We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Porth Cottage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Porth Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This self-catering property came to us as an upgrade, so I'm bound to be pleased with it, but here goes anyway: This is a two-bedroomed cottage on two floors. It is clean and cosy and well-fitted. Downstairs is a comfy sitting-room, an inglenook with a wood-burning stove, a laundry, and a kitchen with full-sized stove, fridge-freezer and dishwasher. There is a patio area and small cottage garden outside. Upstairs are two bedrooms (one quite small), and a bathroom. Breakfast at the adjoining hotel is reduced to £7.50 for guests staying in the cottage.
The cottage is normally quite pricey, but there are often good deals to be had. As I only paid for a studio apartment, it was an even better bargain for me!

Room Tip: This is next to the coast road, so it probably isn't so restful in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VixMiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    138
    51
    19
    12
See reviews for
126
251
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We were 3 ladies escaping for a weekend of wine, laughter & relaxing and this was a perfect venue. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment, no. 5 which is a corner one & possibly more spacious. We had 2 bedrooms, one ensuite plus a very comfortable sofa bed in the lounge. The apartment was spotlessly clean, comfortable & well equipped. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was superb, couldn't fault it. We walked into Newquay along the coast which was pleasant & an easy stroll. Porth Beach is lovely & 2 minutes down the road. We will return I'm sure. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a superior double with sea views. The room was spotless and so was the bathroom. The view across to the beach was gorgeous!
(Room 24)
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and again at breakfast. The food is gorgeous and was one of the best meals we have had.
Along with the gorgeous food was the excellent service that we received whilst dining and in reception. The staff were polite and could not do enough for you.
The hotel is only a minutes walk away from the beach and a few minutes drive into Newquay town, Padstow was also very close about 13 miles.

I would recommend this hotel and we will be returning!

Thank you!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KandR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had our wedding here on the 21st Sept 2013 and from the moment I walked into the hotel knew it was the perfect venue for our special day! The staff were friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed! The food was fantastic and i couldn't imagine a more perfect setting!

On the run up to the day we were supported by Gary, who made sure we had thought of everything (and gave some great advice and tips). Gary was fantastic at keeping me calm and ensuring everything stayed on track!

The chef even re-iced part of our cake which had been slightly damaged in transit without us even asking!

The hotel and villas were enjoyed by all our guests and the homely atmosphere provided a relaxed and comfortable environment for everyone!

I cannot wait to go back and see all the staff on our anniversary! A truly wonderful place with exceptional staff! Thank you for making the most amazing day of my life so perfect!

If your looking for a relaxed wedding in an amazing setting you need to visit this hotel!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious; however there are two suites on the top floor whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Lean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast. The location is superb but the hotel was disappointing and needs some attention to detail. The room we had was v warm and even with the heating turned off we had to leave the windows open at night, the heat appeared to come from pipes under the floor of the room. There was dried coffee on the skirting board by the bedside table and we had to ask for the bottom sheet to be changed as it was so rough from wear.
The breakfast was OK but lacked presentation and mushroom with the cooked breakfast was on both mornings just half of a not very large flat mushroom! The sugar bowl on the table was in need of a refresh and when I asked for brown sugar for my coffee I felt as if I was asking for something unusual

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Porth Veor Manor on a number of occasions over the last few years, porth cottage in particular, which was always well looked after and a pleasure to return to. However, we have just returned from a four night stay and I can honestly say I spent most of the first day cleaning. The standard had dropped to such a level that I can only assume that the cleaning staff have changed or the hotel no longer care. The loo is horribly damp, the kitchen is falling into disrepair, the lounge carpet is stained, the cupboard in the second bedroom no longer closes, there are no facilities for sanitary purposes, the garden has become so overgrown it is almost impossible to see through the lounge windows, and the bathroom tiles are revoltingly stained. Don't go, unless you enjoy cleaning :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoedrinkwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

On arriving we were greeted quickly & pleasantly by a member of staff. We were told where everything was. We then went to our room which was spacious with lovely views & good tea / coffee facilities. We had a drink in the bar, where the barman gave us a lot of history about the place, we then had an enjoyable meal in the restaurant. On recommendation of the barman we walked to the town center the following day, & had a lovely steak meal in THE MERMAID INN,which was right on the sea front. A very enjoyable weekend, would definately go again, & would recommend. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 898Princess12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing