We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID !!! AVOID!!!”

The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #9 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$3 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are now a fully licenced restaurant with fantastic sea views and full table service.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AVOID !!! AVOID!!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have ordered grilled cod, payed extra for it. And we get an frozen peace of fish where you could see water coming out of it. Portions like in a kids meal. We do regret that we went there, for £26 pounds we had 1x fish and chips , 1x grilled cod(which was a joke, never seen a grill only microwave) and portion of chips with 4x cans of coke. When i whent to say that grilled cod was int very nice chef for very rude !!! Avoid !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SNReview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roland m, Owner at The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I dispute this review as being a true review not having had any such complaints
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    95
    29
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chippy chips!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having been here on our last holiday, my husband and I decided to go back again....and it was just as good as we remembered 5 years ago!! Lovely freshly cooked cod and lush chips!! I had the curry and would recommend it, the owner Roland was friendly and stopped for a chat :)
So if you want the best fish and chips by the sea, this is the place to go!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chard32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

First night in Newquay and my partner wants Fish and Chips.
We struck lucky as on a lovely sunny evening we sat on hidden the terrace at the back and the views are stunning.
Oh and the foods great as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we had a warm welcome, quickly we found outside tables overlooking the cliffs, water and beach. My tea was made and brought to me and was asked how strong I wanted it which as most know doesn't usually happen. The food was well presented and tasted delicious. I had haddock which is often over cooked and not fresh down south. It was cooked to perfection and was clearly fresh. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmckirgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This was a toss up between two. The children 1 and 3 wanted chips and as on holiday we treated them. The portion sizes were just right, the service was lovely, the coffee was the best. The lady serving with dark hair and a slight accent is a credit to the establishment.
Enjoyed alot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bzads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Cod End Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing