We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Skyscanner.com
£134
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rob
Somerset, United Kingdom

Fantastic as always

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2021via mobile
Another fantastic trip to our favourite hotel on the coast, made even better following the amazing refurbishment.
Room was huge with bunk beds for the boys and a massive kingsize bed for mum and dad.
Great facilities on site with lovely swimming pool, cinema room and so much more to keep them busy, not forgetting milk and cookies every night!
Breakfast is the perfect way to start the day with so much choice.
The hotel is in such a great location, and the views and beach are incredible.
The whole team are amazing and always go out their way to make your holiday as special as possible.
Massive thanks to Laura, Lauren and the team for a fantastic break. Can’t wait for our next trip!!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 23 Sept 2021
Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your stay with us. I am glad you have enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your comments on our recent refurbishment as well- there have definitely been some big changes! I am happy to hear the boys were kept busy exploring all our facilities and enjoyed a treat of milk and cookies before bedtime. I will pass your comments onto Laura, Lauren and all of our hardworking team as well, they have had a very busy summer so it will be much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£189
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £189
0.7 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
£71
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    £43
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Trip.com
1.2 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£282
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £282
  • Skyscanner.com
    £281
  • Vio.com
    £282
0.6 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£99
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Priceline
    £99
1.3 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£110
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £110
1.1 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£49
  • Official Website
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Expedia.com
    £49
1.4 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
PremierInn.com
£51
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    £200
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £122
  • Vio.com
    £119
  • Hotels.com
    £135
0.3 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    £165
  • Skyscanner.com
    £131
  • Expedia.com
    £165
0.8 miles from The Esplanade Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newquay
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
143
45
17
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
143
45
17
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milk and cookies build a bear cinema room books and games family friendly hotel fistral beach soft play cove restaurant adult bar reception lounge play area before bedtime family room great location overlooking mattress topper great touches swimming pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2021

Just recently back from a wonderful 5 nights stay at The Esplanade in Newquay. Where should I even start....we were a group of 11 with children of different ages ranging from 8 to 17 so probably not the easiest groups to look after. This hotel was just perfect in so many ways. Firstly the staff are amazing they cannot do enough for you....so patient, so lovely, so helpful, so respectful. A lovely receptionist called Jo Badgery helped us so much with the booking of a cab (for 11 people at a busy period of the year) not the easiest thing to do, recommended places to visit and even helped us change timings of a dinner in the restaurant that we couldn't make and when I left a charger in my room she even made sure my left belongings were returned to me safely. We even got some helpful information regarding the booking of some spa treatments. From the moment you arrive at The Esplanade until the moment you leave you are made to feel welcome & special. The hotel is furnished so well, very fresh, clean and modern. The food we ate at breakfast time and at dinner was delicious. So much care is taken by the restaurant staff to make sure guests are happy. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the sea view just made it even better. I could have definitely stayed longer. This would 100% be the hotel I choose next time I visit Newquay. Thank you The Esplanade.

Room tip: A Sea view makes the stay even more special. Family rooms are nice & spacious.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 641rubig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us this lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday here with us, Our team are always happy to help with whatever you need during your stay so I am happy to hear they have taken good care of you all. Getting a taxi can be extremely challenging in Newquay in the Summer so great news that we were able to help with this, I will pass your thanks onto Jo! I am glad your charger found its way to you safely as well. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future and hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer as you wished to this time! Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

Really enjoyed our time at The Esplanade Hotel. It’s very child friendly and we all enjoyed the Magic Show🙂
Overpacked as usual so a special thanks to Deborah for helping us with our tons of luggage!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HCL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2021

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, I am glad you have enjoyed your holiday at our family friendly hotel. Our Magic Shows are the highlight of the stay for many of our young guests so I am happy that they have enjoyed it. I will pass your thanks on to Deborah and don't worry about overpacking-- we are always happy to help with any luggage no matter what the size! We hope to welcome you back here with us again in the future, Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Returned from a Mon-Fri break here and I have to say I was really impressed. It's a fabulous family friendly hotel in an unbeatable location.
Rooms were modern and clean. We were lucky enough to have a sea view balcony room which was just beautiful. Breakfast was of a good standard with lots of options although service was a little slow at times. The dining area also had a small soft play unit, pool table and other entertainment for kids. The pool and cinema room were also added bonuses, especially for wet days.
Evening entertainment was varied and fun and those little added extras like the complimentary milk and cookies before bed were the perfect finishing touch.
In terms of location you can't really get much closer to the beach. We had lots of lovely walks and spent a lot of time in Fistral Beach which is just a few hundred meters from the hotel.
One thing that I would advise for anyone travelling soon.....it's SO busy at the moment. We found a free parking spot in the hotel car park but it was by sheer luck and we daren't move the car for the rest of the week as there were no nearby parking options and on-road parking was hit and miss. Reserve parking unless you want to risk a long walk with your suitcases!!!
Also, book your dining in advance either at the hotel or at restaurants. We had no idea how hard it would be to find places to eat. Walk in venues all had a long wait and the nice places were booked weeks in advance. We once again struck lucky by getting a cancellation spot in the hotel one evening (brilliant food and generous portions) but other than that we had to rely heavily on takeout and fast food which was a disappointment.
Even Newquay zoo had an hour wait to get in if you hadn't pre-booked!
Other than this, we had a brilliant break and wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again if we were in the area.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesychips27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review of your stay with us here at The Esplanade. I am so pleased yourself and your family have enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer here. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to stay here with us again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

It’s difficult to get an idea of a place online but Debbie at the Esplanade made it so easy. She described the rooms so well and the way she described the family vibe of the hotel, the dining and even the kids entertainment just made us want to be going there now. She’s so warm and informative, we can’t thank her enough and can’t wait to arrive!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ashleigho933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review. I will pass on your kind words to Debbie, she will be thrilled! I hope you enjoyed your stay and we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We visited the Esplanade Hotel whilst staying at the Sister Hotel. I have to say the Staff, especially Deborah, could not have done more. She explained everything we needed to know about the hotel, local information and she even went out of her way to show us one of the Family Rooms. Nothing was too much trouble even though you could tell the Hotel was busy she didn't let that phase her. Lovely, friendly and professional disposition and we came away feeling we wanted to book. We will be staying in September and have already some great plans...Thank you Deborah for the time you spent in making sure we have everything covered and we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Room tip: All rooms are very different but all clean and very well presented
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennybjart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Vine, Guest Services / Front Office at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thank you for leaving us this review of you stay with us, i am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay and that our friendly team have made you feel so welcome. I will also pass on your kind comments to Deborah, she will be thrilled! I hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews