We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Really well thought out good value family hotel, in a town where there is very little good value.

The family room was not simply a double room with some shake down/fold up beds - we had an enormous room with a super king sized bed, a set of full sized bunk beds plus a separate seating area with a couch, two armchairs, and a lovely balcony off it. There were 2 TV's one with a DVD player so the kids could chill out after an exhausting day surfing. All in all, a very well thought out family hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

Whilst I wouldn't normally write a review like this, I think others should be warned.

This hotel has a blanket 100% cancellation policy.

If you have to pull out (like we did due to a family disaster), then you lose everything you have already paid, even if you give plenty of notice. The hotel can of course then re-sell the room and turn a further profit.

Our family has a Relais & Châteaux hotel, and even they don't do this. Disgusting.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank WhizzKidUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are disappointed that you had to cancel your stay with us.

We take a deposit upon booking to secure your room, and we do have standard terms of cancellation in the unfortunate event of a booking being cancelled:

• If a booking is cancelled more than 28 days before arrival date, the deposit will be held for up to one year, during
which time it can be transferred to any subsequent booking made with Newquay Hotels. A £20 cancellation fee
will be charged to cover administrative costs. After the period of one year, the deposit will be forfeited.
• If a booking is cancelled less than 28 days but more than 14 days before arrival date, the full deposit will be forfeited.
A £20 cancellation fee will be charged to cover administrative costs.
• If a booking is cancelled less than 14 days before arrival date 50% of the total cost of the booking will be charged (unless the total cost of the stay is taken as payment at time of making the booking in which case the whole amount is non-refundable). An additional £20 cancellation fee will also apply.

We do strongly recommend upon booking that you seek holiday cancellation insurance from a reputable provider in order to cover any loss of deposit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed there as part of an educational trip. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were of a good size and toiletries provided were excellent. The best bit was the restaurant, excellent food at a very good price. Sit by the window and enjoy the most wonderful view. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtravelteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

All the facilities of a large hotel with the hospitality of family friends.
The hotel and Staff were fantastic with all the trimmings including helpfulness, good food, clean rooms and everything that you require for your stay with the esplanade. The sister hotel, the Bay provides a great gym and relaxing swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Nothing is too much trouble to any staff and is a family orientated hotel. we would recommend to anyone and will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garryshaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we are really happy that the whole family enjoyed themselves, see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. On arrival the staff were friendly and during the stay were always pleasant and ready to answer any queries. The room 222 was clean and tidy slight shame about the back view but we didnt spend anytime in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and of a very good quality. We didn't eat evening meal there as there were two weddings during our stay so it was full. The location right on the bay is fantastic and enjoying a drink at night in the large conservatory is just great. The parking is a slight downside, shame that the signs indicating campers should not stay over night on the road isn't obeyed. Would go back and hope to visit again before the year is out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizza2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I would recommend The Esplanade Hotel especially for family with children, this hotel has got all you need to entertain your children, even on a rainy day!
We loved food, night entertainament, fabulous room view on Fistral beach, room comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margherita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments - they are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

just got back from our stay at the esplanade hotel in fistral bay, our stay was excellent, the staff were brilliant and made us feel very welcome. the hotel was very clean. meal times were always very good food was great and resonably priced. swimming pool and childrens play areas are very good. the views from the hotel of the bay are amazing, definately worth paying the extra for a sea view. Our family room was lovely, very clean. Bar area was lovely with toys and board games for the kids. Parking was fine, the hotels car park wasnt huge but there is plenty of free parking right outside, occasionally you may have to wait 5mins to find a space. all in all this is a fantastic hotel with great staff great food and very clean. highly recommended and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad the whole family enjoyed themselves and hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £37 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing