We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 1st -8th June. This was not our first stay here and will not be our last. We had a wonderful stay and cannot fault the hotel. All the staff are helpful and always very polite. The food was good and there is a good choice both at breakfast and dinner. Our room was clean and warm, with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. The views are wonderful from the front of the hotel.We went for a much needed break and that is what we got. Thank you all at The Esplanade and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turboT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear TurboT

Thank you for a lovely review and it was a pleasure welcoming you back!

Hope to see you again soon for another much needed break,

Best Wishes,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for one night and wished it was for more!! We were with a group from the W.I. in Somerset and had a great time. The front of the hotel has amazing views but sadly our room was not at the front. But we only slept in the room so it didn't really matter. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast. Plenty of choice and of good quality. The staff were friendly and cheerful. Our W.I. are hoping to return next year for longer than one night!! Look out Fistral Beach!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bren&Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Bren & Roy,

Thank you for your lovely review and we couldn't agree more, one night is not simply enough to enjoy Fistral - especially in this lovely sunny weather!

Hope to see you and all your group very soon!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we recently stayed at The Esplanade and the stay exceeded our expectations. All the staff are really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant with wonderful views of Fistral Beach. The room we had also had the same view and we couldn't fault the room. It is a good walk into the town centre although the taxis are only £5 per trip. We would definately stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0naldandJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Donald and Jacqueline,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, I was very pleased to see your kind comments about our team here at The Esplanade and I will ensure your comments are passed on,

Hope to see you again soon,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were impressed by the sea front views. We had booked a family room but were placed at the rear of the hotel. With a one year old and luggage this was quite difficult with steps and numerous doors. We had dinner at the restaurant and this was quite standard, being vegetarian the menu was quite limited. Hearing a member of staff in the restaurant swearing wasn't a pleasant environment. We upgraded to a sea view room for the 2nd night and the view was amazing but the finish on the bathroom was very untidy and in some places dirty. The shower sinkhole appeared to be blocked so the water was gathering. A/c in the rooms would have been great due to the hot weather. The reception staff seemed nice and helpful and the hotel did give my wife a birthday card and chocolates upon arrival. I think the hotel is good but it could polish up a little and be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukhjinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Sukhjinder,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback, please rest assured that we will be looking into the points raised with a matter of urgency and thank you for bringing them to our attention,

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night as a friend was hosing a birthday party from the hotel. Check-in was smooth and staff were friendly throughout. The room was clean and spacious and had all the amenities expected for the type of hotel. The bathroom was huge and the shower worked well. Toiletries were provided as were lovely big fluffy towels. We didn't book a seaview room, but we could still see the sea from our room and watch all the surfers out there in comfort. There was a good choice at breakfast and check-out was swift too. Only gripes were that not all of the windows opened and that the curtains didn't quite fit the windows so was awoken very early by bright sunlight, both of which we mentioned to staff on departure. All in all, a good value 3-star hotel at which i would happily stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello Louisa
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your friends birthday party and your stay. Thanks for making us aware about the windows we immediately acted upon this
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton and The Esplanade Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 3 children and my brother and sister in law and their 3 children. Our room was a huge, slightly unusual room. We had a large double bed and bunk beds in one section and then a curtain divide which led into a sort of conservatory room with a sofa bed.
There would be room for a cot or another put up bed in this room so if you have lots of kids this is the room for you. The "conservatory" led onto a decking/balcony area with a view of the sea, and had 3 metal chairs and a table, which was nice. We could also see the kids play area from the decking area which was useful.However, it did also overlook some bins - there was no smell even though it was hot. The "conservatory" part of the room had some rather dodgy blinds that were in need of replacing and modernising, as could the curtain divide. The bathroom looked like it had recently been modernised and was clean and large. The only drawback of this room was the lack of a window in the main part of the room so it was a bit dark but we were out all day and could use the decking area. It was nice to find a hotel that gives you 5 mugs and plenty of hot chocolate in the family room. The seating area in reception was lovely with a great view of Fistral Beach - the bird poo does need cleaning off the glass roof. The Breakfast buffet was very good. However, I don't think we were very popular when we asked for extra items off the breakfast menu. There seemed to be lots of staff laying tables in the restaurant but yet the restaurant manager seemed to be very busy serving tables and running the buffet - no smiles at breakfast. The location is brilliant - a very short walk across the road to the steps to the beach. We will stay here again but I will try for a family room with sea view room at the front of the hotel next time as my sister in law said their family room with a sea view was lovely.

Room Tip: I think our room was 116 - it was huge - you could probably sleep 2 adults and 4 kids in here - more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello CLW35

Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location.
I wanted to apologies for the blinds in your room, they were recently broken and we are having them replaced but thank you for bring this to my attention.
I am sorry if you found no one smiling at breakfast I will be discussing this will my restaurant team.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton and The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I took 3 chihuahuas and myself to this hotel for 5 days. It was that good that I extended my holiday while I was there. The location is amazing! Right on the beach. The food is second to none, and well worth picking the half board option. I had room 301 and it was very roomy and clean. I'm booking again for September.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello bobberlicious
I am glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay here at the Esplanade. We look forward to seeing you in September.
Kind Regards
Gemma Barton and The Esplanade Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £45 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing