We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh I do like to be beside the seaside with a great window view”
Review of Cliffdene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffdene Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oh I do like to be beside the seaside with a great window view”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked a week at Cliffdene based on price for a proper hotel with 24 hour front desk and reader's reviews. Our intention was to enjoy sea views and see nearby villages and great gardens without a car.
We had a huge window with a truly magnificient view, without which I suspect the hotel would have felt very ordinary.
Between public transport and tour buses we saw the Eden Project and Long Gardens of Heligan, Trebah and Tintagel with a bus stop conveniently outside hotel.
The location of the hotel was ideal, close to town and yet far enough away for peace and quiet.

The hotel is old but very clean with new looking carpets in the hallways and our room.
The mattress was not as comfortable as I am used to in hotels. The TV was tiny and almost impossible to watch.
I cannot comment on the full breakfast because we do not eat big English breakfasts.
Our toast and coffee was plentiful and there was cereal and juice on a buffet table.The service varied with the server from slipshod to excellent.
The room cleaners gave us a very clean room but did not replace the soap which went down to a slither and one day the cleaner replaced all our sodden towels from the floor on the towel heater. But that is one day out of 7.
Our room had 3 steps down to the bathroom with a good stair rail but scary if one were to forget during the night. The shower pressure was weaker than anything I have ever experienced and pathetic.But plenty of hot water.
The front desk staff was excellent, dispensing fresh towels and soaps and answering questions about the area.
The front room is wasted on a billiard table and a large screen TV which I never saw in use.
We were there with 2 tour groups for over 55's. (over 70s more likely but then so are we). One evening we enjoyed the 70's music entertainment with them.
The hotel is pretty good value for money but just a little elderly, like me.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the top floor. The elevator is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at the Cliffdene Hotel.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    101
    84
    40
    22
See reviews for
42
143
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked on the last minute for one night, the staff allowed an earlier check in which was great as we were tired from our journey. We enjoyed Newquay so booked an extra night. The room was basic but comfortable and the staff were more than happy to help with anything we needed. The breakfast was lovely. We would stay again as it is close to all local amenities and the staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJayne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at the Cliffdene Hotel

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited Newquay as part of a group of seniors and stayed here. It's an elderly hotel but the interior was fresh and looked as if it had recently been done up. The staff (all eastern european) were friendly, polite and attentive. The food was nicely prepared and tasty. The only fly in the ointment was the chap at the front desk, presumably the manager, who was perhaps the surliest and most anti-helpful hotelier that we've come across. His staff were, however, very pleasant and made up for it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at Cliffdene Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Cliffdene over August bank holiday. Had decided last minute to head to Newquay to see family, was cheapest hotel I could find that was closed to the town centre.
The staff were lovely and friendly on arrival. My room was ok, clean bed linen and towels, the rest of the room was a bit grubby and tatty looking. The decor of the whole hotel doesn't seem to have been updated ever! Its kinda like where chinz went to die, and it wasn't a quick death believe me!
Bed was comfortable(ish), good pillows too! The hotel is far enough away from the bars etc that its pretty quiet.
One tip would be, don't bother with the breakfast. It was 10 pounds extra, and the "full" english was a single rasher of bacon, a small fried egg, half a tomato, a small puddle of beans, and the sorriest little excuse for a sausage I ever did see!! Walk 5 mins down the road into the town and you can't move for cafe's that do better breakfasts for much cheaper! No idea what the evening meals were like, I dread to think!
That being said the hotel is very well placed, and was reasonably priced! Would stay there again, but would pass on the brekkie!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and are glad that your comments are reflective of this.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Visited here for one night in family room 40 with our two grandchildren Friday 2nd August. Absolute disgrace ! Anyone who reads my other reviews will notice that I am fair in my opinions. The hotel needs a very urgent refurbishment. Room 40 is an old L shaped room with an enclosed ancient en suite. Our double bed was awful, very old base which was frayed due to age, and an old mattress where the springs were very worn. The bed squeaked badly when you moved a little in the night. Very uncomfortable ! Our 4 year old granddaughter noticed the dust which rose from the carpet when you dared to move on it. To top it all off room 40 is next to the lift shaft and when the lift moved you heard a clunk click clunk coming through the wall. There is no excuse whatsoever for the horrendous quality of the room and furnishings. It is not cheap either, we paid £105 for the "special deal". Never again !, we would rather sleep on the floor in a tent, it would be more comfortable, cleaner, and probably quieter ! Ps hotel, no need to reply, you already had the chance via Evivo agency, and I also submitted comments to your head office but have had no reply. How about a refund ? - I don't want it but why not donate £100 to a local charity as a matter of goodwill ?

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or find the hotel to be to your liking, we do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in Newquay. We know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this. We are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term.

Please could you send your correspondence again to us as we do not appear to have these on record at head office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stepping in I was a little nervous! The place is dated but with outstanding views if you're lucky enough to get one with a sea view. Room 27 was a single room with no such view - however I just wanted a bed for the night after Boardmasters....and it did the job! Can't comment on food or bar as I literally just showered and slept there. The staff didn't seem overly enthusiastic - I suppose it's a hectic time of year. Room clean and shower nice. Hairdryer wasn't working so I reported at reception on my way out. Great location for the beach and Newquay centre. Good for parking too. Would stay again for same purpose - wouldn't go for a "nice weekend away" or for longer than one or 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cliffdene. Although fairly basic this hotel represents excellent value for money! The staff are very helpful and polite. We were fortunate to have a room with a sea view and balcony and also lucky to have good weather. Location of hotel perfect as well! Meals though not large were adequate- maybe breakfast could have been better organised rather an almighty queue for cereals, fruit juice etc.!

Room Tip: Our room was satisfactory but cannot speak for others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Cliffdene Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Sarah and her team who I know will be pleased to read them.

We believe that we offer value for money, particularly compared with other hotels in Newquay and were pleased to see that you found this to be the case.

Your feedback regarding meals has been taken on board and will be discussed to see if there is anyway to make improvements for the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffdene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffdene Hotel

Property: Cliffdene Hotel
Address: Cliffdene Hotel 12-14 Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliffdene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cliffdene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffdene Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing