We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently booked for a three night stay at the apartments at Porth Veor. It was booked through Secret Escapes. On arrival we were expecting to be in the apartments overlooking the beach, when we went to reception they told us we were actually in the apartments close to the hotel. As we had paid extra for a beach view I was very disappointed with this. The man on reception was very rude and very blunt telling me NO there was no possibility of changing apartments as we had booked through secret escapes. The apartment was spacious although there was a smell there which remained throughout the stay. The beach view was only just from the top floor balcony. The balcony and patio were both very dirty and looked like they hadn,t been cleaned for many weeks. I had to clean the wooden chairs and table for us to sit out. We booked for a meal in the restaurant and looked at the menu in the apartment book. When at the restaurant the menu was completely different and many items were not available even though the restaurant was quiet. The service was slow and the port reduction was more like bisto gravy. One couple walked out as the menu choice was limited after 7 0 clock. Last year we stayed at the beach house apartments which I would recommend but I have to say I was disappointed with the apartment at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

May I thank you for your honest feedback, we take all feedback on board, good and bad. It is a shame that you were unable to bring these concerns to my attention during your stay as we would always prefer to address any issues at the time to ensure you and your guests enjoy your holiday to the full.

I would like to assure you that all our outside furniture is cleaned regularly throughout the season and our apartments at Porth Veor Manor are maintained to ensure they retain their Visit Britain 4 Star Gold grading year after year the same as the apartments we manage within the Beach House in Porth.

With regards to your menu in your apartment, we regularly change our restaurant menu throughout the year to offer the best local produce of the season, however, it would appear some in room folders were missed on the latest change, this has now been addressed to ensure all information is current.

Our menu offering is not reduced after 7pm, however, our early diner menu is available from 5.30pm - 7.00pm and is aimed to encourage families to dine earlier with younger guests and is priced accordingly. Our A La Carte menu is available from 5.30pm-8.45pm which is supplemented by daily specials.

With regards to service in the restaurant there has been a transitional period of staff changes and as such our staff are undergoing additional training to ensure that service standards do not fall, customer service and satisfaction is at the heart of what we do and we can assure you that absolutely no 'pre made' sauces or jus' are used in our kitchen.

If you wish to contact me directly at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss any aspect of your stay further. Please email me at jamieriches@breaksincornwall.com if I can be of further assistance.

Assuring you of our best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in porth cottage which was lovely we had 2 children and it is spacious you can't get wifi at cottage we had no microwave as stated but got one as we were due to go home also lack of teaspoons and no welcome tray

Room Tip: Think villas look lovely by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a refreshing change to have all your expectations for your accommodation to be exceeded on the first day. Staff were pleasant, polite, willing and capable. The apartment we used (N0 3) was all on one level and facing the swimming pool. I have never stayed in such a well thought out and equipped accommodation. Lots of nice extra touches with the level of equipment provided in the kitchen through to the choice and quantity of the toiletries in the bathrooms. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The facilities of the hotel were about twenty yards from the front door and we were perfectly satisfied with the evening meal ( £14 for two courses ) I hope that doesn't sound like a criticism. The ice creams we had one afternoon were exceptional so it was a natural choice to finish or meals with another ice-cream based dish - which did not disappoint.
I would not hesitate to recommend the apartments here.

Room Tip: Telephone with any requirements and they will do their best to oblige. I travelled with a blue badge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilmorris838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just enjoyed a 3 day break at the Porth Veor Manor hotel. We booked through Secret Escapes, check in was swift and efficient. We had requested a sea view which we had. It was worth the climb to the top floor. The location and quality of the hotel are both excellent. We were able to enjoy walking directly from the hotel, the grounds lead on to the coastal path from the end of the beautiful gardens. This meant that we could leave the car at the hotel. The public rooms are comfortable and well furnished. The ensuite bedrooms are well furnished, the beds are comfortable. The selection on the breakfast menu was very good. We had one evening meal which was good and was represented good value for money. The only reason for the 4/5 score being that service was slightly disjointed in the restaurant. Perhaps new staff? perhaps some communication difficulties? This is only a minor criticism, because all the staff were trying their best to be helpful. Overall this was a great value for money stay. We will almost certainly go back, either to the hotel or to an apartment, they looked really good.

Room Tip: We would recommend our room, 23. Others on this floor (top) are worth the climb!From memory 22, 23...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned from a stay at Porth Veor apartments. The apartment is wonderful. More than enough room for 4 people with everything supplied you could possibly want. Excellent location overlooking the outdoor heated swimming pool, the whole place is excellently maintained and indeed every day we were there maintainance staff were discreetly cleaning or keeping the whole place in tip top condition. The hotel and apartments are spotless . Even though the hotel was quiet whilst we were there a full menu was available each night had we wanted it.
It was only a 5 minute walk to Porth beach which itself is a lovely little place.
The price for 4 nights was very good for the high standard of accommodation. Just wish my own home had the granite work tops , the expensive drapes and blinds , the beautiful furniture and the sooooo comfy beds !! If anyone wants a lovely place to stay around this area you wont go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Port Veor Manor for 5 nights just before Easter.Checking in was easy & the staff very welcoming. -we booked via Secret Escapes at the last minute..The bedroom & ensuite bathroom that we were allocated were spotless ,freshly decorated & nicely appointed.We were given clean towels everyday.

The breakfast was very good with a great selection to choose from either hot or cold.The staff worked very hard to serve everybody.We had one evening meal - the food was excellent although the service a liitle slow.
The bar area had great views over beach & was a nice place to sit in the evening.
The gardens & pool area were very well maintained with the pool the perfect temperature for a swim in sunny April!
The location was perfect to use as a base for the many attractions in this area.
All the staff went out of the way to ensure that the guests had a super time.We would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pf185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in the 3 bed Villa poolside from the 20th April - 27th April 2014. Had such a lovely stay accomadation first class, the kids loved the pool and the beach. Staff are always so helfpul can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stayed here 5 times all the villas and apartment are excellent. Never stayed in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £65 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing