We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Lovely Staff, Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in the Esplanade at the end of July. The hotel itself is set right on Fistral Beach, the reception area and lounge area have fantastic views over the beach. The reception staff where really friendly and helpful from the minute we checked in to the minute we left, anything we asked they were more then happy to assist with. The bar area is nice, again bar staff were very pleasant. The bar also has a happy hour offering reasonable prices on Pimms, wine e.t.c. A perfect way to start your evening.
The room itself was nice, clean and tidy and a maid came every day. We stayed in a standard room, so no sea view, but the room was spacious and comfortable. The only bad thing was the maid wouldn't replenish toilet paper e.t.c. which in my opinion should be standard in any hotel, however the reception staff were more then happy to assist.
The pool area is nice, again very clean and well kept. We didn't try the food but breakfast looked lovely and the restaurant location was nice, again looking right over Fistral Beach.
The hotel is a 20 min walk from town. It's round the back of the beach and through the golf course. On our first day we went the wrong way and it took us over 40mins!! So I would recommend asking directions if you are unsure. In my opinion the location of this hotel is perfect, if you want to be close enough to town but not in amongst it all to much and wake up every morning to beautiful sea views.
Newquay itself is a lovely place - more beautiful then myself or partner imagined. During the day there is plenty to do, even if you do get typical English weather!! A special mention to the Fort Inn, this is on your way in to town from the hotel, amazing views over the beach and harbour and reasonably priced food and suitable for all. As for eatting out in the evenings Senior Dicks & Stavros (Greek restaurant) as musts amazing food and great service. The only disappointing thing, and I am going to sound very old here, is there is nowhere to have a few quiet drinks after dinner. It's a shame but the town is completely overrun by 16//17 year olds out on school holidays getting drunk!! So if you are a couple that wants a drink I would recommend the Fort or just heading back to the hotel.
All in all Newquay is a beautiful place. The Esplanade Hotel is not the Ritz but it is clean, well kept and everything you need for a perfect little break by the seaside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahjon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,322 - 1,328 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

when we booked as usual, in there website page they show you a "typical" family room the one showing had a bay window,(there's only 2 bay windows in hotel) lovely lot of space but we had room 240 a small room really with no veiw, as mentioned in previous reveiws the room was very hot too. reception/bar staff were very helpful, morning restaurant staff bit ignorant/stressed.To have a good stay here get a room with a balcony sea veiw it would be worth the extra money if not go somewhere else.
FORGOT TO MENTION PARKING THATS EXTRA.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

We regret that msjmorris did not enjoy their stay with us. Our rooms do vary and guests can pay extra for sea-view rooms if required. As noted on our website, free parking is available at the front of the hotel and on the road directly outside, however it is limited at the busiest of times. We therefore offer a handful of reserved spaces for guests, which can be paid for at reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Our initial impressions were really good, fantastic location and outlook from the lounge area. That's where it ends. We had a sea view room, as noted by others the windows were so dirty that it wasnt such a great view. I understand that being so close to the sea brings sea salt but these obviously had not been cleaned for months. The room is very dated, bed extremely uncomfortable and squeaky, so had a terrible sleep, the bed linen was also very old. There was a ball on that night (which a lot of guests were not told about), which meant we couldnt use the bar area for a few drinks that evening, but at least our room was not right above the restaurant as we heard loads of guests complaining at breakfast about the lack of sleep due to the noise.

The staff were ok, but it took a while to get their attention, as we often had to given the only information in the rooms is prices for the spa. So we had to ask for the check out time, wifi password...all the usual things you need to know.

Considering we paid £96 for 1 night we were extremely disapointed, but were so relieved we had booked an amazing B&B for the rest of our stay (cheaper, beautiful rooms, amazing service, the Carlton hotel fyi).

I will go back to Newquay but will definitely not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

We are sorry that askig did not enjoy their stay. Our windows are cleaned on a weekly basis and we do try to inform all guests if there is a function on at the hotel. We regret that these guests had not been informed and we will be looking into the matter to ensure it does not happen again. All our bedlinen is new for this season and all of our rooms include a full, up-to-date folder of information. These are checked on a regular basis but we regret that this had slipped through, all folders have since been checked and any missing pages replaced. Spare folders are available at reception for guests’ use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

A wonderful position on the sea front, sea view rooms are a must, even though more expensive. Staff friendly and helpful, good buffet breakfast and menu de jour, with a good choice and good wines.Would certainly return, despite very long drive. lounge area overlooking the sea, with cumfy seating, dining area also. Well stocked bar, with inside and decking area outside (to rear) seating.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonylynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have booked our wedding at this hotel and wanted to try it out. The stay was excellent. The rooms were cleaned every day and beds made, fresh towels. The location is great for getting everywhere , we stared the day off on the beach and then went on walks into newquay and to pentire headland. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wall10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed at the Esplanade hotel for three nights as part of a group. The hotel seems to have recently been refurbished and has a beautiful location overlooking Fistral Beach. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. didn't use the pool, but those that did were more than satisfied with the facilities. Where the hotel really excelled was the food. It may only be a 3 star hotel but the food is definitely 5 star! The breakfasts were superb - probably the best breakfast we have had in an EWnglish hotel. Dinner was equally as good. The food was of excelletn quality and very well presented. If I have one gripe it's the fact that there were not enough staff on duty in the restaurant the first night leading to tables getting theri desser, before others had started theri meals. But, the hotel did acknowledge this problem and were very apologetic and did theri best to ensure that this didn't happen again. The second night there was a wedding party in part of the restaurant, but there was no disturbance from the disco. Would certainly come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Myself and partner stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and will now be regular visitors to Cornwall. The Hotel is very nice, everyone working there was very friendly and ready to offer help if needed. The breakfast I thought was lovely, nice variety however my partner wasn't as impressed - had a particular gripe with the "horrendous sausages", I have to agree they didn't appear to have much in the way of meat content but I still liked them so suppose that's just a matter of taste. The only complaint the both of us had was the pool area, pool itself very nice but surrounding area was horrible and uninviting and the pay as you go sauna we thought was a bit of a laugh!!! Didn't risk putting a pound in the slot to start it off as for one it looked like it was beyond working and for two how many pound coins was this machine going to take before it was at optimum temperature. Considering I've just paid £600 I wasn't looking to have to pay extra to get the sauna working. Anyway on a lighter note we were able to use the facilities of The Bay hotel which was a stones throw away up the road - all I have to say on this is this is the way hotel pool/ sauna facilities should be we had a delightful afternoon at the Bay :-) and an added bonus was it was quiet :) Hope my review doesn't seem too negative as it's not the way I intended. Overall, we had a fab stay at a fab hotel with fab people surrounding us - would definitely revisit :-) Oh and one last thing, if you're planning a stay definitely go for a room with a sea view. Oh how nice it is to hear the sea but also to be able to see it while laying on the bed - heaven :-)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnylover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
988 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing