We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed here at the weekend for a friend's wedding. I found the the staff to be very professional and helpful. We booked a double sea view room which we found to be very comfortable with lovely views of the beach. The staff helped the wedding reception to run very smoothly and all the food was great. My only criticism, which didn't bother us but might be worth noting is that we didn't have a bath in our room, but the shower more than made up for this. Also the parking was quite limited, but we did stay at the weekend and when there were lots of guests at the hotel so this was understandable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,339 - 1,345 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

we stayed 5 nights, we took advantage of the evening meal offer of £10pppn the food was excelent and it also included a special valentines night meal. we have stayed at 9 newquay hotels and found this to be the best all round value for money. we had a sea view room and we recomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmax04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Our third stay in the last FIVE months, need I say more!? Rooms are fantastic, wonderfully clean and with outstanding sea views! Hotel staff can not do enough for you. Your children are pampered equally to you, not hidden away like other top hotels! Swimming pool is excellent and open "all hours" and play room very popular with our children. Strongly recommend pre booking dinner as at £10 per adult for a THREE course meal this value for money, combined with wonderful food can not be beaten (£7.50 per child is a must too!) To summarise, if you're looking for a wonderful hotel for all family ages to relax and enjoy in, opposite beach, then stay here - the THREE star rating is an injustice!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTomCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed at this hotel many times until it was refurbished. Didn't like the fact they moved the Sauna into the pool area, preferred it in its own room with the shower. The showers in the mens changing room were on hot all the time, nearly got scalded. Didn't like the new rates, used to be half board prices but now you pay for B&B & the evening meal is extra! Lastly the maid left my hotel room door open during the day & anyone could've gone in there & nicked my stuff. I know it was a mistake but not acceptable really. Apart from that OK.

Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
1  Thank insanelaundryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

A warm and friendly welcome on arrival at the hotel by the reception staff. We were informed of meal times and location of the leisure facilities and given directions to our room.
For 3* we thought the room exceptional as we had only booked a standard room. The bathroom was very clean and modern, we had a large, comfortable bed, large flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and folder containing information about the hotel and treatments available at the sister hotel.
Food at the hotel was excellent and the dining room had views looking over Fistral Bay.
The town was a good 15 minute walk away but there are plenty of car parks nearer for those who don't like to walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

good location,food was great value staff were pleasant room was clean and comfy bed,only one fault was i left a very expensive shirt and jumper in the drawer of my room and when i rang was told nothing had been found,so beware of the cleaners if you stay there as they take your belongings if you leave them behind

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlyn57d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netts101, Marketing & PR Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2010

The customer’s items of clothing had been located in the guest bedroom and have since been returned to the guest free of charge. It is unfortunate that the items of clothing were located just after the guest called but that they were not received in the post until after the review was posted online. We apologise for any confusion in this situation but The Esplanade Hotel would like to assure all guests, past, present and future that we have every confidence in the honesty and ability of our entire staff complement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Yet another year has gone. We have been to the Esplanade hotel for a
number of years, to celebrate the New Year, and have never been disappointed
with the room, service, or even the entertainment after all these years.It is always
better when taking good friends with you.
We will be there at the end of this year, might see you there.
Have a good New Year,
Joy Bob Joan and Allen

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
984 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing