We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, location plus”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We absolutely had great fun staying at the Esplanade. We were recommended to stay and loved it. The hotel is modern and fresh as we like it, our room was huge, and overlooked the Fistral Beach, which was fantastic, within the hotel is the quicksilversurf school that ourkids attended and really enjoyed. The food was excellent and they were very accommodating to the kids fussyness at dinner, all staff were very friendly and polite. The play area and the pool were very useful when it rained. Overall we will return back to the esplanade and will be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    420
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
487
422
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, S.wales
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Just spent an enjoyable weekend. Easy to park & pleasant welcome from the efficient reception staff.
The Foyer and lounge area are stylish and a comfy place to sit and enjoy the fantastic views of Fistral bay.
The hotel upstairs is a bit of a warren of corridors and small staircases but there are some lifts too.The roooms had the 'wow factor' with contempory co-ordinated decor and luxury touches (especially for this budget) like LCD TVs,Kingsize beds,Balconies and impressive sea views to the fore.
I really can't understand previous reviews' negativity (unless they were pr-refit or old staff) so I'm glad I saw for myself!
The breakfast was first class and copious in choice and amount. The view from the dining room over the bay was inspiring and useful to see if 'the surf's up' or what the weather's doing!
Smiles all round.Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We stayed here recently and found that the hotel was very clean with good sized rooms. I was travelling with my wife and our ten year old son who loved the swimming pool and play area.

We only ate in the hotel a couple of nights but found that the quality was good both evenings. The breakfasts offered a good selection also.

The hotel was well located to explore Cornwall.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve3536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Just returned from a lovely relaxed week at the Esplanade. Everything about this hotel is geared to the comfort of the guest.
We had stayed here before and liked it but since the refurbishment it is even better. We had balcony rooms facing the sea, a state of the art bathroom/shower (including shower robes). Spotlessly white fluffy towels.Concealed lighting in the bedroom and a king size bed.
The food was good, lots of choice, the dining room staff not only highly efficient, but pleasant with it.
Our cleaning staff were also very efficient and pleasant.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi - brilliant.
What more can I say. Everything was perfect and I returned home feeling very refreshed. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Liked — Space, cleanliness and the swimming pool/Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — leaving it!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

I chose to stay at this hotel after cancelling a trip that we had booked to the Great Western Hotel, Newquay, due to bad reviews.
The website was very modern and showed photos of some lovely modern rooms, unfortunately the reality is very different. The reception area, bar and restaurant are ok but the rest of the hotel is very tired and dated. The reception staff are unhelpful and show no desire to help residents. The parking at the hotel is a joke and again the staff couldn't care less!

On the plus side our room was very clean and I would not fault the cleaning staff. The breakfast was lovely on the first morning but after that it went bit down hill.

I think this hotel is very overpriced and I am now not surprised that I was able to get a late booking. I felt really ripped off after staying here as earlier in the year I stayed at Hotel du Vin, Cheltenham (pure indulgence) and it only cost £40 more!!!

DONT WASTE YOURMONEY HERE!!!!

  • Liked — Location, Fistral beach is gorgeous at dusk
  • Disliked — Price, Shabbiness, Reception staff, Decor.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bexywexy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The view is fantastic and so is the breakfast, but that's as far as it goes! Get down to breakfast early as it goes quickly and is not replenished.... The hotel is shabby and dated and not particularly cheap! The rooms are very basic, with 1970's furniture and a bed which creaks like mad! The bathrooms are ok and have been refurbed. Our window didn't close, there is no sky and the pool was too cold for my son to swim in! We had to pay extra for a parking space and never managed to get one without having to get the staff to move one of their cars first! The reception and bar areas are ok, but the rest of the hotel is very tired and dated. Overall it was ok, but I would't stay there again, or recommend it to anyone I liked!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The date decor
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We have stayed in this hotel for the past 4 years and are generally very pleased with it, the food is pretty good with a decent choice, the rooms have always been clean and tidy and the location is 2nd to none, however there have been a couple of changes over the past year or so - not for the better !! . Firstly the prices have increased quite considerably, where it was for example £ 700 per week, that was for bed breakfast and evening meal, now that has altered to bed and breeakfast only, with evening meal an extra £ 10 each - an increase of approx 20 per cent. Also, entertainment in the hotel has been reduced, whereas there was entertainment every night, that has been reduced to 2 nights with 2 nights bingo and 1 quiz night - 2 nights of nothing !!. The other small complaint is that you can't order a daily paper - you can borrow one from reception if no one else has it !! - I realise only a small inconveince but just a little annoying. Would I go back to The Esplanade - yes because it is in the most perfect place in England.

  • Liked — The location / views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank REDHOTUKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing