We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame,shame,shame....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“shame,shame,shame....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

as mentioned in the title it is such a shame.my famlily and i stayed at this hotel last year and we thorougly enjoyed our stay and could not fault the place....however,on departure last year we booked for this year and paid the deposit,when the balance was to be paid i found out we had been double booked.a certain member of staff was extremely rude and told us we had different dates even though we had confirmation.after the disgusting attitude of certain members of staff and being called a liar amongst other things the holiday never happened..i would not advise this hotel until the incompetent members are removed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnswanson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    140
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
126
255
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This March, for the second year in a row, we took advantage of a dinner bed and breakfast offer which worked out around £80 a night.
I did not receive the best service when trying to find out about offer by email.
Clean and well presented rooms and fantastic food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for three nights. The standard of cleanliness is excellent and our rooms were very comfortable. Although it is a three star listed hotel, we received a four staff service. The staff were very approachable and friendly. They were very informative about the surrounding area. The food provided in the restaurant was heavenly! Staff were very attentive to our needs and the whole fine dining experience was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeeto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

After booking this for a family holiday after a family member was diagnosed with a termal illness, we were all looking forward to it. When we called them to pay the balance we found we were not booked in, even tho we had paid £150 deposit. Then after staff beening extemelly rude they told us we could have the following week but it was going to cost us more money. We decided to cancel the holiday after having a rude call from the manager, but were told that because we were cancelling it we couldnt have our deposit back. The whole thing has been a nighmare and i would not recomend anyone booking a holiday through this hotel.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank joshua200511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acgriffiths, Manager at BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Please refer to my response under the title shame shame shame as this is written by the same person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Comfortable, well maintained hotel on the cliff top above Porth Bay with easy access to the beach and coastal path. Good location from which to visit other parts of Cornwall, including Eden Project (about 1/2 hours drive). Excellent breakfast and dinner, although the dinner menu was the same on each of the three nights we were there. A little more variety would have been welcomed, say a daily special.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmn277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed for three nights at the beach Villa.The Villa was well appointed with all mod cons and the equipment provided of excellent quality and the setting very pleasant .The staff were welcoming and a problem we had with the shower initially dealt with promptly and efficiently.The package we booked included two garden visits which were great particularly that to Lanhydrock and a dinner in the hotel.This was the only criticism we had several of the courses we ordered were either not available or had gone.However some of the alternatives which incurred surcharges were waived and the staff were full of apologies.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would not hesitate to pass on our recommendation!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank harriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Lovely hotel and friendly staff, very clean room and facilities. Only had the breakfast which was very nice. Great swimming area with heated pool. Room was very nice but very warm and had the worlds smallest tv. Overall would give it 8/10 and i would go again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldergrove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing