We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stopped for 5 days beginning of July on a coach trip
Lovely room sea view new bathroom new white towels
Cleaned everyday
Wonderful food 3 courses in evening good choice if you didn't like anything they did their best to find something
1 man on our table asked for egg & chips & got them without any bother
The staff were so helpful & always pleasant
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Sea view wasn't any noise anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Malb59

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    414
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
482
414
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had an awesome stay. Was only one night but will defo return. The people were friendly and helpful. We had lunch at the bar and it was very tasty. We loved chilling in the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi.
It was amazing to be able to head over the road to the spectacular beach and I loved that the hotel and beach was all per friendly.
The room was clean and comfortable and loved the lay out. To top the whole day off we were able to view an amazing firework display from our bed through the window that was on the beach. Truly wonderful day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metalmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Metalmanda,

Thank you for your lovely review, looking forward to welcoming you back soon! (can't promise the fireworks though!!)

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its wise of the hotel to not have pictures of the exterior on the website. The architecture is bad and it looks cheap. Interior is old and out of date. Its a lot of stairs and steps to access the rooms. Our room was a family room with lower standard then expected. The breakfast was ok but dinner was no good and with poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Anders4910

I was disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that I was not able to speak with you personally whilst you were with us,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel for a weekend stay, my partner and I booked this online, when booking we were informed this hotel had free parking but on arrival no spaces were available so we had to park 2 roads down and walk with our luggage. On arrival the hotel looked nice lovely hotel lobby and bar all in all looked very nice. We checked in and made our way to the room, room 234 when entering the corridor of our room their were paint dust sheets all over the floors and a very strong smell of paint!! We were not informed of this at reception and their was a man painting just out side our door which was not a great start. Then went in to the room, it was clean but in bad need of modernisation the plaster was flaking off the walls the carpet was just a brown matted mess!! Our window in the bedroom was broken so you couldn't properly close it. And their was an extractor fan directly underneath our room which kept us awake all night and as much as we could get the window lock closed we then had paint fumes to deal with all in all a terrible room and a terrible nights sleep. The bathroom was very clean and a lot more modern on the plus side. Loved Newquay but probably wouldn't stay here again would of been nice to be informed of the painting, we didn't complain to reception on check out although we should of done, as we did pay nearly £200 for this.

Room Tip: Don't go for economy rooms they are terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Shellbell24,

We were disappointed to read your review of your recent stay with us and we immediately looked into the areas that you pointed out, I apologise that we were not able to rectify this with yourself whilst you were with us,
I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you in person and hope that we will be able to resolve this for you,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Really good experience here, particularly after we had a nightmare with our flight to scilly cancelled. We stayed on the Friday night before an early flight the next day to scilly. The rooms are nothing extraordinary but perfectly good, especially given we need a room big enough for 2 adults, 3 young children and a dog. We had room 303 which was spacious and comfortable, even if the bathroom could do with an upgrade. It was very useful to open on to the kids play area as we could let the children play wit though having to watch every minute.
The pool area is also really handy. It has clearly all been done recently and was clean, very well designed and perfect for the kids with a small sectioned off area for very little ones.
The staff were amazing. Becky was extremely friendly and Charlotte was on the phone to hear my distress call the next day and she allowed us to return and use their facilities (they were fully booked so we could not stay) after our flight was cancelled. It was a horrible day so we stranded with my mother, the kids and dog, feeling quite anxious about what to do. We were very relaxed knowing we could sit in the lounge area, overlooking the beautiful beach, with the dog and kids all happy (there are toys there to keep them happy). We then went to eat in the restaurant and while dogs are not allowed in, gina at reception was fantastic and offered to dog sit for us so we could leave him with them. What service! Made up for gutting first day of the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Saralc

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are just sorry that we weren't able to squeeze you in for the extra night when you were stranded, although very pleased that you came and joined us for dinner,

Hope that you enjoyed your time in the Scilly's when you got there!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is all about the views and location.

The rooms are nothing to get excited about (granted i usually go for the more budget end) but they give you what you need. Cumfy bed and warm shower.

The thing that sets this place out from the rest is the view in the foyer. Sitting on the south end on the headland this looks across the full stretch of fistral. There's no better beach in the country and its a good way to check the early morning surf without having to get out of your pjs.

We've stayed here a few times and will continue to come back.

I love coming back from a mid winter surf to defrost in the hot bubbling jacuzzi.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Dan,

We may be a bit biased but we couldn't agree more about it being the best beach in the country!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was stay in the family room, it was good ! Nice sea view, clean room , nice shower and bath, highly recommend ! Only a bit far to the town center and shops also the station as well, but if you drive that's no problem !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review! Hope to welcome you all back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing