We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esplanade Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,490)
Filter reviews
1,490 results
Traveller rating
807
464
135
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
464
135
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsister hotelsea viewfamily roomswimming poolsurf shoplovely hotelsurf schoolplay areacoach tripreception staffrestaurant staffamazing viewshalf termbunk bedsparking spaceshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,207 - 1,212 of 1,490 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

One night on leaving the left with my 8 months old son the exit from lift was obstructed by large panels of glass workmen were taking to top floor. Not sure this is adhered to H&S laws as i could not exit lift. Infarct i got stuck and had to shout for help were the lift door continually closed on my sons pram. Had his hand been outside he could have bee hurt. Luckily he was not!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A fine hotel with a very high quality bedroom for our family of 4. Our room was a superior family room with a sea view and the room was spacious, clean and very well appointed with comfortable beds and plenty of room for all of us. The room had a bath as well which was a bonus!

All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the bar, play area, outdoor areas and indoor swimming pool were all very good. The only slight criticism is that when we arrived as a family after 7pm, the only food available was in the full a la carte restaurant and there were no bar meals after 6pm. It wasn't a problem as we walked to a neighboring hotel for a pizza!

The breakfast was plentiful and tasty both days and there is plenty of choice of traditional English and continental items..

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ukorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello UKorca, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your feedback regarding dining in the evenings, we have now introduced a lighter specials menu in the Restaurant for August that includes Pizzas that should cater for everyone! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Dinner was excellent, breakfast was great, staff extremely helpful & polite...2 minutes from beach.. 3-4* accommodation with 5* service! Highly recommend. Only down side is segues are noisy outside but can't blame that on the hotel :-)
Parking was always available either in the hotel carpark on the main street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Manesh, Thank you for your kind review, we pride ourselves on our staff and high levels of customer service and glad that you experienced this, Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel with friendly staff located at the quiet end of Fistral Beach with amazing views. Had prepaid dinner at £15 for a 3-course meal (instead of £25 on the spot - they also give you a 20% discount voucher at check-in if you haven't prepaid), which was good value for money but I wouldn't have paid more. However the atmosphere of the restaurant really made you feel that you were in a holiday resort where they have to charge you for everything extra and the staff do not really have the opportunity to go the extra mile without asking for more money... For example, payment for drinks was almost demanded just after they had arrived because I hadn't provided my credit card at check-in... Breakfast was £8 if prepaid, or £12 on the day, which I haven't tried. Rooms at £120 (standard) were OK in need of some refreshment. Amex cards not accepted there which is a shame. Next time, I will try the Headlands hotel which is on the town side of Fistral beach and looks so impressive and beautiful standing on its hill (probably a better option if you want to go out at night) - rooms were slightly more expensive £149 including breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Jean, I apologise that you felt that money was demanded from you in the restaurant, I will look into this with the Bar Manager as normally if a room account hasn't been opened on check in, drinks would be added to your table for you to pay at the end of your meal. I apologise for the confusion on this. Thank you for your review and all your pictures, looks like you enjoyed some brilliant sunsets! Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

we went as a large group for a surfing weekend. It was very conveniently located and with great views. breakfast was good - maybe a tad expensive. very friendly staff and great lounge looking out to sea.

Room Tip: the only drawback was that we had an average room, it was at the back of the hotel and very small.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHC201082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello, We are glad you enjoyed your surfing trip and hope to see you again when you need a Fistral fix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews