We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glenn is the man”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glenn is the man”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my wife and youngest son recently stayed here for a long weekend alongside 3 other couples and there children and right from the moment we arrived the lovely staff couldn't do enough for us.
After a 5 hour journey we were greeted with parking spaces directly outside the premises and a warm greeting from the lovely staff
Straight away it become very apparent that we had made the right choice in that there was plenty of activities for the kids to get involved with which was marvellous seen as there ages span from 3-13 !
This made us feel very relaxed and while our kids are somewhat "lively" shall we say the hotel and staff were brilliant to us none more so than Glenn the bar manager who really was a credit to the hotel nothing was too much for him in fact in some ways you could say that his attitude and professionalism and warmth ness made the weekend the success that it was
Also after venturing into town on the Friday and Saturday night we decided on super Glenn's advice to try the hotels own restaraunt which was ABSALOUTELY superb as soon as we sat down once again the kids were occupied next door in a kids area this time with an entertainer while dinner was being cooked , and what great value for money it was , I have friends staying in Newquay also with large families and I have to them to go to the esplanade for dinner .
Also a mention for the barman from Bolton who had only just started a few days previous , he also couldn't do enough for us top bloke he was, but it was the main man Glenn who is the reason why we will definitely be booking up to visit again and persuade others to stay there

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumoulds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Stu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Glenn was over the moon to have such a lovely review, it was a pleasure having you all here and we hope to see you all again soon,

Laura, Glenn and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    431
    129
    55
    27
See reviews for
514
434
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in your hotel for a long weekend with a group of friends and the children. The hotel was just perfect excellent facilities and completely child friendly everything was catered for the children, fantastic clean pool, great soft play, disco, bingo the list is endless. The staff were very accommodating especially Glen the bar manager .... What a true gentleman who went above and beyond his means. One of the children we had with us had a nut allergy and the chefs did special chips to avoid any contamination outstanding service.
The rooms were extremely clean and the hotels location is just amazing with magnificent views of fistral bay. Breakfast was fab with wide variety if choices and dinner was excellent and good value for money.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends and family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Emily,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure having you all here and Glenn was delighted with your kind comments,

Hope to see you all again soon,

Laura, Glenn and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from 1 weeks holiday in Esplanade Hotel at Fistral. We have 2 children (7&4/5!) Our little girl was 5 while on holiday and the hotel made a real fuss of her - balloons at breakfast / balloons in our room when we returned from our day out. She really felt special. Great location - with Showers under the hotel so you can remove sandy wet suits before returning to the room. Very relaxed, with plenty to do for the kids. Nice touches like bedtime stories left outside the room at night and milk/cookies for bedtime. Room was clean, we opted for a Sea View Family room, Only downside was our family room had little seperation - whereas I think the ones without sea views had the children a bit more seperate - but for us the view was worth it. Breakfasts were very nice and we ate in the hotel once - and it was to a good standard. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyMutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Delighted that we were able to play a small part in your daughters birthday, it's so much fun celebrating whilst on holiday as well!

Hope to see you again soon, maybe for a few more birthdays!

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very clean, very family friendly hotel in a lovely location with plenty to do and and excellent beach right across the road for surfing or paddle boarding ect... I thought the food was lovely although it was a bit pricey, wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Emma,

Family of 6 just means there's more people for us to have fun with :)

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely pool area, perfect for families we took our 8 week old baby and placed him in his pram beside the pool while we was in jacuzzi, amazing fluffy thick towels!! Clean friendly hotel with lovely views over fistral beach

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Niki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Only a 1 night stay to start our holidays but what a great hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Facilities we're really good, room was perfect for our family and the breakfast and service was fantastic. My only niggle was the rather steep prices at the bar but made up by the view from the conservatory!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelly1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Skelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your short stay with us, we can't help but agree about the views from the conservatory!

Hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second stay at The Esplanade. We had one of the Family rooms for us and the 2 kids. Again a wonderful stay and even better this time as we were given a loyalty bonus which we could use towards our food. The kids just love this place, what with its pool, play areas and kids entertainment it makes a stay here a super experience for all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Clive,

Thank you for your lovely review, we were delighted that the children enjoyed the family activities with Courtney,

Hope to see you again next year,

Laura and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing