We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit even better than last year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2012 for one night for business. We then travelled to Plymouth and stayed at a self catering property in Mountbatten for a week.

This year we returned to the Esplanade and were lucky enough to have the same room as last year. We chose this room as it had a double balcony which allowed us fantastic views of Fistral beach.

The hotel staff were all very helpful and any request we made was dealt with in a friendly professional manner.

The breakfast was fantastic and set you up for the day, as well as cereals, fruit, cheese,ham,croissants,yogurts and any size English breakfast as it was self service from spotlessly clean heated serving dishes there was also the choice of haddock,kippers,pancakes, and different types of eggs e.g.poached.

We are already looking forward to our third visit!

A particular mention of the following staff as they really did shine:
Jenny and Sally on reception who were always very accommodating and friendly.
Kenny and Lina in the restaurant who were always welcoming and a pleasure to see at breakfast.

A thoroughly wonderful extended weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I will pass your lovely comments on to the staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my 40th birthday weekend since I had been given a Coasteering experience as a present. Coincidentally the Quiksilver Surf School running the experience operates out of the same location and I can highly recommend having a go if you are adventurous. The hotel has a mix of modern and older elements. The reception staff are very welcoming and helpful and the lounge area has some toys and big jenja bricks if you need to wait out yet another Cornish rain shower. The bar does some tasty but pricey food but you may wish to look somewhere else for breakfast if you have a family since this would be nearly £50 for four of you. Our room was well thought out with a decent (if somewhat wobbly) bunk bed for the kids, a huge bathroom and big double (2 singles possibly) bed separated from the kids by a wall. If you can get a seaside room the views across Fistral beach are amazing and leaving your windows open for the night (which was an absolute necessity for me to be comfortable enough to sleep) means you can listen to the waves on the beach - which was relaxing for me and annoying for my 8 yr old so win win really! There is a tidy pool, a small hot tub, a sauna (unserviceable when we visited) and a childrens' play area. I would definitely stay again and there are deals to be had, especially in the winter. The only problematic area is the parking which is a bit of a lottery but you can pay for a space if you absolutely have to have one.

Room Tip: The hotel was very hot so I would ask for a seaside room and open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for leaving your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the room too hot, at this time of year with the varied outside temperature we are constantly monitoring if we should have the heating on in the hotel, we do our very best to please our customers.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

my stay at the hotel was amazing the food was great the staff where really kind i met lots of nice people the facilities were awesome, the entertainment was good to. it was a really nice family friendly hotel and i loved my stay as it was just across the road from the beach i loved the hotel and would most certainly go again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get a room facing the beach !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aktips223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for leaving your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The trip was a 4 day break over the school holidays with my daughters. The hotel was ideally located for the beach and fabulous vistas from the lounge and dining areas. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful at every turn. The restaurant staff were very attentive whether morning or evening and the menus catered for all tastes (my youngest especially enjoyed having pancakes and waffles as an option for breakfast). The room and general areas were kept very clean at all times. The room tended to be too warm at bedtime despite opening the windows fully. I would without hesitation gladly return to this hotel when looking for a beach holiday in the UK.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room or ask for a room that will provide access to breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pemosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for leaving the lovely review. I am happy to hear that your whole family enjoyed there stay. I am glad you all enjoyed the food and I agree with your daughter the waffles are good at breakfast. Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have just come back from a long weekend at the Esplanade with my three-year old twins and one-year old son. Had a fabulous time, boys thoroughly enjoyed the pool, soft play area and outdoor play equipment.
The room was very spacious and our patio door opened straight onto outdoor play area which was fab. We had a basic 5 bedroom room which wasn't anywhere near the league of the photos on the website, these must be the upgraded rooms, but ours was still excellent value for money.
As we went out of peak season, there wasn't any entertainment for the children however, the massive advantage of going at this time was the fact that we had access to all facilities with only a few other young families there at the same time.
The reception staff were always happy to help and very child-friendly. There were lots of 'bits' for the children all around the hotel, including the lobby.
We only ate in the restaurant on one occasion as we weren't overly impressed with the meal we had for the price we paid; there was nothing wrong with it, just a bit pricey.
Loved the hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danners063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your family made the most of the facilities. I am sorry you found our restaurant a little over priced. Our prices are in line with the local area and there is always a discounted rate if you book one of our packages before arrival. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were a party of 6 families- 12 adults and 15 children, celebrating a 40th birthday for the weekend off season. We found the hotel staff amazing, helping out enthusiastically with decorations for the evening dinner, moving meal times and being flexible with the menu to accommodate a childrens dinner sitting and being overall very friendly. We will consider making this an annual meeting!

Room Tip: sea view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hello
I am glad your group enjoyed celebrating a birthday at the hotel. I am happy to hear that the staff accommodated all your needs. Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton & The Esplanade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Visited with wife & boys aged 5 & 2. Very friendly staff & made to feel welcome. Good facilities, especially pool & outside play area, boys loved the climbing frame & pirate ship! Good size, comfortable family room. Great location for amazing beach & lWould return & recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hodgkiss72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for leaving the lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your weekend here. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £43 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing