We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V.Nice however...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“V.Nice however...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, in a fantastic location, close to local town this is in walking distance, the beach as soon as you exit the hotel... what more could you ask for....
I attended this hotel as a group of 7 equalling 4 rooms, we all paid the same amount however considering how much we paid for 2 nights we all had completely different standard of rooms...
we were lucky and had a bath with jets in, another room had bath that looked like it was about to fall apart,
also the amount we paid for 2 night you would of expected breakfast to be included however this is not the case it is an additional £12 PP for breakfast!
if you sold the rooms for Price Per Night... NOT... Price Per Person it would become more affordable.
on the morning of departure we also had housekeeping walk into our room when my other half was naked, (next time they should Knock)..also we had to ask housekeeping for a fan as the hotel does not have air conditioning and it was boiling hot in our room
One other minor comment.. this hotel is like a MAZE... up and down steps to get to your room round corners.

Overall it was very nice but not excellent.

Room Tip: Room 324 has a Jacuzzi Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Leah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to see that your group enjoyed yourselves, I apologise that you were not happy with your rooms, we have a wide range of rooms at the hotel to accommodate a lot of different families and apologise that you were unaware that the rooms could be different,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    425
    127
    54
    25
See reviews for
500
426
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Newquay for a few days as a short break. Originally we had planned on lower priced accommodation but decided to treat ourselves and splash out on a nicer hotel. I think we payed a little over the odds for this hotel due to it being the summer holidays but hey, that was our poor timing. The entrance and lobby of the hotel is lovely and boasts impressive views over Fistral beach. If you have the choice, make sure you get a room with a sea view of you will be disappointed at facing a kids play park and some run down buildings. I have to say, I was going to score this hotel 1/5 based on my room initially but the way they dealt with our concerns was very good. Basically, the room was filthy. There were crumbs and crisps over the floor, rubbish left down the side of the bed from the previous occupants and splashes of what I assume was coffee all up the walls in a couple of places. The room was also really hot with no air con or fans. The bed linen had been changed and the bathroom seemed modern and clean but the floors, walls and surfaces were really not nice. I thought I was maybe overreacting as I was tired from the long drive so I waited for my boyfriend to come back and he agreed that it was unacceptable. My standards aren't really high, I have stayed in all kinds of accommodation all over the world but really didn't expect this. So my boyfriend spoke to the lady at reception and I have to say she dealt with it all really well. She said that although there were no cleaners available she would go up and clean it herself, which she did. It wasn't perfect but it was much better and made it more comfortable. She also left a fan in the room for us and posted an apology note for the next morning. In addition to that, when the cleaners visited the next day they knocked on our door when we got back to ensure we were happy with their cleaning that day. So although the service wasn't great initially, they really saved it with the way they dealt with everything. Overall, the hotel is quite nice and the location is fantastic. Other than booking a sea view, the only other thing I would advise is that this hotel is really better for families than couples. If you walk into the bar at 9pm you will be greeted by the "wacky fun gang" show for kids or karaoke. There's giant jenga, board games and a little play area. While it's perfectly acceptable for couples, it's definitely geared up more for families, or at least it is during the holidays. While I'd rate it higher for attentiveness and location, all in all I wouldn't feel fair rating it any more than a 3. If you get here and you're not happy, make sure you let them know as they'll do their best to assist you.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank littleemma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although we were disappointed that we slipped up when you initially arrived and we apologise for the lapses that occured, we are pleased that you were impressed with the way the team handled it,

We would agree that in the summer holidays we are very family friendly but pleased that you did enjoy the location and views whilst you were with us,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a week here and it was great. The surf school in the basement was very handy. The location was superb. The children were on the beach almost every day. The staff were polite, spoke English and were helpful. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were great.

But breakfast was £12 per head no matter how little you had eaten. So we went out for breakfast. On the last day they gave us the bill which included a bar item. Having been ripped off with this abroad we ALWAYS pay cash now. When I queried it and asked to see the signature it turned out it had been a walkout (i.e. left without paying) and they had tried to attach it to our bill.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for and facing north meant it was not too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank develyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear develyn

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you all had a great week here and were able to take full advantage of the beach!

I apologise for the mix up with the room bills but glad that it was rectified for you, we hope to see you again in the future and if you do visit again and prebook breakfast it is offered at a discounted rate,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Another year and another six nights at our favourite Cornish location; right on the southern end of Fistral Beach. Trip by self, wife and two teenagers - two rooms, one double one twin. As frequent customers we were treated to a new scheme of Loyalty Credits instead of a discounted holiday price - not altogether favoured by us but useful to keep your "extra" expenses covered for items such as Surf School tuition/hire, drinks, lunches, etc. Please verify what the credits can be used for if you are entitled. We always stay as dinner, bed and breakfast as we find this to be very good value, and the meals are excellent. The stiff mattresses experienced last year were softened by "toppers" so more comfortable. The hotel has reduced their "free" parking spaces by making more controlled by bollards for those happy to pay £10 per day (can be covered by credits). We only reserve for the arrival day, as it is not difficult to find space either on premises or the adjacent road once in place. You can't beat the lounge/dining room for their views over Fistral Beach towards the Headland Hotel; sea view rooms are to be recommended, especially the balconied rooms. We had great weather, a bonus in the UK, but if you are prepared for the odd overcast/wet day you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Sea views are best but if you are a light sleeper, the noise of surf may disturb you. The balconied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roskillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Roskilly family!

Delighted to welcome you back and hope to see you again next year! Fingers crossed for sunshine again!

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only stayed one saturday night a couple weeks ago, and were very happy with the quality of the hotel and the location. It was the best value for the money in the area, and we booked on short notice (a couple days before). We arrived late at night, yet the staff at the reception and the bar were super friendly and made us feel really welcome (even though bar was about to close). The room was nice, spacious enough with one double, two single beds, all comfy and the bedding was excellent. Bathroom was also large, looked brand new and the shower had great water pressure. The only negative was that the walls were quite thin and we could hear things from upstairs/neighbors but we still give five stars as 1. That can happen at home too 2. Did not bother us too much 3. We would go back for a longer stay without any concerns. Surf school is just outside the building and the shore is only a few minutes walk away. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Book top floor if upstairs noise generally bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if it was only for the one night, the team were delighted to read your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Best Wishes,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thank you to the Esplanade Hotel for making our wedding anniversary a perfect break. We were fortunate to be given a sea view room with a balcony and this was decorated by Martine (I hope that was her name) with towel made swans, petals on the bed, chocolates and a card. A soak in the huge bath, wrapped in the hotels robe and slippers and a drink on the balcony over-looking Fistral Bay was the perfect evening for me and my husband. I really wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerbrom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many congratulations on your anniversary and I am delighted that you enjoyed spending it with us,

Hope to see you again to celebrate many more occasions,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is our third stay at the Esplanade and already I'm looking forward to my fourth!
The location is perfect so some hotels might rest on their laurels and rely on the incredible views to sell themselves but not the Esplanade. The service is faultless - from booking through to check out, nothing is too much trouble. We had two celebrations, both of which were recognised with cards and chocolates which was a lovely touch on arrival, thank you Charlotte who organised this for me.
We stayed in a standard family room which was ideal - spotless and modern with very comfortable beds (not a camp bed in sight!)
The dining experience was excellent, Kenny the restaurant manager was exceptional and went out of his way to ensure we had a great table each night. The food itself was beautiful, locally sourced and cooked with a real attention to detail.
The pool area has been updated since we last stayed but because of the fantastic weather we didn't get the opportunity to use these new facilities, instead we used the surf school to hire kit and spent our days on the beach.
I can't praise this hotel enough and I'm already looking for the next opportunity to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your lovely review and we were so pleased to see you back at The Esplanade this year,
Hope to see you again next year!

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing