We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Having experienced Valentines Day Dinner at Porth Veor Manor Hotel before, we were looking to book there again this year. When we went on the website we noticed they have apartments overlooking Porth Beach which was exactly what we wanted - I really need a sea view in Cornwall! Our 3 night stay was superb. The apartment was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We did have a problem with the television, but the maintenance man at the hotel went out of his way to get a replacement. We dined in the hotel restaurant at discounted prices on all 3 nights and the food was superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very professional but approachable. We enjoyed it so much we have booked again for a fortnight in November.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach House apartments. As we chose one of the apartments at the front it had its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in Porth Veor Villas for a few days. The villa was spacious and absolutely spotless, everything we needed was provided and a tray with tea, coffee and biscuits just added that extra little touch.

We had a very good meal in the hotel one night and also booked for breakfast in the hotel every morning at a reduced rate and the breakfast and service was excellent. Very friendly staff and also the location was perfect, very close to the beach.

I would definitely recommend this hotel/villa complex.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 170Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute through secret escapes for a relaxing weekend break and chose the porth veor manor hotel based on the location and the positive reviews. As we were going to be arriving late on the Friday evening we decided to book a table for the restaurant for the first evening and sent an email to request a booking. Which turned out to be a good idea as it seemed secret escapes hadn't notified the hotel of our booking and they didn't have us booked in and to make it worse our sea view room was given to other guests!. Just what you don't want to hear but hats of to the staff of the hotel as they upgraded us to a 2 bed self contained villa with sea views and the accommodation was immaculate, impeccably clean and equipped to a high standard. The meal in the restaurant was top quality with good menu choices and excellent service. The prices were exceptionally competitive with a three course meal at £24.99 and we have paid more than that for one course on other breaks. The breakfast which is included in the price was also first class with lots of choice and also a continental breakfast included. Also included in the break was a free cream tea which again was without fault. We had a great time at the porth veor with a perfect location for exploring and made to feel very welcome by all the staff and we are looking forward to visiting again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dwrex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay at this excellent hotel, the cleanest room I think we`ve ever stayed in. The evening meal was superb, as was breakfast - comes highly recommended by us as Cornish people who just needed a 24hr getaway.

We`ll be back I`m sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this small but beautifully formed hotel. Very good breakfast - plenty of choice and beautifully cooked. Everything is locally sourced. Evening meal in Beaucliffes was excellent - again beautifully cooked and presented.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Ideal location for walks along the cliffs and within easy reach of Newquay.

Room Tip: Preferably choose a room with a view across the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 746joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Currently staying at porth veor manor.Excellent rooms. The apartments also first class. Superb food in the dining room. Staff very friendly and professional. Would highly recommend.Newquay very nice. Weather amazing for march.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vinnie.55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked this hotel on a Travelzoo offer and was very pleased. The check-in staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was very clean and had just been painted (only guessing this as the room had aromas of paint!). We had dinner which was very nice although portion sizes are not 'Man Size'. Barman/waiter was very polite and friendly. Overall for the amount we paid we cannot complain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £48 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing