We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a rating for worse than terrible ?”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited here for one night in family room 40 with our two grandchildren Friday 2nd August. Absolute disgrace ! Anyone who reads my other reviews will notice that I am fair in my opinions. The hotel needs a very urgent refurbishment. Room 40 is an old L shaped room with an enclosed ancient en suite. Our double bed was awful, very old base which was frayed due to age, and an old mattress where the springs were very worn. The bed squeaked badly when you moved a little in the night. Very uncomfortable ! Our 4 year old granddaughter noticed the dust which rose from the carpet when you dared to move on it. To top it all off room 40 is next to the lift shaft and when the lift moved you heard a clunk click clunk coming through the wall. There is no excuse whatsoever for the horrendous quality of the room and furnishings. It is not cheap either, we paid £105 for the "special deal". Never again !, we would rather sleep on the floor in a tent, it would be more comfortable, cleaner, and probably quieter ! Ps hotel, no need to reply, you already had the chance via Evivo agency, and I also submitted comments to your head office but have had no reply. How about a refund ? - I don't want it but why not donate £100 to a local charity as a matter of goodwill ?

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or find the hotel to be to your liking, we do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Newquay. We know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this. We are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term.

Please could you send your correspondence again to us as we do not appear to have these on record at head office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stepping in I was a little nervous! The place is dated but with outstanding views if you're lucky enough to get one with a sea view. Room 27 was a single room with no such view - however I just wanted a bed for the night after Boardmasters....and it did the job! Can't comment on food or bar as I literally just showered and slept there. The staff didn't seem overly enthusiastic - I suppose it's a hectic time of year. Room clean and shower nice. Hairdryer wasn't working so I reported at reception on my way out. Great location for the beach and Newquay centre. Good for parking too. Would stay again for same purpose - wouldn't go for a "nice weekend away" or for longer than one or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cliffdene. Although fairly basic this hotel represents excellent value for money! The staff are very helpful and polite. We were fortunate to have a room with a sea view and balcony and also lucky to have good weather. Location of hotel perfect as well! Meals though not large were adequate- maybe breakfast could have been better organised rather an almighty queue for cereals, fruit juice etc.!

Room Tip: Our room was satisfactory but cannot speak for others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Sarah and her team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We believe that we offer value for money, particularly compared with other hotels in Newquay and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case.

Your feedback regarding meals has been taken on board and will be discussed to see if there is anyway to make improvements for the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in family/triple room here for a week last year as part of a coach tour and the hotel location was ideal for the tourist attractions. Located in a corner at the rear of the hotel, the room looked like two small rooms had been crudely turned into one. The drab outlook to the back of hotel was made worse by filthy window complete with dead moths/flies etc, which was stuck fast and could not be opened even on blisteringly hot July days and whose curtains were poorly fitting, dirty and falling down. Our window ledge and other ledges and walls were completely covered in pigeon droppings - looked like they'd been harled!! There appeared to have been no effort made by management to clean up the mess. Pigeons were roosting directly outside our window and the smell was disgusting and the early morning noise horrendous . Paintwork and walls in room were marked and dirty, carpet was stained, dusty, faded and dated, bedding wasn't too clean, especially top covers, beds were uncomfortable, artificial lighting was poor. and , as windows were too small for the room, not much daylight could enter. Furniture was dated and mismatched and there were issues in bathroom with heating constantly on, which made showering very uncomfortable. Bathroom was not clean at all. Noise / conversations of other guests could be heard from adjoin rooms and from corridor outside. The whole place was very tired and dated and would benefit from a complete upgrade and deep-clean. We've been all over the world and this hotel was by far the worst we've ever stayed in. On the plus side, the dining room staff were nice, attentive and helpful and the food not too bad. We had our child with us and didn't avail ourselves of the evening entertainment which seemed more geared towards OAPs with bingo etc.

Room Tip: Do not book triple room. Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of a stay at the Cliffdene Hotel from last year.

Naturally I was disappointed to read these comments, particularly as your stay was a year ago and we did not have an opportunity at the time to respond to the points raised during your stay.

We do have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group, with a large proportion of the work being carried out during our close down period over the Winter. We also have tasks which are carried out on a month to month basis and we are always reviewing the priorities of our maintenance staff.

Of course it is not acceptable to have the level of cleanliness that you describe and we are confident that our General Manager works closely with the housekeeping team to ensure that our standards are maintained. It is difficult to respond to the specific points you have raised when they occurred last year but I thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night and unfortunately didn't get any sleep at all. The room was incredibly hot and the towel rail in the bathroom was on full so that made using the shower a very hot experience! The bed was rock hard, we had to sleep on top of the quilt to pad it out a bit. The pillows were very lumpy and mine both had brown stains on them. As this was a full price room, £80 for the night with no breakfast, we thought it was going to be a lot nicer than it was. The decor was very old fashioned and there were marks all over the mirror where stickers had been peeled off and left their backing behind. The location was the only saving grace as it is just across the road from the steps down to the beach.
On our arrival we were dealt with by a mature woman who had a funny idea of how a hotel should be run. She made a mistake with our booking and said we had two single rooms. When I said this was not what we had booked she made a silly "aaahh you want to be together? " comment which was rather rude. Customer service was not her strong suit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or find the hotel to be to your liking, we do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Newquay. We know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this. We are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

If any of our team appeared to be unhelpful or rude I really must apologise. This is not what we would expect from our team members and they have all been reminded that it is very important to ensure that guests are made to feel welcome and indeed are dealt with professionally at all times.

Thank you once again for your review.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Cliffdene with Leons travel. Restaurant a shambles. Waiters did not know what decaf coffee was. Breakfast disappointing. Having to sit on a small table with three other couples. Cramped.
One evening there was one sprout each in the dish !!!!!
Will not travel with Leons again especially as they use run down hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakeslover186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was sorry to note that you did not enjoy your dining experience, not least because we received some good feedback regarding this aspect of our service recently. As a direct result of your comments however a “mystery guest” visit has been arranged to the property so that we can assess the ongoing standards there and make any changes needed.

Thank you again for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

the Cliffdene Hotel the service overall was ok the staff was friendly and the rooms was clean but the restaurant was very disorganised and the service was not brilliant. The carpet was very rippled over the hotel with could be a danger to some people. the headboards was ripped or very worn and not all beds was comfortable. and the hotel did not look appealing or inviting from the outside
I wound proble not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewatchdog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was very sorry to read your comments which have been taken on board and investigated with the Management Team at the hotel.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £28 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing