We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£157
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£140
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£117
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
suze1969
Northants

Lovely scones, great cocktails

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2021via mobile
Lovely afternoon tea with tasty scones and moreish cocktails. The staff were a delight especially Hannah. There’s a great view over Pentire & Fistral Beach. It’s obvious during the current Covid situation that staff are overstretched but they couldn’t have been more lovely.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Thank you for leaving us this review on your stay with us. I am so please you have enjoyed your Afternoon tea with us and the lovely views with have of Fistral Beach. I will pass on your comments to Hannah as well, I am so pleased you have enjoyed the service. Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£204
  • Expedia.com
    £215
  • Hotels.com
    £215
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£113
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Agoda.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
    £135
0.3 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£183
  • Hotels.com
    £183
  • Expedia.com
    £183
  • Tripadvisor
    £183
0.7 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£108
  • Expedia.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £126
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£85
  • Expedia.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
    £89
1.3 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£93
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Hotels.com
    £93
1.1 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£145
  • Expedia.com
    £141
  • Hotels.com
    £141
  • Algotels
    £156
0.9 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£49
  • Expedia.com
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£94
  • Expedia.com
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £86
0.8 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    £62
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Trip.com
1.2 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Newquay
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
142
45
17
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
142
45
17
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milk and cookies build a bear cinema room books and games family friendly hotel fistral beach soft play cove restaurant adult bar reception lounge play area before bedtime family room great location overlooking mattress topper great touches swimming pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Great staff and great location even though it is clear they are short staffed everyone tries their hardest to help. Hannah seems to be on duty morning until midnight but was always helpful, cheerful, and professional. Well done young lady you clearly work very hard and well done everyone at The Esplanade we had a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 805damd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you for leaving us this feedback on your recent stay. I am so pleased you have enjoyed yourself with us and that the team have looked after you well. I will also pass on your kind comments to Hannah. I hope we will see you back here again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Location was perfect, adjacent from Fistral Beach however apart from the location and the staff, unfortunately there’s not much else positive to say.

The hotel has apparently just undertaken a refurbishment although it was difficult to understand where, it certainly didn’t include adding AC , safes into the rooms or in stopping the room doors from slamming.
This hotel is for families with children who are unruly, whose parents want to feel safe in letting their children run riot everywhere including the restaurant and along the hallways.
The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area however there are not enough of them, even the adult only bar was closed during the duration of our visit.

The two saving graces, staff, were Sarah and Blaine (apologies if I have misspelled any or either of their names).

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Y5933UXterryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback on your stay with us. I am saddened to hear that on this occasion we have not quite met your expectations. If there is anything you wish to discuss in more detail directly pleased do not hesitate to contact us directly on 01637 873333. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Had an amazing stay at the Esplanade hotel! The staff
were all so pleasant, rooms were clean, food was tasty and amazing views.

The chef was always so accommodating to all of a dietary requirements and nothing was ever to much hassle which made our stay a lot easier!

There is a variety of activities for the children to do and would highly recommend for younger ages!

All the bar staff/ waitresses were always extremely friendly and always had a smiley face for us.
Special thanks to Chris for being so professional and going above and beyond his duty! Great asset to the team.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank careyannas2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. I am so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and that the team have made you feel so welcome, I am also happy to see yo have enjoyed your meals safe in the knowledge that your dietary needs have been taken care of. I will pass on your kind comments to Chris and the team as well. I hope we will see you again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

We have been meeting a group of friends at the Esplanade every July for 20 years and always enjoyed our stay. The refurbishment that was completed during lockdown is impressive and has enhanced the hotel. There were a couple of issues with service and menu choice but I am sure these will be addressed and resolved as quickly as possible. If you are planning a holiday in Newquay, choose the Esplanade for your stay. You will not be disappointed.

Room tip: Choose a sea view room. The views across Fistral Bay are worth the additional expense.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianHonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review of your stay with us, I am so pleased you have enjoyed your return visit and appreciate all the changes we have made to the hotel during our recent refurbishment. I hope we will be seeing you again in the future for your next stay with us. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

We took our granddaughters away for a few days and chose the Esplanade because it is right near the beach and the rooms have amazing views. We also stayed here previously for a night on our way down to Falmouth.

The hotel has been revamped and is practical, fresh and bright. They cater very well for families and dogs. The children play well together in the play area, pool and cinema.
The Cove restaurant is very informal and laid back. All the waitressing staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is tasty and the portions are big. Our granddaughter s enjoyed the choice at breakfast. The staff work so hard to keep everything clean - I don’t know how they do it when they are right next to the beach!
Our room was large with a separate bit for the children’s bunk beds. The view was amazing- watching the surfers in the waves. The choice of drinks in the rooms were varied - tea, coffee,hot chocolate with marshmallows and squash with shortbread biscuits. We had an ample supply of towels. Housekeeping worked hard to refresh rooms daily.
We would recommend this hotel for a break for anyone. We would definitely come again.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank wane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Cameron, Other at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with your granddaughter. We hope to see the whole family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews