We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We have just returned from a 3-night, mid-week deal at this hotel and it was excellent value for money. The hotel was clean, very well-presented and professionally run by friendly staff.

Being low season, things were quiet in Newquay with very little holiday trade but a surprising number of places were open. Walking the SW Coastal path was still fun despite some rain.

We stayed in the hotel itself but apartments and villas are also available on the same site. We looked at an apartment and were impressed with the smart, modern finish.

The hotel is between Porth and Newquay and conveniently located for all the amenities. There is a partial beach-view from the Hotel.

Evening meals are available from the Hotel restaurant but I can't comment on them because we ate out. The breakfasts were very good.

I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2008

yet again our stay over the bank holiday was fantastic - we stayed in the villas this time which are lovely - they are kitted out perfectly and you will want for nothing - the quality of furniture and furnishings are top and they are more like a 5 star accommodation - the staff at the hotel and the cleaning ladies are lovely - they can't do enough for you. whoever owns this establishment should be immensley proud of all the staff and the high standard this hotel/villa complex offers - this was our our 2nd time and we are going back again for the new year

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daisydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We spend a couple of weeks a year down in Porth and usually camp at Porth Beach Tourist Park (which is excellent, if a bit pricey in high season) but chose not to brave the elements in March! We found this little gem via Travelsupermarket, if I remember rightly it cost about £56 each per night B&B and turned out to be an absolute bargain! The buliding itself has been updated recently and is immaculately clean and fresh. The pool was shut due to the time of year but looked clean and safe, although not very big and would probably get crowded during high season. The apartments looked lovely too. There is a large bar / lounge area, incorporating a wrap-around conservatory where we spent a lot of time just chilling and taking in the view of Porth. Breakfast was excellent, not a help-yourself job, but the servings were more than adequate. Helpful, friendly but not intrusive staff. Our only regret was that we did not take the opportunity to dine in the Beaucliffe restaurant because all the reviews recommend it - fellas remember to take some smart trousers if you wish to do so! Porth Veor Manor is ideally situated because it is far enough away from the rowdiness of Newquay, yet close enough if you wish to venture in - lovely route along the coast path if you want to walk into Newquay or the opposite way to Watergate Bay (Fifteen Restaurant etc). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamstamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

had 1 night here
hotel is clean, bright, and has fantastic staff,
the rooms were nice and well appointed, very clean.
the breakfast was very good with locally sourced meat and produce.
Much better food than the glendorgal hotel where i stayed recently.
the staff could not do more for you, they were very attentive.
had dinner in their beauvilles restaurant and was very pleased,
excellent choice and quality, well done!
5 stars for a good inexpensive hotel with some style in porth beach a short walk from newquay and on the bus route to padstow and NQY airport...reccommended!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed in an apartment at the Porth Veor Manor. The apartment was fantastic. It had all of the mod cons to make for a nice easy stay, particularly as we had a baby. The beds are comfortable and there are 2 bathrooms in the 2 bed apartments which was excellent. There is a lovely pool, which is spotless and warm. The beach is a 5 min walk away. The hotel offers good breakfasts but it can be difficult to book for dinner and if the restaurant is busy for dinner don't count on room service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would reccommend this property in an instant and would stay here again on any future visits to Newquay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1canucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Just returned from a 4 night Gourmet break and stayed in the apartments. Had a lovely time and would definitely recommend.
The staff at the hotel were always curteous and friendly.
The apartments were finished to a really high standard and everything you could possibly need is provided.
If I'm being picky, they could fit net curtains on the bedroom windows for privacy and if I'm being really, really picky they could have put a shower over the bath as there is a shower room and a bathroom but as we all prefer showers, we were waiting for the shower room.
The meals included at Fifteen and Beaucliffe's were both excellent and both evenings were quite different.
Never been to Cornwall in May before but it's a great time to go. Everywhere is quieter and you can park so easily - it was even free to park on Porth beach! Even though the weather wasn't so good, the accomodation and food made up for this and we definitely look forward to visiting Porth Veor Manor again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Stayed on the four night "gourmet" package that includes a meal at the hotel restaurant & Jamie Oliver's 15 at Watergate Bay. It worked out at just over £125 each for the 5 of us. The hotel meal retails at £24 & we had the £50 a head tasting menu at 15 so the whole thing was excellent value. Both meals were very good, particularly 15 with stunning views out over Watergate Bay. The apartments are less than a year old and very well appointed, great kitchen living area, satellite TV etc. We had two beds, 2 bathrooms and a sofa bed, plenty of room for 6 people. The location is good too. Close to the beach at Porth, walkable to Watergate Bay (2.5 miles) along the costal path & less into Newquay. Its a great central location for seeing all Cornwall has to offer. We drove down to Lands End, St. Michaels Mount, St Ives & Mevagissy. All were very photogenic. Watch out for the seagulls at Mevagissy, they dive bombed a bloke near us & took his whole pastie - he wasn't happy! St. Ives is lovely, good shopping in a quirky, arty, surfer way. We went over to Padstow as well & eat fish & chips at Rick Steins. Beautiful!! We had five days of fantastic weather & believe me, if you could be sure of the weather I'd holiday in this country more often.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £65 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing