We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than "Average", but not quite "Very good"”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited Newquay as part of a group of seniors and stayed here. It's an elderly hotel but the interior was fresh and looked as if it had recently been done up. The staff (all eastern european) were friendly, polite and attentive. The food was nicely prepared and tasty. The only fly in the ointment was the chap at the front desk, presumably the manager, who was perhaps the surliest and most anti-helpful hotelier that we've come across. His staff were, however, very pleasant and made up for it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at Cliffdene Hotel.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Cliffdene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Cliffdene over August bank holiday. Had decided last minute to head to Newquay to see family, was cheapest hotel I could find that was closed to the town centre.
The staff were lovely and friendly on arrival. My room was ok, clean bed linen and towels, the rest of the room was a bit grubby and tatty looking. The decor of the whole hotel doesn't seem to have been updated ever! Its kinda like where chinz went to die, and it wasn't a quick death believe me!
Bed was comfortable(ish), good pillows too! The hotel is far enough away from the bars etc that its pretty quiet.
One tip would be, don't bother with the breakfast. It was 10 pounds extra, and the "full" english was a single rasher of bacon, a small fried egg, half a tomato, a small puddle of beans, and the sorriest little excuse for a sausage I ever did see!! Walk 5 mins down the road into the town and you can't move for cafe's that do better breakfasts for much cheaper! No idea what the evening meals were like, I dread to think!
That being said the hotel is very well placed, and was reasonably priced! Would stay there again, but would pass on the brekkie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and are glad that your comments are reflective of this.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited here for one night in family room 40 with our two grandchildren Friday 2nd August. Absolute disgrace ! Anyone who reads my other reviews will notice that I am fair in my opinions. The hotel needs a very urgent refurbishment. Room 40 is an old L shaped room with an enclosed ancient en suite. Our double bed was awful, very old base which was frayed due to age, and an old mattress where the springs were very worn. The bed squeaked badly when you moved a little in the night. Very uncomfortable ! Our 4 year old granddaughter noticed the dust which rose from the carpet when you dared to move on it. To top it all off room 40 is next to the lift shaft and when the lift moved you heard a clunk click clunk coming through the wall. There is no excuse whatsoever for the horrendous quality of the room and furnishings. It is not cheap either, we paid £105 for the "special deal". Never again !, we would rather sleep on the floor in a tent, it would be more comfortable, cleaner, and probably quieter ! Ps hotel, no need to reply, you already had the chance via Evivo agency, and I also submitted comments to your head office but have had no reply. How about a refund ? - I don't want it but why not donate £100 to a local charity as a matter of goodwill ?

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or find the hotel to be to your liking, we do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Newquay. We know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this. We are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term.

Please could you send your correspondence again to us as we do not appear to have these on record at head office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stepping in I was a little nervous! The place is dated but with outstanding views if you're lucky enough to get one with a sea view. Room 27 was a single room with no such view - however I just wanted a bed for the night after Boardmasters....and it did the job! Can't comment on food or bar as I literally just showered and slept there. The staff didn't seem overly enthusiastic - I suppose it's a hectic time of year. Room clean and shower nice. Hairdryer wasn't working so I reported at reception on my way out. Great location for the beach and Newquay centre. Good for parking too. Would stay again for same purpose - wouldn't go for a "nice weekend away" or for longer than one or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cliffdene. Although fairly basic this hotel represents excellent value for money! The staff are very helpful and polite. We were fortunate to have a room with a sea view and balcony and also lucky to have good weather. Location of hotel perfect as well! Meals though not large were adequate- maybe breakfast could have been better organised rather an almighty queue for cereals, fruit juice etc.!

Room Tip: Our room was satisfactory but cannot speak for others!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Sarah and her team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We believe that we offer value for money, particularly compared with other hotels in Newquay and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case.

Your feedback regarding meals has been taken on board and will be discussed to see if there is anyway to make improvements for the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in family/triple room here for a week last year as part of a coach tour and the hotel location was ideal for the tourist attractions. Located in a corner at the rear of the hotel, the room looked like two small rooms had been crudely turned into one. The drab outlook to the back of hotel was made worse by filthy window complete with dead moths/flies etc, which was stuck fast and could not be opened even on blisteringly hot July days and whose curtains were poorly fitting, dirty and falling down. Our window ledge and other ledges and walls were completely covered in pigeon droppings - looked like they'd been harled!! There appeared to have been no effort made by management to clean up the mess. Pigeons were roosting directly outside our window and the smell was disgusting and the early morning noise horrendous . Paintwork and walls in room were marked and dirty, carpet was stained, dusty, faded and dated, bedding wasn't too clean, especially top covers, beds were uncomfortable, artificial lighting was poor. and , as windows were too small for the room, not much daylight could enter. Furniture was dated and mismatched and there were issues in bathroom with heating constantly on, which made showering very uncomfortable. Bathroom was not clean at all. Noise / conversations of other guests could be heard from adjoin rooms and from corridor outside. The whole place was very tired and dated and would benefit from a complete upgrade and deep-clean. We've been all over the world and this hotel was by far the worst we've ever stayed in. On the plus side, the dining room staff were nice, attentive and helpful and the food not too bad. We had our child with us and didn't avail ourselves of the evening entertainment which seemed more geared towards OAPs with bingo etc.

Room Tip: Do not book triple room. Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of a stay at the Cliffdene Hotel from last year.

Naturally I was disappointed to read these comments, particularly as your stay was a year ago and we did not have an opportunity at the time to respond to the points raised during your stay.

We do have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group, with a large proportion of the work being carried out during our close down period over the Winter. We also have tasks which are carried out on a month to month basis and we are always reviewing the priorities of our maintenance staff.

Of course it is not acceptable to have the level of cleanliness that you describe and we are confident that our General Manager works closely with the housekeeping team to ensure that our standards are maintained. It is difficult to respond to the specific points you have raised when they occurred last year but I thank you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night and unfortunately didn't get any sleep at all. The room was incredibly hot and the towel rail in the bathroom was on full so that made using the shower a very hot experience! The bed was rock hard, we had to sleep on top of the quilt to pad it out a bit. The pillows were very lumpy and mine both had brown stains on them. As this was a full price room, £80 for the night with no breakfast, we thought it was going to be a lot nicer than it was. The decor was very old fashioned and there were marks all over the mirror where stickers had been peeled off and left their backing behind. The location was the only saving grace as it is just across the road from the steps down to the beach.
On our arrival we were dealt with by a mature woman who had a funny idea of how a hotel should be run. She made a mistake with our booking and said we had two single rooms. When I said this was not what we had booked she made a silly "aaahh you want to be together? " comment which was rather rude. Customer service was not her strong suit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or find the hotel to be to your liking, we do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Newquay. We know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this. We are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

If any of our team appeared to be unhelpful or rude I really must apologise. This is not what we would expect from our team members and they have all been reminded that it is very important to ensure that guests are made to feel welcome and indeed are dealt with professionally at all times.

Thank you once again for your review.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing