We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed at The Esplanade and loved it. We went with our two year old and she had a great time. Perfect location, good value, great food, friendly staff - all in all brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu79a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    408
    121
    53
    24
See reviews for
473
407
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We just spent one night there, and enjoyed the great sea view, but that was about it. We got an upgrade for one room, which was nice. The other room had a very old bed, where you could feel every individual bedspring. The windows, also those of the patio, can't have been cleaned in weeks (lots of seagulls!).
We decided not to go out in the rain and have dinner in the restaurant: Don't do it ! Menu prices are not what they tell you in the folder in your room. Poor food considering the price, and they can't do the math: First they forgot the 20% reduction for hotel guests, then it turned out to be somewhat near 15%. Very nice waiters, though, willing to explain about surfing!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
Thank you Helra for your comments. I'm sorry to hear about the mix up in the restuarant. Vouchers are often given out to guests on arrival and these need to be shown to the waiter during the meal to apply, we apologise if this was not clear. We will look into the incorrect information in the room folders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My wife and i had our wedding reception at this hotel and even though we actually live in newquay we were given the wedding suite for our wedding night, the views were beautiful with the bath right in the large windows with the beach views, we also had a balcony so we could sit and enjoy a cup of tea in the morning with the best view in Newquay, the rooms are generally of a high standard from what we saw, the staff were very friendly the food was lovely, the bar and dining areas are all modern and there is even areas for kids both in and out doors, we are very happy we chose this hotel for our venue and will reccommend it again and again to family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank besa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thank you besa. Congratulations on your wedding and we all wish you a very happy future together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I and my family have just returned from a great stay at this hotel. The staff are great and are always ready to help in any way they can. I stay in some of the best hotels in the country with my job so when it comes to my holiday I look for the same standard, I was not disappointed my family and I had a great stay and will be returning next year. The one draw back is parking but that is greatly out wade by the overall holiday

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mediavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments - we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

enjoyed every minute of our one night stay. the staff are brilliant and seem 100% genuine when they talk to you .The rooms are clean and pleasant with a balcony, a lovely bathroom with great toiletries. The dining room may be big and seem impersonal but it was nice and the staff were incredibly helpful ,funny, and so eager to please, and for young waiting staff this was so welcoming.The only one problem which wasn`t the hotels fault was the fact the people above us got up at 6 am and walked up and down100 times and opened every drawer 10 times and this echoed and woke us up.I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetFlatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

When I was looking for a hotel to stay in for last years family holiday the choice was totally left up to me, with this in mind I knew that after an 8 hour drive I was hoping my choice was good, I was wrong, my choice was EXCELLENT. Luckily my girlfriend and our two children agreed, the room although not huge was clean and was roomy enough for us. The view was outstanding, we have been lucky enough to visit some of the best beaches around the world, and looking at the view of Fistral beach from our window easily compared to those. The staff would go out of there way to help with any questions or queries put to them without them making you feel you were bothering them whih believe me has happened elsewhere. The biggest compliment that we as a family could give is for us to return this year which we did. We were being awkward in asking for the same room which even though wasn't going to be a family room at the time of asking they were only too pleased to put bunk beds in for our children. I have read previous reviews regarding this hotel and a few in particular say the walls are thin and you can hear the adjoining guests, well the noise is made by inconsiderate guests, it's not the staffs fault. We as a family couldn't have enjoyed our stay more, thankyou to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fox8871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thank you for your excellent comments, we really do appreciate them! We hope the long drive home was not too horrible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just returned home from our 10 days holiday at The Esplanade Hotel. Having booked this holiday via the website we wondered whether it would live up to its own image ? We need not have worried ! as it is all that it says about itself. We had our two grandsons who both love action packed places. There is plenty to occupy children from very young to early teenage years. A bonus is the Quick Silver surf school which is attached and is part of the hotel. Our grandsons had several lessons with great tuition from very likeable and very helpful instructors, for all levels.
We stayed on a B/B/evening meal basis. The food was excellent, the chefs should be congratulated on their cooking. The choices were very good. The waiting staff were always pleasant.
All in all this hotel provides a high standard in all the aspects which you need to enjoy a relaxed and good holiday. We shall be returning...... The Kent Family.
P S you can request a room with a bath instead of a shower if you phone the hotel prior to your visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKent001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thank you for your kind comments! We look forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing