We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful position, good food,friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
knutsford
Level Contributor
223 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful position, good food,friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

A wonderful position on the sea front, sea view rooms are a must, even though more expensive. Staff friendly and helpful, good buffet breakfast and menu de jour, with a good choice and good wines.Would certainly return, despite very long drive. lounge area overlooking the sea, with cumfy seating, dining area also. Well stocked bar, with inside and decking area outside (to rear) seating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebonylynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    408
    121
    53
    24
See reviews for
473
407
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have booked our wedding at this hotel and wanted to try it out. The stay was excellent. The rooms were cleaned every day and beds made, fresh towels. The location is great for getting everywhere , we stared the day off on the beach and then went on walks into newquay and to pentire headland. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wall10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed at the Esplanade hotel for three nights as part of a group. The hotel seems to have recently been refurbished and has a beautiful location overlooking Fistral Beach. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. didn't use the pool, but those that did were more than satisfied with the facilities. Where the hotel really excelled was the food. It may only be a 3 star hotel but the food is definitely 5 star! The breakfasts were superb - probably the best breakfast we have had in an EWnglish hotel. Dinner was equally as good. The food was of excelletn quality and very well presented. If I have one gripe it's the fact that there were not enough staff on duty in the restaurant the first night leading to tables getting theri desser, before others had started theri meals. But, the hotel did acknowledge this problem and were very apologetic and did theri best to ensure that this didn't happen again. The second night there was a wedding party in part of the restaurant, but there was no disturbance from the disco. Would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Myself and partner stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and will now be regular visitors to Cornwall. The Hotel is very nice, everyone working there was very friendly and ready to offer help if needed. The breakfast I thought was lovely, nice variety however my partner wasn't as impressed - had a particular gripe with the "horrendous sausages", I have to agree they didn't appear to have much in the way of meat content but I still liked them so suppose that's just a matter of taste. The only complaint the both of us had was the pool area, pool itself very nice but surrounding area was horrible and uninviting and the pay as you go sauna we thought was a bit of a laugh!!! Didn't risk putting a pound in the slot to start it off as for one it looked like it was beyond working and for two how many pound coins was this machine going to take before it was at optimum temperature. Considering I've just paid £600 I wasn't looking to have to pay extra to get the sauna working. Anyway on a lighter note we were able to use the facilities of The Bay hotel which was a stones throw away up the road - all I have to say on this is this is the way hotel pool/ sauna facilities should be we had a delightful afternoon at the Bay :-) and an added bonus was it was quiet :) Hope my review doesn't seem too negative as it's not the way I intended. Overall, we had a fab stay at a fab hotel with fab people surrounding us - would definitely revisit :-) Oh and one last thing, if you're planning a stay definitely go for a room with a sea view. Oh how nice it is to hear the sea but also to be able to see it while laying on the bed - heaven :-)

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnylover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Lovely location and just in front of Fistral Beach. Freindly staff. We went at a very busy time, so our room was a little small. I need of modernising. Very stuffy in the room which was near and above the bar. So if your windows are open you will get a lit of bar noise. Good breakfast and overall good value for money. Great hot chocolates at the bar.  

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyBlue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

This isn't your average review for a hotel but I thought it was worth jotting down our experience so as to warn others so they don't experience what we did....

My husband telephoned The Esplande Hotel direct to book a family room. It was going to cost us around £95 B & B for 2 adults and 1 child. We were very excited as we were going to take our little 10 month old boy siwmming for the first time and the hotel was marketed as 'family friendly'.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were told (very rudely) that we did not have a booking and we were in fact booked into their sister Hotel The Bay. So we drove to the Bay Hotel only to find out that yes we were booked into this hotel. We were very unhappy at this as children were not allowed to use the facilities and we would have to go to the Esplande to use the facilities - not practical for us at the time as my hubby had a broken leg! So I asked for a refund which they were willing to give to me - as long as I was to sign what was a 'confidentiality agreement' which meant if I told anyone they would sue me!!!! I refused to sign - and hence this review!!!!!

It turned out that when my husband had booked the room the telephone system had automatically diverted the call from The Esplande to The Bay Hotel - and no one thought to tell us!!!! Therefore apparently it was OUR fault!!!

This review is to warn fellow travellers to ensure you know WHICH hotel you're booking if you are booking by telephone!!! We had a wasted journey and all our plans for the weekend were runied, together with time off work which we were not compensated for - the only thing the hotel had offered was a £20 discount towards a future stay! But that only benefits them - for THEIR mistake!!!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Owner at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2010
We find it unfortunate that the guest was unhappy with the booking process. In this case a booking was made for the Bay Hotel, and confirmed for the Bay Hotel. We sympathise with the customer and offer the fact that we share a website and occasionally reservations as a potential reason for the confusion on their part. However we do recommend that all our customers read their confirmations, which we send usually within 24 hours.

In practical terms we would like to point out that there is only approx 100 metres between the hotels, and that The Bay is graded 4 stars. We would like to apologise to the guest for any inconvenience this caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Happy with our stay at the Esplanada Hotel. The room was nice with modern bathroom fittings and was presented clean and tidy. Buffet breakfast was fresh with a nice selection on offer. Location was directly opposite the beach which was great. Plenty of free on street parking or you can pay extra to reserve a hotel park space. Only real quibbles were that the room was hot and stuffy for this time of year (April) and also the bed was not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konovalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing