year all those comments had been noted and the food was amazing. The waiting staff were brilliant and it is a lovely venue for parties and functions. The bar/dance area is very smart and is well laid out for a gathering. The rooms are clean and tidy and some have amazing views. The manager makes a great effort to ensure that the dining room is laid out to you liking. The Hotel is run very well and it makes a change that a company are prepared to listen to your views and act upon them as well as care about customer satisfaction. If you are going for an event or a stay by the sea I do not think you will be disappointed. Very happy!

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a great a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent annual event. I'm delighted that you chose to share your experience on the internet as this can only help us in attracting new guests to our hotel.

We very much appreciate you choosing our hotel for the venue of your Dinner & Dance Night and I have passed your kind words onto my team. We are all glad you had such an enjoyable time at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Once again thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your event in 2013!

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I kept thinking of "Faulty Towers" during my stay, (1 week late September) and not in a bad way !
A welcome change from international chain style hotels.
The Cliffdene ticked all my boxes, and the staff were perfectly happy to help me in many ways.
A need a good breakfast, and got one every time. Loved the endless tea, coffee, milk and sugar in the room. Newquay's still a decent spot for a break, liking your work Cliffdene.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 of the cheaper ones, both a bit different. The 2nd one had wi-fi available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a favourable review of our hotel on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Cliffdene Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. On behalf of the team thank you for sharing your experience and for speaking highly of us.

Once again thank you for your kinds words and I look forward to welcoming you back to Newquay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki (Basil)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Warm and helpful reception on arrival. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Good view from the back over to the Zoo area. Hope to stay there again in the not too distant future. In good position overlooking Tolcarne Beach and not too far for a stroll into Newquay town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecclesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a favourable review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent stay and for awarding us full marks. This is very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time in Newquay.

We certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Two of us, young and old were sent to this hotel from another when there was no room at the Inn, haha, and most of the staff were very kind, so no complaints there, and there was an excellent view from the room that we were placed in, but our necks and backs were in pain after each night while we were sleeping in this hotel to the point that I did tell the manager that the hotel which took over this building, should consider investing in new mattresses. Many of the amenities that are available down the street and over a few blocks into the city for less depending on the season, were not available at this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a view (just like the famous novel title)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINNESN0WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Cliffdene Hotel. On the whole it does appear that you had an enjoyable stay and I certainly hope to see you return again in the future.

Please be assured that I appreciate all feedbacks and your comment about the mattress has not gone unnoticed. Since you stayed with us we have changed beds and mattresses in some bedrooms.
However, I do apologise if you had a bit of a sleepless night. I'm sure that when you return next time you will have a lovely sleep.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing