We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel with an excellent view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with an excellent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed there as part of an educational trip. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were of a good size and toiletries provided were excellent. The best bit was the restaurant, excellent food at a very good price. Sit by the window and enjoy the most wonderful view. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravelteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    414
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
482
414
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

All the facilities of a large hotel with the hospitality of family friends.
The hotel and Staff were fantastic with all the trimmings including helpfulness, good food, clean rooms and everything that you require for your stay with the esplanade. The sister hotel, the Bay provides a great gym and relaxing swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Nothing is too much trouble to any staff and is a family orientated hotel. we would recommend to anyone and will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garryshaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we are really happy that the whole family enjoyed themselves, see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. On arrival the staff were friendly and during the stay were always pleasant and ready to answer any queries. The room 222 was clean and tidy slight shame about the back view but we didnt spend anytime in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and of a very good quality. We didn't eat evening meal there as there were two weddings during our stay so it was full. The location right on the bay is fantastic and enjoying a drink at night in the large conservatory is just great. The parking is a slight downside, shame that the signs indicating campers should not stay over night on the road isn't obeyed. Would go back and hope to visit again before the year is out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizza2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I would recommend The Esplanade Hotel especially for family with children, this hotel has got all you need to entertain your children, even on a rainy day!
We loved food, night entertainament, fabulous room view on Fistral beach, room comfort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margherita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

just got back from our stay at the esplanade hotel in fistral bay, our stay was excellent, the staff were brilliant and made us feel very welcome. the hotel was very clean. meal times were always very good food was great and resonably priced. swimming pool and childrens play areas are very good. the views from the hotel of the bay are amazing, definately worth paying the extra for a sea view. Our family room was lovely, very clean. Bar area was lovely with toys and board games for the kids. Parking was fine, the hotels car park wasnt huge but there is plenty of free parking right outside, occasionally you may have to wait 5mins to find a space. all in all this is a fantastic hotel with great staff great food and very clean. highly recommended and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad the whole family enjoyed themselves and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We have been to the Esplanade for many years (& sister hotels since i was a chlld). It is quite simply the most fantastic place in the world. We love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to see you year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We've just got back from a lovely holiday in Newquay, and cannot recommended The Esplanade enough.

We got a sea view room, and paying the extra money was definitely worth it. Waking up to Fistral Beach every morning was beautiful. The staff when we arrived were really nice, and always on hand if you had a problem. Our TV stopped working on the first day, and the receptionist (Hannah), came up to our room and tried to sort it for us. She wasn't able to, but she arranged for maintainance to come up the next morning. We woke up to a note under our door apologising for the incident and again telling us that maintainance would be arriving that morning. Very efficient service! By the time we'd come back from our day out, it was fixed!

The shower was interesting. It had a habit of turning cold and hot, but once you get used to it, it's fine. Just be careful if you have sunburn!!!

Everything in the room was lovely. The towel's were always clean, and the bed was very comfortable. All the amenities were great too, we had tea and coffee in our room.

We only went to breakfast one day, and I'd recommend that if you can eat a lot in the mornings. For an extra £10 per person, it is all you can eat (which they don't tell you on the site!). I took full advantage of this obviously! It is lovely though.

Overall a fantastic place to stay for couples and families. The swimming pool and jacuzzi are nice too! An excellent hotel in a great location!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacakeblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing