We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool area :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely pool area :)”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely pool area, perfect for families we took our 8 week old baby and placed him in his pram beside the pool while we was in jacuzzi, amazing fluffy thick towels!! Clean friendly hotel with lovely views over fistral beach

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Niki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    420
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
487
422
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Only a 1 night stay to start our holidays but what a great hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Facilities we're really good, room was perfect for our family and the breakfast and service was fantastic. My only niggle was the rather steep prices at the bar but made up by the view from the conservatory!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelly1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Skelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your short stay with us, we can't help but agree about the views from the conservatory!

Hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second stay at The Esplanade. We had one of the Family rooms for us and the 2 kids. Again a wonderful stay and even better this time as we were given a loyalty bonus which we could use towards our food. The kids just love this place, what with its pool, play areas and kids entertainment it makes a stay here a super experience for all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Clive,

Thank you for your lovely review, we were delighted that the children enjoyed the family activities with Courtney,

Hope to see you again next year,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend for a Surf and music festival. The location was perfect as it was right ontop of Fistral Beach where the Surf competitions were happening.
We also organised surf lessons with the school attached to the hotel which were excellent. The pool was a lot smaller than it appeared in photos and there was also a jacuzzi and sauna which we made use of after long mornings surfing.
The hotel is entirely geared for families with excellent toys in the lobby area, a separate indoor soft play area with dvd player and game room & an outside wooden climbing frame in the shape of a pirate ship. We didn't have our toddler son with us this trip but we plan on returning with him!
We paid for breakfast each morning (not pre-booked) which was a good selection of cooked & continental which was delicious.
We often chilled out in the lobby on the very comfortable sofas and ordered drinks, very good service, very accommodating.
Our room was a standard double with no sea view but had a balcony (which you could see the sea from partially), a sofa area with tv mounted to the wall, a king size bed which was very comfortable and the room overall was very large. It exceeded our expectations. The other people we were away with had a Sea View room with 2 single beds which was apparently much smaller.

On our last day we had a surf lesson at 10am, we paid an additional £20 for late check out at 2pm which meant we were able to comofrtabl

I couldn't fault this hotel in anyway, I highly recommended it for couples and families alike and plan to return with my family next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki_l_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Nikki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that you were able to join us over Boardmasters Weekend,
We look forward to welcoming you and meet your little one soon!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Customer service, what customer service? Nobody greets you ever! The sevice is slow at best. I have never been ignored by so many people: plenty of staff, but nobody to come to you and offer you drinks, take your order, nothing! Restaurant manager? No interpersonal skill, painful to witness. Do not order the pizza no matter what you do: it is frozen stuff, and of the cheapest king: thick crust, little cheese... Well it was burnt, so I can only hope it was cheese. The hotel is beautiful, newly refurbished: it breaks my heart to see that so much money has been invested and then entrusted to this unprofessional lot. Sad.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Du D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Du D,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback following your recent stay. I’m sorry to hear that we didnt live up to your expectations or those that we set of ourselves, we will, of course, review all of the points that you have mentioned so that we can maintain the very high standards that we set ourselves.

We would really like to be able to discuss this matter with you directly so that we can make sure we extend our service and resolve things. We have sent you a private message and hope that you feel able to respond.

Kind Regards,

Laura Cameron
Group Operations Manager
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Wow! Friendly greeting and our parking spot was all ready for us. I honestly cannot find any fault with this hotel.
We loved our stay. Room 213 was superb. Newly furnished, fresh linen and the room was absolutely spotless. Very cosy, home from home.
We got very lucky with the weather and explored Cornwall. This location was perfect! Everyone at this family run hotel really friendly, welcoming and the restaurant specials are brilliant especially the sea bream.
We even got into the spirit and got some boogie boards and did a bit of surfing. A real sense of family environment and with our sea view room we could admire the professional surfers.
Breakfast was brilliant really sets you up for the day. We walked into town day and evening along the coast and through the golf course.
We shall definitely return to this hotel and be recommending to family and friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sjbounds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back (along with some friends or two!) and we're sure in no time we will be admiring you out the window!!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at the Esplanade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Esplanade hotel who made our disappointment at the cancellation of Boardmasters bearable. We arrived with 2 very upset teens who we're coming to the festival to see their favourite bands for their birthday treat only to arrive and the festival was cancelled due to the terrible weather. The thoughtful staff picked up on this and when we checked into our room there was a lovely card, chocolates and balloons to cheer them up. The staff soundtrack have been more helpful, making suggestions, booking taxi's and generally pleasant and friendly. The room was spotless and very comfortable. We had a family room which opened out onto a play area and grassy area with plenty of seating with a view of the magnificent beach. Breakfast was fantastic and the relaxing lounge area overlooking the beach was perfect for reading whilst the kids had fun in the lovely pool. Although not travelling with younger kids, we could see that many nice touches to accommodate families on beach holidays were made, including a laundry room, place to store wetsuits and beach equipment. There are low key kids activities and an indoor ball pool, pool table and kids games room, along with tennis,cinema, surf school and free wifi. We can't wait to return with our friends and family as soon as possible. Thanks again! Xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that we were able to help in some way towards the disappointment of the final day of Boardmasters being cancelled,

Hope to see you again next year, fingers crossed for sunshine!

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing