We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Only”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1 Night Only”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Unfortunately there were 50 young people on a school exchange in the hotel. There was a set menu to suit them (we were told dinner would be served at 7pm although it was stated it was between 6 and 8 pm on hotel info) and the bar was not allowed to open. The noise as they partied in the room next door was unbelievable, so much so that we had to complain at 12.45 am and the night porter intervened. Breakfast was pretty average. I must state that Michael the young manager came to speak to us the next afternoon and offered us either a room on the next floor above them or a transfer to the Great Western Hotel, as we had eaten there the previous night, we chose the latter. The lady Assistant Manager needs more training in customer relations in order to bring her up to the standards of how Michael handled the situation. On the good side they did not charge us for this one night stay. I suggest they inform other customers in future if they have young people staying, on this scale, as it does disrupt the leisurely stay for others. Michael is a good manager for a much better hotel, thank you for your help young man.

Room Tip: They are good sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read you have not enjoyed your stay but please to read that you had been looked after by part of the management team.

I will be speaking with my General Manager who was away at the time about other personnel and making sure we do not take other leisure business whislst taking large group bookings.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    98
    81
    36
    21
See reviews for
41
136
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Booked a single room to have somewhere to sleep for a night. Didn't expect very much for the price, but I was very wrong. Friendly welcome at Reception, super room with view over the sea, comfortable bed, warm, very modern bathroom. Bar staff great, breakfast (included) excellent so a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith1001340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review

I was pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and that you got great value for money.

We look forward to welcomig you back at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nothing much to add except to say that the Cliiffdene is an hotel with its own character and very friendly staff. We had a wonderful sea view room. Just like waking up to the Meditarranean each day, but it was too hot on account of the unseasonable heat wave we were experiencing, and there was no a//con. Food good but there is a lack of pleasant sitting areas. Could do with a nice sea-facing lounge!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinonorwich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Many thanks for your recent review and positive comments.

I will speak with my manager about the negative points. The restaurant is sea facing although you may not have had a table near the window.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here one night whilst visiting Newquay as it was one of the closest to Newquay Station and right on the seafront. We did not have to pay extra for single rooms which were only £22 each and both had en suite facilities. The rooms were basic but immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the Pizza Express if you are not eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladieswholunchDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We quite often do special prices for some of our budget rooms and look forward to feedback. Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stay at the Cliffdene every year for a staff reunion, and have never been disappointed. Handy location right on the seafront at Newquay, with a great view. Handy for the town centre, handy for the rail station, and so locationwise spot on. The hotel is warm, welcoming and friendly, and does not promote itself as being 'top end', but is cheap and cheerful, and in a good way. Great staff (and consistent too, its good to see the same faces every year, obviously a sign that they are happy in their work) who do all they can to ensure that stays are relaxing and hassle free. Well worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manage at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Many thanks for your rview and kind comments.

We have a good team at the Cliffdene Hotel and although we have only had the hotel 18 months we are making great progress.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We have stayed at The Cliffdene for our club Xmas meal and disco for past 10 or so years. The staff at Cliffdene have always been friendly and ready to help in any way and the rooms we have stayed in have been good quality. But, this year, on top of the usual good times, the food was outstanding. Well done Cliffdene.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nig87101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
I just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review about our hotel on Tripadisor. This is very much appreciated and we certainly also appreciate your loyal support throughout the past 10 years.
My team work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and I'm pleased to hear that you found the Cliffdene Hotel this Year better than ever. On behalf of my team thank you for sharing your experience and for speaking highly of us.
In the meantime, please be assured that I have passed your review onto our staff members and I look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013.

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We hold an annual event at the Hotel and this year they really did shine. Last year there were a few minor grumbles about the food. Personally it was never bad but this year all those comments had been noted and the food was amazing. The waiting staff were brilliant and it is a lovely venue for parties and functions. The bar/dance area is very smart and is well laid out for a gathering. The rooms are clean and tidy and some have amazing views. The manager makes a great effort to ensure that the dining room is laid out to you liking. The Hotel is run very well and it makes a change that a company are prepared to listen to your views and act upon them as well as care about customer satisfaction. If you are going for an event or a stay by the sea I do not think you will be disappointed. Very happy!

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernieKorycki01, General Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a great a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent annual event. I'm delighted that you chose to share your experience on the internet as this can only help us in attracting new guests to our hotel.

We very much appreciate you choosing our hotel for the venue of your Dinner & Dance Night and I have passed your kind words onto my team. We are all glad you had such an enjoyable time at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Once again thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your event in 2013!

Kind regards,
Bernie Korycki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing