We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We arrived during refurbishments, and found ourselves dodging workmen and bare flooboards. The room was nice and comfortable, but getting to it was not a very pleasant experience, as we had to step over tools, and old carpet, which the workmen had left lying about. Lots of banging and sawing. There was sawdust and splinters of wood. The cartons of milk in our room, were off, but they were replaced after we told the receptionist. The staff did everything they could to make the situation better, but think they were trying to hold back the tide. The food in the restaurant was very good though, which was a surprise. The pool was out of action, but we were allowed to use the facilities of the sister hotel, just down the road. Maybe we should try again, when the refurb is complete.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashquelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    430
    128
    55
    25
See reviews for
504
431
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Enjoyed our stay, all staff friendly and helpful. Quality of meals excellent, and the service very prompt. The room was clean and comfortble though very hot even without radiator on. Only negatives i can find are very creaky floorboards in the room above us (we were 134), we could hear every footstep made in the room, including waking us in the night, and the crockery/cutlery wasnt as clean as it could have been.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinvegas_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Very comfortable room, generous breakfast, very friendly staff in reception,bar and restaurant. Lovely position looking down on Fistral Beach. Enjoyed my night in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2010
Thank you for your comments - we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Im not one to write a review but on this occasion i will, its not a bad review just honest review .so the positives- great location, great view and you get to use the spa at the bay hotel up the road and if I,m honest the reception was very friendly.

negatives-restaurant service wasn't good on first few nights but got better, the hotel is very creaky you can hear everything and everyone(which made sleeping a little tough), the room was nice but really wished they cleaned the windows, the housekeeping was my biggest problem at about 10 am the corridors are clogged with towels and buckets making it a obstacle course to get to the room and one day my girlfriend wasn't well so we went relax in room to find that the housekeeping had music playing from one of the rooms so loud we couldn't relax.

I understand i had some negatives there, i did enjoy the location and view from room tho , just really it was little things that nagged at me through out the week we stayed made want to write this review.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2010
Thank you for you comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look into your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We have just spent 5 nights at the Esplanade, and have come away with only good things to say about it. We stayed in one of the Deluxe rooms (room 244 - the classic room), and it was lovely. We had beautiful views across Fistral bay plus a Jacuzzi bath, and a separate dressing room area (which we found great for our travel cot, meaning baby could settle and we could still watch TV without disturbing him). The room was spacious bright and clean.
We had room service and we also dined at the restaurant on-site and thought the food was excellent quality. Only thing was that only a couple of the dishes on the a la carte menu varied each day so you might get bored with the selection if you stay for a week or more. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, although the organisation around seating people as a little haphazard.
We had a complaint about people in the next door room being noisy in the early hours and the management addressed it straight away and had the courtesy to update us on the situation. We had no more trouble after that.
The pool and soft play areas are great, and there is a washing machine, tumble dryer and iron available in a laundry room (£1.40 for a wash - drying appeared to be free).
Car parking on site is a bit hit-and-miss. You can reserve spaces in advance, but there are only around 8 spaces available for reservation (at £10/night) so get your name down before you arrive.. Other than that there are about 15 free-for-all spaces which fill up quickly. At certain times of the year the parking on the road outside the hotel is unrestricted, so it's generally quite easy to park, just check with reception in advance about what restrictions apply when you stay.
It is quite an exposed area of coastline, and the downside of the great surfing conditions is that it quite windy and the salt from the sea coats everything! The car has come home absolutely filthy! Obviously this means that the bedroom windows also get dirty very quickly, although the hotel say they get cleaned weekly.. We could certainly still enjoy the view by the end of our stay.
Overall we had a fantastic time, and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zcacgje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope you return and will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Stayed in a standard room with sea view with my wife and 3 year old child, we booked this hotel as it seemed to be aimed at families rather more than our first choice hotel "The Bay" (the Esplanade hotels' sibling hotel).

The frontage of the hotel wasn't the most inspiring but inside, the ground floor was very pleasant. The reception was friendly and efficient, a trait we found to be common throughout our short stay with almost all staff encountered.

Our room on the second floor was OK. The carpets in the room were a bit tired looking and looked like they needed a good clean. There were a few irritations that need some sort of staff intervention when servicing the rooms, like the kettle lead needing replacing due to exposed single insulation on the flex and the curtain rail handing on by a thread! The windows were pretty grimy, and although I accept the hotel is literally on the sea front (one of it's major plusses) they could do more to clean the windows more regularly.

The facilities were great. A decent pool and children's areas. The restaurant was very good and the breakfasts first class. Ate once in the evening and found the prices quite expensive although as we dined with a discount voucher courtesy of the hotel this was much more acceptable. The food was generally good and service excellent with attentive hostesses who were superb with our daughter.

All in all, the hotel offered reasonable prices. We would prefer a higher standard in our rooms and if we were to book here again we would probably choose one of their "Best" rooms for higher standards. Again, this hotel was booked because it seemed marketed towards families more than it's 4 star sibling at The Bay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrimKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
Thank you for your comments they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Booked 3 rooms for the weekend, and the reception and staff are very welcoming, the view is wonderful. As hotels go in newquay, this is very good.
Its a pleasant walk to the main town, or a taxi away.
If I could improve it, it would be the outside of the bar, its a concrete square for smokers. and the swimming pool was cloudy and dull. However you can use the facilities 100 yards away at "the bay", which I did, and the bar was elegant, and the pool facilities top notch. The Bay is more expensive, so the Esplanade is a cheap way to get the best of both.
The car parking is also tight and minimal, but thats common in Newquay. I have stayed before and would stay again, but if money was no object, just upgrade to the Bay.
NB - 10 min walk up the cliff takes you to the amazing LLewinick lodge on the cliff, which is hidden gem of newquay. Go for lunch and sit on the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoozing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EspCustomerRelations, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2010
Thank you for your comments. We hope you do choose to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: Fistral Beach Esplanade Road, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing