We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value place to stay”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Wimborne
1 review
“Great value place to stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at the Cliffdene for 3 nights with my 2 1/2 year old son. The hotel gave me a very good rate for a double room with breakfast and were very understanding that sharing with a small child is not the same as 2 adults using the room and having breakfast.

The room was simple, functional, with pleasant furnishings and very clean with crisp white bedding and soft white towels in the shower room. Everything worked just fine and the room was not in any way tired or scruffy. We had very cold weather but were easily able to maintain enough heat and ventilation. I didn't request a sea view so our room overlooked a courtyard but it was very quiet and out of the ripping wind.

The public areas of the hotel are basic but perfectly in line with expectations for this price range and the dining room was very pleasant with a light feel and not stuffy or too hot as they often are.

The staff were very friendly and were happy to store and heat milk at bedtime for the little one. The restaurant staff were very charming and we enjoyed the breakfasts where there was a decent choice of cereals, some fruit and a nice cook-up (they had a vegetarian option which was great for me).

The only slight issue for me was that parking directly outside was limited and I had to park in the off-site car park (only approx 200 metres) away twice at night. Normally it would be no problem at all, but the logistics of loading, unloading and taking kit to and from the room with a very tired small child made the process a bit more complex and physical than normal.

The location is great for central Newquay with a beach and clifftop walk directly opposite. Newquay is a bit scruffy generally with a few disused hotels and premises and lots of fast food/surf shops, but I knew that and enjoy both it and the amazing coast in the area. There is a derelict cleared site on one side of the hotel, which isn't attractive but neither is it dirty or an issue that affects a stay there.

We had a very pleasant stay indeed by any standards and taking into account the price, for me this was top value for a short break. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: I was on floor 2 in room 41 and it was fine if a bath and sea view are not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliftonB259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Bernie and his team who will be pleased to read them.

Unfortunately, car parking is limited and I am sorry that this was an issue for you in your particular situation.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Newquay at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    101
    84
    38
    22
See reviews for
42
142
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BONNIE SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with my first ever coach trip. Hotel was quite a bit better than expected with my single room being much roomier and more pleasant than is usually dished out to us solo travellers. The room and ensuite shower room were all clean and tidy. The staff were excellent and in particular the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful even though they seemed to be understaffed and had their work cut out.

It was a great shame that their chef let the side down considerably. He or she appeared to enjoy burning much of the food i.e. the "full" breakfast each morning, apart from being a bit on the sparse side, always had one tasteless but burnt almost black sausage. When I tried poached eggs, one was virtually raw!. There was a very good choice for dinner which was encouraging but, again, the portions were minute and, yet again, burnt offerings appeared in the form of 3 or 4 tiny "roast" potatoes which were almost completely black. On one evening, a lady at my table couldn't even touch the fish as it was again raw inside.

As I believe this is meant to be a 3 star hotel, clearly the food is far from that and no self-respecting chef would have allowed burnt offerings or uncooked food out of the kitchen. If that was the standard in March when the place was almost empty apart from our coach trip, then I shudder to think how the chef would cope in the middle of the High Season. In my opinion, the meals are a very important part of any holiday and can sometimes actually make or break it so that side of things was very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEAULDFART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was sorry to hear that whilst you found the hotel to be nice and clear, the food quality and quantities did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

We pride ourselves on the level of service and hospitality provided and it is very clear that on this occasion we were let down. We have taken steps to ensure that this is not able to happen again in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, berks
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Spent 4 nights here. We were also there with the International students mentioned in a previous review, but had no problems at all. The slight drawback was that the bar was shut, but when we asked at reception, they did serve us a drink which we were able to enjoy in the sitting room! Despite the hotel being full on 3 of the 4 nights (when the students left some coach parties arrived!), we were served breakfast of tea, coffee, toast and full English with barely any waiting at all. The room (number 34) was at the front of the hotel, and had magnificent views of the beach and the ocean. It wasn't noisy at all despite being on the main road, as the double glazing was excellent. If I was being picky, I'd say it could have done with a slighty bigger tv!

We used the hotel really only for bed and breakfast, as we were up and out everyday, and also ate out as well. I can have no complaints on this basis. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast service was corteous and speedy, and all the staff we had any dealings with were well mannered and helpful. For the money, this was excellent value!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have magnificent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janejarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay during the student visit to Newquay as well.

I will pass your positive feedback to my general manager and staff I am sure they will be please to read them.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Unfortunately there were 50 young people on a school exchange in the hotel. There was a set menu to suit them (we were told dinner would be served at 7pm although it was stated it was between 6 and 8 pm on hotel info) and the bar was not allowed to open. The noise as they partied in the room next door was unbelievable, so much so that we had to complain at 12.45 am and the night porter intervened. Breakfast was pretty average. I must state that Michael the young manager came to speak to us the next afternoon and offered us either a room on the next floor above them or a transfer to the Great Western Hotel, as we had eaten there the previous night, we chose the latter. The lady Assistant Manager needs more training in customer relations in order to bring her up to the standards of how Michael handled the situation. On the good side they did not charge us for this one night stay. I suggest they inform other customers in future if they have young people staying, on this scale, as it does disrupt the leisurely stay for others. Michael is a good manager for a much better hotel, thank you for your help young man.

Room Tip: They are good sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read you have not enjoyed your stay but please to read that you had been looked after by part of the management team.

I will be speaking with my General Manager who was away at the time about other personnel and making sure we do not take other leisure business whislst taking large group bookings.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Booked a single room to have somewhere to sleep for a night. Didn't expect very much for the price, but I was very wrong. Friendly welcome at Reception, super room with view over the sea, comfortable bed, warm, very modern bathroom. Bar staff great, breakfast (included) excellent so a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith1001340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review

I was pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and that you got great value for money.

We look forward to welcomig you back at the Cliffdene Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Nothing much to add except to say that the Cliiffdene is an hotel with its own character and very friendly staff. We had a wonderful sea view room. Just like waking up to the Meditarranean each day, but it was too hot on account of the unseasonable heat wave we were experiencing, and there was no a//con. Food good but there is a lack of pleasant sitting areas. Could do with a nice sea-facing lounge!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinonorwich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Many thanks for your recent review and positive comments.

I will speak with my manager about the negative points. The restaurant is sea facing although you may not have had a table near the window.

Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here one night whilst visiting Newquay as it was one of the closest to Newquay Station and right on the seafront. We did not have to pay extra for single rooms which were only £22 each and both had en suite facilities. The rooms were basic but immaculately clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the Pizza Express if you are not eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladieswholunchDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We quite often do special prices for some of our budget rooms and look forward to feedback. Once again many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing