We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, caters for everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Really good hotel very friendly and relaxed we would definately go and stay again. There were lots activities put on for the kids to do which was a very pleasant surprise. My only gripe was the parking but it didn't take away any pleasure from our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview when you book
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed our family activities and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We've just returned from a 10 day stay at The Esplanade and had one of our best family holidays ever.

It is hard to fault any aspect of the hotel, the food and service in the restaurant were superb, and the restaurant manager Jenny was very welcoming and efficient.

The facilities were great, lovely indoor pool with Jacuzzi and Sauna (although you have to pay £1 for the sauna which seemed a bit mean). There is plenty to do with a soft play and two outdoor play areas, and entertainment in the evenings for kids and adults alike. Our little boy is still proudly wearing his amazing balloon hat from Alan the Magician 4 days later!

The only slight problem we had was that we had asked for a room with a partition wall to separate the children's sleeping area from ours. We were given room 227 which as one other reviewer here states suffers from a prominent roar from the kitchen fans from early in the morning (6am on our first day!) until 10pm. We complained and the lovely Laura on reception found us another room for the next 5 nights (it was unfortunately booked for a larger group of 6 for our final 3 nights so we chose to move back to 227 rather than have a room without a partition). Laura arranged with the kitchens not to turn the fans on until 7am for the remainder of our stay which was an acceptable compromise given that it was the bank holiday weekend and the hotel was packed.

Laura went out of her way to follow up and ensure we were happy with notes under the door, and did everything possible to alleviate the problem and any inconveniene, including moving all our bags. It's only this issue that stops us giving the hotel 5 stars. It must be a known problem with that room so I was a little surprise that the reaction was as if I was the first to report it!

We particularly enjoyed the food, even the chidlrens menu offers quality food rather than the frozen/friend rubbish you find elsewhere. Our 2 loved the hand cut chips and nuggets, but also enjoyed eating a smaller portion of the adult menu on several occasions. I'd strongly recommend the half board option as it represents good value and is so much nicer not to have to head out to eat; our meals were without exception superb. The restaurant also has amazing views of Fistral Beach.

Parking is limited but we had no real problems, had to park in the street just once out of 10 nights but this is still right in front of the hotel.

All in all a great holiday which both adults and children loved, we will definitely be back. I'm actually surprised the hotel is only 3 star, it is much nicer than many 4 star hotels I've stayed at, and the service was better than many 5 star hotels I could mention!

Room Tip: Avoid 227 due to noise from kitchen fans
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Had a great stay for four nights, my 16 year old son had surf lessons from the on site surf school - he loved it! The room was clean, plenty of space, restaurant was nice, had a table overlooking the sea. Reception staff were helpful, and restaurant staff ranged from very friendly and helpful to not very frendly but okayish. The maids were very cheery and helpful. Overall a great stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiedoughmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and managed to try some surfing whilst you were here, hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Arrived for a short business trip with colleagues booked into the sister hotel - the Fistral Spa. I thought the Esplanade would be a poor relation but was pleasantly surprised - particularly with the reception staff who were very friendly. I arrived before the check in time but leaving luggage safe wasn't a problem & they called me when the room was ready. I could also use the hotel's pool or the Spa in the sister hotel - which I did.
My room was small but I had a fantastic sea view - it was clean & everything worked. Its a hop & a skip to the beach, there is parking & the breakfast was ok too. Because it was out of town it was quiet enough to enable me to get a decent sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Esplanade and hope to see you again soon here or at The Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Went to newquay on a week holiday at a very last minute job as I needed a break with the kids. Reception at the hotel were helpful in accommodating the 5 of us short notice and close together as I have 3 young children. Rosie the children's club runner was a brilliant contributor to our holiday and was both welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic about her job working with my children in their favourite activities and the restaurant where she always offered them colouring and a laugh. All staff are extremely friendly but she truly made our kids smile the whole time. The rooms were brilliant, we had a sea view room and the kids loved it. There are play areas for them, and a huge beach outside the hotel car park. Although parking is an issue in the hotel and bar prices quite high the location and facilities were genuinely perfect. I will definitely be returning to this hotel as I had the best week holiday ever. Food and service in the restaurant us divine and big portions for adults and childrens meals. Menu of the day limited but waiting staff could always sort out side orders for them, or the a la carte menu is delicious. We ate here every night as we loved the restaurant service. 10/10 for them. Restaurant manager very welcoming and housekeeping always smiling. Brilliant hotel being run. Keep up good work. see you next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad to hear that you had a brilliant time. Hope to see you all next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

every thing from the room to the food and staff was very very good. if its not the views of a lovely blue sea it was i nice cornish rattler in the bar, the recpetion was very help full when my one year old had a nappy mishap they where very fast to help us out. like i said before every thing about the hotel was very good even the warm pool was warm enuff that my son could could stay in for a long time which people with young kids know it hard to go to a pool and stay for a long time.with it only been 2 min walk to beach its a holiday i would love to go on again. on closing if you have a family and wont a nice holiday in england go to the esplanade and you wont go far wrong. thank you for a mint holiday

shane griffin

Room Tip: any room is gd but ask for 201 big room and masive balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbergriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad the whole family enjoyed their stay and looking forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

from the outside, it looks well presented and clean.but i was woken up at 6 by a low but load rumbling noise (luckily my 3 year old is a heavy sleeper). looking out the window i saw the kitchen ventilator was running up the outside of my room. i complained to reception who couldn't help as managment didn't come in till 9. the noise gave me such a headache that when my son woke up at 7 we waited in reception for 2 hours. the manageress was uninterested, unapologetic and completely unhelpful. she promised to phone once they had investigated the room, but never did.

Room Tip: avoid room 227
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your comments, we take negative feedback very seriously and will look into the noise situation you mentioned. We apologise for the disturbance that this caused and that you did not receive the highest level of customer service that we pride ourselves on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £55 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing