We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our fourth holiday in the villas, so that alone speaks volumes! This complex has everything - lovely poolside or beach view villas, short walk from the beach, hotel bar, conservatory and restaurant if you don't fancy cooking and excellent staff who look after you wonderfully. The villas are spotless on arrival and are very well equipped with everything you need. The pool is great for families and has a gate that is closed at night for safety. You can also walk into Newquay if you want a bit more hustle and bustle or stay in the quieter Porth or Lusty Glaze beaches near the hotel. Can't wait to return next year. I would like to give it a bad review so no-one goes and I can keep it all to myself, but I suppose that would be rather selfish!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acgriffiths, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you so much for posting a review and coming back and see us again for a fourth year running. We had a wonderful affordable menu available throughout the summer holiday period 2 courses for £14 available between 5-30pm and 6-45pm and whats more kids eat free from the kids menu. If you wanted to dine later we have delicious a la carte operating until 9pm.
Porth is the quieter neighbour of Newquay but near enough to enjoy the beautiful beaches.
I know you have already booked to come back next year and I look forward welcoming you back for a 5th year. Your loyalty is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Booked a short break for the beach and surf experience in Newquay and could not have wanted a better base. Our family room in the hotel was spacious and spotlessly clean, our 5 year old son bagged the top bunk rather than the other single bed and was very happy. The pool is adequate for smaller children and very warm, so the only problem is getting little ones out at the end of the day.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast options are pretty good and cooked to order using locally sourced produce. The a la carte menu in the evening is worth a look, particularly the fish. The local beach, which has a life guard, is a 2 minute walk and great for rock pooling, games, or just chilling, however hardcore surfers will have to go elsewhere as only body boards are permitted.
If you are looking for a chic boutique hotel, you will be disappointed, but if you want a comfortable and friendly spot to base yourselves for a break, you will not find much to complain about.

Room Tip: The second floor is accessed via a narrow staircase, so aim for a first floor room and check if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acgriffiths, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for your informative review you seemed to cover all aspects of the Hotel and your stay. The hotel has two family rooms with a double bed and bunk beds. One of them also has a single bed so can accommodate a family of up to 5. Unfortunately we do not take children under 5 in the hotel, however we are able to accommodate them in our villas and apartments in the hotel grounds.
The heated outdoor pool is a great asset and is open usually from around 9am to 8pm daily between April and October.
Quite a few people comment about our steep stairs to the 2nd floor, however we have a back staircase which is less steep which guests always miss. Unfortunately we have no lift in the hotel but the climb is worth it for the view over Porth Beach and towards Trevose Head lighthouse.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the manor soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Only stayed here for one night but we found this hotel to be OK except for the stairs. We were on level 2 and had a few flights of stairs to climb up to get to our room and carrying our stuff was hard work, even though we are reasonably young and fit?!!

The car parking was also a bit tight as many of the spaces were reserved for the villas and apartments, which actually look very nice and are located around the pool area.

The bedroom we had was a large room, with a lovely shower and was very clean but the room itself was a little dated. The beds were zipped together which was not great. The TV in the room was small too but there was tea, coffee facilities available.

The pool looked good, although the weather wasn't great so didn't get to use it.

The breakfast selection was very good, from yogurts, fruits, cereals, toast, jams and preserves and a full English or a selection of what you wanted. The staff in the dining room were very sweet and looked after us very well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acgriffiths, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are a small hotel of 18 bedrooms and therefore it is not cost effective for a lift to be installed at the Hotel. Therefore if you are on the 2nd floor you would need to climb two flights of stairs. We do offer help with luggage if this was not offered I can only apologize, however if you ask at reception on arrival or departure we would happily carry guests luggage up and down the stairs.

Within the car park we have 34 places or which 12 are reserved for villas and apartments on the complex the remaining spaces are for the 18 bedrooms in the hotel. In the evening occasionally non-resident park for a few hours for dinner. We feel we have ample spaces for guests the majority of the time, but on a few occasions we could do with more but it is not physically possible to add any more.

All of ours rooms are clean and recently decorated not all are to everyone's liking. Some of our rooms are zip and link and some are pure doubles and twins. A zip and link bed is used in many hotels across the world to make them more versatile to the needs of the business. The TV in the room is ample for the size of the room you stayed in. We do have large TV in 6 of our larger rooms.

I am sorry the weather was not as good as expected however rain or shine the pool is lovely as it is heated to 28-30C

I would like to thank you for you feedback on the breakfast selection and the team in the dining room. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just a very short walk from the charming little bay and town of Porth, the Porth Veor Hotel was our base for 24 hours of R&R after a week of noisy camping. It did the the job perfectly. The staff were courteous and helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious enough for our needs, the cream teas were great - and huge - and we spent several hours "chillaxin" in the conservatory and gardens. It was an ideal base for us and our five children. (the five bed family room for all the kids was ideal, our double room was superb too). The hotel is not grand, or overstated, or plush or . . . . . well. It was just very comfortable. Thanks PV and all your staff!

Room Tip: Five bed family room had a bunk, a double and a single and would suit a family of five. You're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinShepherd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I booked this 3 night stay through secret escapes for my mother and myself and didn't really know what to expect. We were very impressed by the hotel facilities and service. The heated pool was a real treat and the food we had, at breakfast and a wonderful cream tea, was delicious. The only draw back was being on the top floor and having two steep flights of stairs to walk up! However the view of the bay from our room made that worth while and throom itself was very well equipped, even having a comfy sofa, and was very clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a lovely atmosphere in the place, the large wrap around conservatory was a fantastic place to sit and have a drink at the end of a busy day exploring cornish gardens. The grounds were very clean and well kept and there is a lovely path down to the bay from the back lawn. Porth itself is much nicer than neighbouring Newquay, quieter and perfect for a picnic whilst watching the waves roll in. The water is shallow but there were still plenty of people using surf boards and kayaks. In all we had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask not to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As the title says really! VERY Helpful Staff, even called to say the room was ready (we arrived early!) ***ALSO HAS WI-FI!! ***

Stunning views of Porth Beach and surrounding views from the villa. The pool was lovely and warm as I remember it was last year.

Not far from Newquay (only 5 mins in the car to Asda). Would recommend a visit to the Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm (about a 20 min drive away).

Andrew the Manager was a pleasure to deal with & made sure everything was ok.

Currently planning next years visit, wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Worth booking. We stayed in hotel for 5 nights. Lovely friendly place. We had room 22 which was up at the top of steep staircase, not good if you're infirm. Room had beautiful views over the bay. Room was huge and could have slept family of 5 if you were on a tight budget. The villas around the pool looked lovely too. The grounds were spacious and great for sitting in with a cider after a long day sightseeing. The restaurant was very expensive so didn't eat there in evening. The breakfast was ok but couldn't understand why you only got half slice of black pudding! Would recommend this hotel to others. There are a few restaurants nearby which we found just by exploring the area. Try the tapas bar excellent food but book before hand as its busy.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolanWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing