We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fabulous family hotel lovely staff Great Room (ask for room 103 you wont be disappointed)
family games in reception to use i.e. Jenga Cluedo etc buckets spades body boards windbreaks for beach (just take and return when you have finished with them) Great surf school next door to hotel Quicksilver Instructors where great with the kids

Room Tip: Ask for the Bay window rooms overlooking sea or the balcony rooms over looking sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear MLC32

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is one of the best family friendly hotels we have stayed in. It was very relaxed and the staff were brilliant. Children were welcome throught the hotel.

What made it so good ?

- activities for the kids
- board games in the lobby
- wonderful pool area
- an outside games area (tennis, basket ball etc.)
- live entertainmnet in the bar in the evening (which finished at about 10:30 so not too late)
- Good size family rooms
- Bed time story posted to you room (plus cookies and milk for £1.50 if you wanted)

And of cource you have one of the best beaches in the country right on your doorstep, including the fantastic Quicksilver Surf School

It was also very clean with modern decor. and the food was also excellent in the restaurant.

The only one downside is that parkingis very limited and onroad parking around the hotel during the day is very very busy due to the beach. Having said that I did get parked and it was only really a problem once when we checked in at 3pm. It is also more located for the beach than the town.

You should give this hotel some serious concideration if you plan to stay in the Area, you won't regret your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lambie_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello LambieFamily

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed many of the family aspects throughout the hotel,

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards
Laura and all the team at the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful holiday staying at The Esplanade Hotel, Newquay. Hotel is located overlooking Fistral Beach with wonderful views across the bay. Facilities in the hotel are excellent and marvellous for families. Restaurant provided extensive range for all tastes. Our only criticism was that our room was too small for two adults and 12 year old and will definitely pay extra for sea view next time.
A very enjoyable stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Vicky,

Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased that you all had a lovely holiday!

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent five days here in July 2014 on a family holiday. The rooms were spacious. The staff exceptionally warm and friendly.

Loved the indoor swimming pool. ( Kids loved it too).
And there was a play area for toddlers.

The food was amazing ( breakfast). We ate out at other times.

Room Tip: It costs a bit more to get an ocean facing room. But hey, I would rather be at the beach than in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackbugzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear blackbugzy,

Thank you for your lovely review, we were delighted to read how much you all enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again in the future,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, in a fantastic location, close to local town this is in walking distance, the beach as soon as you exit the hotel... what more could you ask for....
I attended this hotel as a group of 7 equalling 4 rooms, we all paid the same amount however considering how much we paid for 2 nights we all had completely different standard of rooms...
we were lucky and had a bath with jets in, another room had bath that looked like it was about to fall apart,
also the amount we paid for 2 night you would of expected breakfast to be included however this is not the case it is an additional £12 PP for breakfast!
if you sold the rooms for Price Per Night... NOT... Price Per Person it would become more affordable.
on the morning of departure we also had housekeeping walk into our room when my other half was naked, (next time they should Knock)..also we had to ask housekeeping for a fan as the hotel does not have air conditioning and it was boiling hot in our room
One other minor comment.. this hotel is like a MAZE... up and down steps to get to your room round corners.

Overall it was very nice but not excellent.

Room Tip: Room 324 has a Jacuzzi Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Leah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were pleased to see that your group enjoyed yourselves, I apologise that you were not happy with your rooms, we have a wide range of rooms at the hotel to accommodate a lot of different families and apologise that you were unaware that the rooms could be different,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Newquay for a few days as a short break. Originally we had planned on lower priced accommodation but decided to treat ourselves and splash out on a nicer hotel. I think we payed a little over the odds for this hotel due to it being the summer holidays but hey, that was our poor timing. The entrance and lobby of the hotel is lovely and boasts impressive views over Fistral beach. If you have the choice, make sure you get a room with a sea view of you will be disappointed at facing a kids play park and some run down buildings. I have to say, I was going to score this hotel 1/5 based on my room initially but the way they dealt with our concerns was very good. Basically, the room was filthy. There were crumbs and crisps over the floor, rubbish left down the side of the bed from the previous occupants and splashes of what I assume was coffee all up the walls in a couple of places. The room was also really hot with no air con or fans. The bed linen had been changed and the bathroom seemed modern and clean but the floors, walls and surfaces were really not nice. I thought I was maybe overreacting as I was tired from the long drive so I waited for my boyfriend to come back and he agreed that it was unacceptable. My standards aren't really high, I have stayed in all kinds of accommodation all over the world but really didn't expect this. So my boyfriend spoke to the lady at reception and I have to say she dealt with it all really well. She said that although there were no cleaners available she would go up and clean it herself, which she did. It wasn't perfect but it was much better and made it more comfortable. She also left a fan in the room for us and posted an apology note for the next morning. In addition to that, when the cleaners visited the next day they knocked on our door when we got back to ensure we were happy with their cleaning that day. So although the service wasn't great initially, they really saved it with the way they dealt with everything. Overall, the hotel is quite nice and the location is fantastic. Other than booking a sea view, the only other thing I would advise is that this hotel is really better for families than couples. If you walk into the bar at 9pm you will be greeted by the "wacky fun gang" show for kids or karaoke. There's giant jenga, board games and a little play area. While it's perfectly acceptable for couples, it's definitely geared up more for families, or at least it is during the holidays. While I'd rate it higher for attentiveness and location, all in all I wouldn't feel fair rating it any more than a 3. If you get here and you're not happy, make sure you let them know as they'll do their best to assist you.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank littleemma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although we were disappointed that we slipped up when you initially arrived and we apologise for the lapses that occured, we are pleased that you were impressed with the way the team handled it,

We would agree that in the summer holidays we are very family friendly but pleased that you did enjoy the location and views whilst you were with us,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at The Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a week here and it was great. The surf school in the basement was very handy. The location was superb. The children were on the beach almost every day. The staff were polite, spoke English and were helpful. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were great.

But breakfast was £12 per head no matter how little you had eaten. So we went out for breakfast. On the last day they gave us the bill which included a bar item. Having been ripped off with this abroad we ALWAYS pay cash now. When I queried it and asked to see the signature it turned out it had been a walkout (i.e. left without paying) and they had tried to attach it to our bill.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for and facing north meant it was not too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank develyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear develyn

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you all had a great week here and were able to take full advantage of the beach!

I apologise for the mix up with the room bills but glad that it was rectified for you, we hope to see you again in the future and if you do visit again and prebook breakfast it is offered at a discounted rate,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £45 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing