We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

we chose this through a cheap online website which offered a gormet break of 4 days including B & B and one 3 course dinner.
WOW, the food is amazing here, breakfast great every day and full to bursting on leaving.
Part of the deal was a meal at No 15 ( jamie olivers restaurant),only available certain days.
they were fully booked for the day of the deal however the advisor was so switched on we got a discount off the value on the rooms and booked the meal privately.
We only paid about £150 for the goreous room in the end.
NO 15 is Well worth it, fantastic food and amazing views right on the beach. ( take your credit card £ 85 for 3 course lunch)
Porth manor is split into hotel and apartments. Sharing the pool which the apartments surround.
Nice without the kids screaming in the pool so I retired to the bar for large wine.
Very quiet hotel and staff very attentive especially the older breakfast staff. Younger weekend working staff need a slap but no different than any other teenager trying to make money out of the least amount of effort.
Fantastic tappas bar at the bottom of the hill in Porth just a short walk or over the beach.
Very friendly real italians.
Short coastal walk to Newquay, beware of fri/sat nights full of hen/stag parties just like watching boozed up britain but with smellovision!!!!
We found a great family run pub 15 mins walk from newquay centre and right on the sea front.
Even tho we didnt have kids it was a nice find, food looked good too even tho we didnt try it.
definatley will go again but will avoid Newquay ( its filthy)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

Booked through laterooms.com for a four night stay. We were quoted three prices! lst night 79.00 second night 99.00 and the next two nights 109.00 per night! We did ring the hotel and was told we could have a side sea view for the first two nights, then move into a sea view for the final two nights. What a mistake it certainly wasnt a better room even tho we were paying more! The second room was so small you couldnt swing a cat - yes it was a sea view, but also the local residents could view you if you stood looking through the window. The bed was very small, old and creaky, and so much smaller than our previous room. There is very poor signal re mobile phone and lap top use. We spoke to the manager about the different prices etc, and he was very unhelpful and made us feel like second class citizens and said he could do nothing due to us booking through late rooms, and said there was nothing he could do for us due to the hotel being full, and couldnt compensate us due to how we had booked, so we had to put up with the bad room and its contents. In defence, the cleaning staff were excellent and kept the place spotless. There could be more staff on for breakfast as they kept taking toast etc to the wrong table, and getting muddled up. All in all it felt more like a care home with not much care, for us either. Also, we went to pay our bill on leaving, and they had already taken the money, which is not our usual experience when booking through laterooms.com. We wouldnt return, its all up front and a lottery on what your room is like, no matter what hard eared money you part with. They may blame rooms.com for the difference in prices, but the hotel is not flexible, and runs on a take it or leave it attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acgriffiths, General Manager at Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2009

This guests was informed prior to arrival there was a room move half way through his stay. Although there was nothing wrong with his 2nd room he wanted to stay in the same room. We were unable to accommodate his request as we were full. I was very polite but the guest was annoyed he had to pay a different price each night of his stay. The prices which he booked through laterooms were different prices as to how much availability we had. The first night was £79-00 and the 2nd was £89. The last two nights were £109-00 per night. I was unable to give him any further discount. This guest was upset because he wanted to pay £79-00 across the board and when I said no he decided to right this review. If you read our reviews on this website they are all fairly good and I would ask all guests to make there own decision and come and see for yourself. We have numerous self catering properties in Cornwall as well as the Hotel and over 55% of our guests are returning again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. (Apartment no 12 - it's lovely!) Apartments are very new and beautifully decorated. 2 big bedrooms on ground floor with patio doors opening out onto huge garden with sea views. Upstairs is a lovely open plan kitchen, living room and dining room, again with patio doors opening out onto a balcony with gorgeous views of the ocean.

The apartments are spacious, very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is very well equipped too.

The hotel is there for use - we only used the bar, didnt use the restaurant. The bar is very nice - again with lovely views. The pool area is lovely too.

Porth is quiet, but you can easily walk into Newquay, which our 17 year olds did. A short drive away is Padstow - stunning. And a slightly longer drive is St Ives. Again, really lovely.

I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Visiting Padstow is a must, we did`nt want to leave and can`t wait to go back again. The Wifi was a bit of a dissapointment couldn`t always get a connection.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4real217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Porth Veor Manor for 2 nights. We were booked into a non-sea view room at a bargain price found on laterooms.com but were offered a sea view room for the first night (fully booked after that). I didn't want to cause any extra work for the staff but was assured it wasn't a problem to move rooms the next day, so we had the sea view room the first night and a room overlooking the pool the second night. The meal in the restaurant was exquisite and the breakfasts were excellent. Reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff were all equally helpful and friendly and the hotel is immaculately clean. The location is perfect - 10 minutes from the airport yet far enough away from Newquay! There is a bus running from the airport every hour through Porth to Newquay for non-drivers, and the railway station in Newquay is about 10 minutes away making Porth a flexible place to stay. We ate at a lovely tapas bar across from the beach on our second night which was excellent and there is also a friendly pub adjacent to the beach. An hours stroll on the coastal path takes you to Watergate Bay where Jamie Oliver's 'FIFTEEN' restaurant is as well as the Watergate Bay Hotel which serves well priced lunches which we had on the decking overlooking the bay - What a find :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldervalleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband & I booked a Gourmet Break and stayed 4 nights at the Porth Veor Manor Hotel in Porth, near Newquay. The break included a meal at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen plus a meal in the hotel restuarant, Beaucliffes.
What a superb hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel which was so clean - everywhere! All the staff were incredibly friendly and seemed to enjoy their work and working at the hotel. Our room was very spacious and well kitted out with a fabulous double shower tray and with water pressure that gave a fantastic shower (even on the third floor). We could not fault the breakfast - with high quality continental buffet plus cooked to order with choices including kippers and salmon. The restaurant meal was excellent value and again used fresh, high quality ingredients.
The position is also superb - you can easily walk to Porth beach but also have access to the main roads running through Cornwall.
My only negative comment is that the room next to us was not very well sound proofed but this did not affect our stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel and feel that it deserves a higher rating than the 3 stars currently awarded.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieann5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

After our previous poor experience the management invited us back to sample their hotel again. We were happy to return and I must say the only point that spoiled the previous visit was the poor service. On this occassion there was a vast improvement. The waiters were attentive and polite. The meal was of the usual high standard and we will definately be returning. Well done to the management for making good our bad experience and what ever you have done to alter the service has worked well.

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank Hoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £67 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing