We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly hotel, a little out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here in August. The rooms are good - newly refurbished and very smart. Nice lounge with great views over the bay. Generally very friendly with some well-thought through kids activities in the afternoons. Nice swimming pool. Poor restaurant (slow and very average food), and Newquay is a 20 minute walk - no other places to eat in the immediate vicinity but plenty of options in Newquay. Parking limited and gets quite full.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happywa5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the few issues you had during your stay, I will be speaking to the Restaurant about this,

Hope to see you again soon,
Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at the Esplanade for 4 nights with my partner and step children (aged 6 and 9) and found it a very child-friendly hotel. The location is perfect - overlooking the most perfect Fistral beach, next to a surf school and a spa. We got a discount on surfing lessons as we were staying at the Esplanade. The restaurant was good - lots of options for children - although at £12.50 for an adult's breakfast, it was a bit pricy. There were activities for the children and an indoor swimming pool (way too hot for me but the children loved it).
The room was small for a family room with no seating area so when the children went to bed, there wasn't anywhere for us grown-ups to retreat to. Also the hot water in the bathroom is scolding so be careful. I did appreciate the abundance of fresh fluffy towels but needed more drying rails. There also wasn't enough storage for all four of us and so had to keep our clothes piled up.
Saying all this, I'd definitely recommend the hotel for families and our children absolutely loved it. It's not a cheap option but there's a lot to do, it's in a fantastic location and the staff made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank City_TripperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback regarding the space in the rooms and we will work on this going forward,

Hope to see you again in the future,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my husband and three year old son.on arrival we had to wait to check into our room which was not a problem but we ordered drinks and waited over half an hour for the drinks to arrive.we had a swim in the hotel pool which was lovely but the hotel pool toilet was filthy even my 3 year old son commented on it.we went into the restaurant to be told food was not served until 6 which is quite late for our little boy but there were no other food options.we waited over an hour for our food to be served.there were some lovely touches for children,drawing and little sketch pads in the restaurant and a train table and other toys in the hotel lounge area.we had a terrible nights sleep as the family in the room next to us were up past one in the morning with their kids screaming shouting running up and down corridors and banging doors.my husband phoned reception to complain.and in all fairness we were aware that hotel staff tried to deal with this.the breakfast the following morning was however very good and staff on reception were apologetic about our lack of sleep.unfortunately we would not choose to stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We take all feedback on board going forward, however we are not a four star hotel, we are a very family friendly three star hotel and we pride ourselves on offering fantastic service and a great value stay including complimentary children s activities

I apologise for the delay for your drinks order and will speak with the bar team regarding this, we have addressed the issue with the pool toilets with the housekeeping team by increasing our hourly checks to half hourly during the day, I am disappointed that we did not have the oppourtunity to recitfy this at the time for you but thank you for bringing this to our attention,

We serve bar food and a full childrens menu in the Pebbles Bar until 6.30pm when we start serving our a la carte menu and childrens menu in the Ocean View Restaurant, I apologise that there was some confusion regarding this,

As we are a family hotel we ask that guest’s bear in mind sometimes different families can make noise at different times in the day and are respectful to others, I apologise that they disturbed you and that we weren't able to move you during your short stay,

If you would like to discuss any of these points further please do not hesitate to contact me and please accept my sincere apologies that you did not experience the normally high standards we pride ourselves on during your stay

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Directly across the road from the fabulous fistral beach and a 15 minute walk into newquay - great location for our young family, just far enough away from the lively part of town. We were warmly welcomed into the hotel, all the staff we spoke to were very friendly. We arrived early but were invited to use all the hotel's facilities and so we went for a swim in the lovely pool. We had a family room for 5 which gave us ample space and a stunning sea view. Double bed was very comfy. Can only think of 2 downsides which weren't real issues for us:- parts of the hotel looked a little tired, but what refurbishment had already taken place was good; the shower wasn't great. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Quiksilver surf school are based within the hotel and our boys thoroughly enjoyed their surf lesson.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andie202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Andie,

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall, our stay was pretty much uneventful, not much what we had hoped for, just okay. I stayed in this hotel with a group of our friends, 2 had twin rooms and 1 stayed in a single room.

Basically, all rooms were clean, but small. Twin rooms are just good enough for 2 people, without much baggage. There was not much room to stash your things, good thing we were only there for 1 night.

It's only a 5 minute walk to Fistral Beach, so the location of the hotel is definitely exceptional. Plus from Fistral beach you can walk to some nice shops and restaurants.

This hotel also has a nice indoor heated pool and jacuzzi, although again it was pretty small, plus before going into the pool, I called and rang reception and asked them specifically if there are towels in the pool area, or if we could bring the room towels there, and they told me that there was no need to because towels have been provided poolside, only to go there and find out that yes, there were a lot of towels, by the floor, dirty towels. There was no phone to call reception, there was no pool attendant. So my friends and I just decided to shower, swim in the pool and stayed in the jacuzzi. We were hoping by the time that we finished, a staff would have checked and replenished the towels, but unfortunately nobody did. It was no fun drying ourselves with the clothes that we had to wear back to our rooms.

The layout of the hotel is pretty much like a maze, it had stairs going from one side to another, connecting floors and wings. It was a bit dizzying. We got lost once or twice just going into the hotel lobby from our rooms. I believe that the style of this hotel is supposed to be contemporary, but their style got lost somewhere between the board games littering the hotel lobby and adults trying to have fun.

One thing to note though, if you are trying to look for a nice, romantic hotel, then this is not for you. This hotel is full of families and children. So don't be surprised if you got into the lobby and you hear somebody shout Jenga, or just see children sprawled on the ground. Plus breakfast is not included in the price, extra 12 pounds for just coffee, toast, cereals and the normal english breakfast.

So would I stay back here again,uhhmm no.. There are a lot more cheaper hotels and bed and breakfasts around.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hotel facing the tennis court. It did not have much of a view, but ga...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babesbonzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear babesbonzai,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we were disappointed to read that you didnt enjoy your stay with us,
I apologise that our pool checks were not as regular as they could have been during your time in the pool and will be looking into this to rectify going forwards,
We are a family orientated hotel so throughout the school holidays we will have lots of family activities and games occurring throughout the hotel, I apologise that this was not what you expected,
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries,

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Returned last night from a 4 night stay at this hotel and loved every minute of it, All staff were very friendly and helpful and polite at all times, we were in room 213 which was a sea view room and the view was great looking out right across the length of the beach, Breakfast was excellent with a good choice, we also ate in the restaurant for dinner on a couple of evenings and this was also very good, it's about 10 mins walk into town either along the road or cutting through by the golf course, taxis cost about £5 each way, used the swimming pool a couple of times which is nice along with sauna and jacuzzi, pool is quite small so not for serious swimmers but nice to refresh, I'm sure we will return to cornwall in the future and wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again,

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Honestdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and looking forward to welcoming you back to Cornwall soon,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Esplanade in July for a weekend break with my partner's son. The hotel is lovely, amazing location, clean and very welcoming. We arrived early so it was understandable that our room wasn't ready; however we were offered to use any facilities of the hotel. My partner's son really enjoyed family activities which I found as a really nice touch. We had a dinner in the restaurant, the food was very nice; however I found the service bit slow and unorganised. The room we had was nice, with small balcony, bathroom very clean, so really impressed. The only downside was that we were allocated just next to the doors to the corridor and it seemed like somebody was entering our room every time the doors opened. I wouldn't mind but it took ages for the little one to fell asleep as this was quite disturbing. Overall we enjoyed the stay and would come back again but we will make sure we ask for a room further in the corridor :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magda983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Magda

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will look into the couple of points you raised and look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Laura and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £55 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing