We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Marina Hotel(Newquay)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$251
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
321
162
58
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
162
58
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporth beachheated poolno liftsea viewlovely hoteljamie oliver's restaurantthe main hotelflights of stairscornish breakfastcooked breakfastmini breaklusty glazeshort breakenjoyable staynight breakroom was spotlessdouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our fourth stay in one of the villas and our third in Villa 1 which is our favourite. We love being able to sit outside the villa watching the kids in the pool.

The standards were as high as always. A previous reviewer mentioned the TV reception being disappointing and I have to agree that upgrades are probably due but we don't come on holiday to watch TV so not a problem for us. Everthing else was perfect as always.

We stayed for a week and had a fantastic holiday. Having toured Cornwall extensively on our previous stays we decided this time that we would stay close to the villa and enjoy the pool and the beautiful beach at Porth ( a very short walk from the hotel).

We had the most enjoyable and relaxing holiday and the kids sobbed when it was time to say goodbye to the friends they had made around the pool.They are begging us to re book for next year.

I'm sure we will be back as we have struggled to find anywhere else that gives us the standard of accommodation that the villas at the Porth Veor provide.

Thank you once again for a fantastic stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank DMGIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a short break in one of the villas at Porth Veor. The villa was really lovely - clean and well equiped with lovely views of the beach. We enjoyed the balcony especially. The pool was fantastic - very warm. The restaurant was excellent and very good value. The location was also very good for everythng - especially surfing at nearby Watergate Bay and great walks on the headland between Porth and Watergate. The staff were always helpful. However, there were just a few things that weren't very good. The main problem was the sofa bed. The property is described as being suitable for 6 people with a high quality sofa bed in the lounge. This sofa bed was very, very uncomfortable with a matress that was about only an inch/inch and a half thick. My husband and I barely slept in 4 nights. The lounge was also very hot. The proper bedrooms were lovely and I would recommend the villa for 4 people only - definately not for 6. Another point to watch for is that the hotel allows all male/female groups to rent the appartments. I don't think this is great on a family holiday. I was in the pool with my children and we were suddenly surounded by a fairly large group of men who got in and were throwing a ball around the pool. When the ball hit my son in the face - we got out! Not a perfect ending to what had been a nice afternoon. Just a couple of minor quibbles to finish - the tatty work van parked next to our villa seemed a pity when the rest of the area had been so nicely lanndscaped!! And the TV picture was terrible and the channels did not correspond to any particular number - spent some time guessing what the channels were!

Room Tip: Villas facing beach do have a lovely view - but beware uncomfortable sofa bed if you are going as a party of 6.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I'm sorry that not all of your stay met your expectations.

Please be assured that it is not a general rule that we allow groups of the same gender to book our apartments. This is only permitted in exceptional circumstances as we are acutely aware that this type of group does not always blend well with family groups. Your point on this matter is duly noted and we will review the timing of when it is appropriate to make exceptions to our general policy of not accepting groups bookings of either all male or all female guests.

It is also only fair to point out we have had other group bookings this year that have not caused any disruption to other guests so perhaps on this occasion it was an exception as opposed to the norm.

Thank you also for your feedback on the sofa bed and the TV, this will be duly attended to by our maintenance and housekeeping teams.

Kindest Regards

Jamie Riches
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed between the 21st and 24th July in the Manor House on a birthday treat. Excellent reception when we arrived and our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We found this hotel very relaxing with very nice views and surroundings. The staff were also very accomodating and friendly. The real highlight for us however, was the menu and standard of food and we enjoyed a three course birthday meal worthy of any "Fine Dining" restauarant and at a sensible price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A Secret Escapes booking and we didnt realise we would have a room way at the top of the building with a tricky access (for my husband not in the very best of health) but.... really helpful staff - helped us with our luggage up the very steep staircase to the room at the top. Nice sea view and thank goodness the window opened fully as it was boiling hot! Bit of misunderstanding over our restaurant bill but was sorted out nicely. Food excellent

Room Tip: Be mindful of the steep staircases
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champagnetaste_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is the third year in a row we have stayed here in the apartments and yet again could not fault in any way our stay .
I would highly reccommend a great relaxing and friendly stay here to anyone.its a short walk to the beach and only 20 minute steady walk into newquay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesser1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews