We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
paignton
1 review
“was enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

good location,food was great value staff were pleasant room was clean and comfy bed,only one fault was i left a very expensive shirt and jumper in the drawer of my room and when i rang was told nothing had been found,so beware of the cleaners if you stay there as they take your belongings if you leave them behind

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlyn57d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netts101, Marketing & PR Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2010
The customer’s items of clothing had been located in the guest bedroom and have since been returned to the guest free of charge. It is unfortunate that the items of clothing were located just after the guest called but that they were not received in the post until after the review was posted online. We apologise for any confusion in this situation but The Esplanade Hotel would like to assure all guests, past, present and future that we have every confidence in the honesty and ability of our entire staff complement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    414
    124
    53
    25
See reviews for
482
414
52
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

Yet another year has gone. We have been to the Esplanade hotel for a
number of years, to celebrate the New Year, and have never been disappointed
with the room, service, or even the entertainment after all these years.It is always
better when taking good friends with you.
We will be there at the end of this year, might see you there.
Have a good New Year,
Joy Bob Joan and Allen

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjoy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAVISTOCK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Very well catered for and looked after. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff very pleasant. The rooms were excellent and clean. A very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAM202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwent, South Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We just returned from a nights stay at this hotel. The trip was a last minute night away, so wasn't expecting the Rtiz, but this was lovely. Greeted by lovely staff at the reception, room (although didn't over look the sea) was fab. Very spacious, large comfy bed. Immactulately clean bathroom, what more could we ask for. (corridors were a little dated, could do with decorating, but this didn't affect our stay at all) Had breakfast this morning, which was a nice surprise as we didn't realise breakfast was included. Large choice, full english, cereal, toast, fruit etc. Hot food was hot and fresh! Plenty of juice's etc although there was a little confusion over the table arrangements, but the helpful staff soon sorted it! We didn't eat an evening meal in the resturant (walked into the harbour/town and ate in a Mexican - very nice) Breath taking views over the sea. Would definately recomend to anyone wanting to stay in Newquay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We booked the hotel for the half term holidays and loved it. the location is perfect looking over Fistral Beach, and outside of the town centre. We found all the staff to be very pleasant and the rooms to be clean comfy and well fitted out. The swimming pool was great for the kids and they were also building an outdoor play area when we stayed. We made full use of the quicksilver surf school and facilities on site and were fortunate to get good waves every day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

a great hotel with good rooms, freindly staff and great rates.
this was our third visit to this hotel and we will be back again.

P.S. pay the extra for a standard room with a sea view the veiws will take your breath away.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at the Esplanade for a weekend with our large family and found everything excellent. The location on the beach is perfect and the views from our rooms amazing (but sea views do cost more of course!). We found everything to be very modern and fresh unlike many other of the tacky old fashioned hotels you can get in seaside resorts. Our rooms were all good, very big family rooms, nice bathrooms and spotlessly clean. The food was varied and very well cooked and presented, the restaurant and barstaff in particular were great staff. It wasnt cheap but we have paid more to other hotels that were not as good. We would all fully recommend the Esplanade as the best place overall to stay when visiting Newquay.
Newquay town is not too pretty by the way, but the beaches and the coast are fantastic

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thecrazyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing