We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We have just returned from a four night "Gourmet Break" at the Porth Veor Manor (via Travelzoo) and it was a great experience and excellent value for money. The staff were unfailingly helpful and made us feel very welcome. The whole place was clean and attractive and the setting was great. The food was really good (diet starts tomorrow) and it has to be said that the highlight was probably the included meal at "Fifteen". We even had good weather. If only we were not 400 miles away, we'd be back on a regular basis.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet_Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    148
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
131
264
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
devon, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

Stayed here for one night in January 08 found everything clean and fresh. The staff were pleasant and helpfull, excellent breakfast and can;t wait to stay again soon.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2008

We booked this hotel partly based on the reviews we had read, all of which seemed excellent. There is no doubt that this is a clean, superbly decorated and well kept hotel in a lovely location. Staff wise, although all the staff were helpful and friendly, there seemed to be a lack of experience and professionalism one would expect in a 3 star hotel. Top marks for value for money, however, such a lovely place charging such low prices can attract the wrong people and the problems we encountered during our stay (noise, uncouth guests) is an example of this which was a shame as it creates a very mixed market. All in all we would say this is a fantastic getaway hotel and clearly deserving of it's 3 stars, but it was ruined by some of the clientelle on the "bargain" breaks and this is something to consider.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean. Excellent decor.
  • Disliked — Mixed guest market.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We went on a four-night Gourmet break which we booked through travelzoo.com. It was a really good deal- 149 pounds for four nights b&b, plus a 6-course meal at Jamie Oliver's restaurant Fifteen as well as a four-course meal at the hotel too.

For this reason we though the hotel would be average, but it far exceeded expectations. It's set in lovely grounds and our room had an amazing sea view too! The best part of the hotel are the lovely staff. We were well looked after. There is a lovely lady called Val who looks after you at breakfast (the cooked breakfast is AMAZING) and a very lovely man called Matthew who makes superb cocktails! All the staff were very helpful.
The hotel food is top notch and we actually thought our four course meal was even better than the meal we had at Fifteen. The only thing to spoil this was the conference manager loudly showing a couple around the restaurant to discuss their wedding plans which was not very considerate to us who were trying to enjoy dinner.
Despite this we had a great stay and are already planning a return visit later in the year. It's in a great location - about 30 minutes walk to Newquay town and about an hour and a half walk to the amazing watergate bay. Well worth a visit!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — a lot of stairs!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiePosie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We had the good fortune to spend Christmas in one of the villas at this Hotel.
Staff ,food accommodation were excellent 10/10.
Having never been away for christmas we didn't know what to expect.and were delighted with it all.
The standard of the villas is superb.
All in all there was not a thing to fault!!!
Well done Porthveor

Dee Harding

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank RoseBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Had a perfect stay, even so the weather didn't play along. The room was very spacious and extremely clean. All staff were very friendly and the breakfast was well cooked and presented.

We did not have dinner, but the menu looked very appetising.

Location is great, as only a minute away from the sea side.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — steep stairs up to second floor
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Welcoming clean hotel with friendly staff. Excellent dinner menu and wines were reasonably priced. Breakfast service was a little chaotic at times but no major problems.
Self catering accommodation was furnished and finished to a high standard. This provided flexibility with being able to eat in the hotel. Only criticism was that all beds had bottom boards which isn't comfortable if you are tall.
Marvellous location and would recommend to others. Would be fantastic during the summer for families- beautiful beaches and great walks within close proximity.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinqueenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing