We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Beaucliffes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at Beaucliffes”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed in Villa 10 which had a double room and a twin room downstairs and a lounge/diner/kitchen upstairs. Lots of space for children to do homework over half term which is why we chose it. Dinner at Beaucliffe's was very very good and we thought better than Fifteen down the road. The villa was modern and warm and bright. The beds were really hard and uncomfortable (and the pillows too), and the double was a small double which seemed so old fashioned given the space available. For that reason I wouldn't chose to stay there again - such a shame as a good night's sleep is so important. Perhaps the hotel beds are better? Breakfast was ok but dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    143
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
127
258
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband and I stayed in villa no.12 for 3 nights. Everything was perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The place is super clean. We will definitely be back and recommending to my friends! Well done!
Fantastic stay!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for four nights,weekend commencing 25.09.09. We really enjoyed our stay, we stayed in one of the villas, which was tastefully furnished, modern and very clean. We ate at the hotel on the first night the food was very good, although we felt the dining room lacked a little atmosphere ! There are many good restaraunts nearby and we like to go out and about I cannot reccomend highly enough Butchers Bistro Newquay more or less opposite the Great Western Hotel what a fabulous little find, We had fab food the atmosphere was lovely the staff were nice and helpful, it was a little on the expensive side but its not pub food and you get what you pay for, make sure you are extremely hungry if you decide to go.!!!!
Back to Porth Veor Manor good location in as far as getting onto the coastal path or down to the Porth Beach is easy via a gate at the bottom of the garden. Lusty Glaze is also a stones throw away, lovely beach with all the facilities you could ever want and more.
On the downside,If I had one little thing to say about the Apartment we stayed in outside our front door was the swimming pool which was a little noisy first thing in the morning with children playing but I am not that much of a grump that I would,nt expect children not to be having a good time. However if your looking for a peace and quiet ask for a villa/apartment with a beach view as these are furthest away from the swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenFNorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Having decided to take what the country is calling a ‘staycation’ and chosen not to holiday abroad this year; we in my opinion were taking a risk.

Porth Veor Manor is an un-believable surprise, nestled by the beach with the most incredible family feeling with that personal touch together of a hotel and as you put it yourself – ‘the country house on the coast’.

The most impressive, luxurious high quality self catering accommodation that we have EVER had the pleasure of staying in, immaculate it was furnished to an impeccable standard with more than anyone could need to make there stay more comfortable.

Even though the weather could have been better, it really didn’t matter because there was enough in the surrounding areas to keep us busy.
We would recommend trips to Holywell Bay Park; Bodmin Court room experience and Jamaica Inn to name just a few.
Restaurants to recommend in Newquay are the Medieval Mediary Experience, great value and excellent food and service and also the Indian Restaurant Marrakech, probably the best Indian meal we have ever had, although be prepared for a wait at peak times…worth it.
For afternoon cream teas try the restaurant on Newquay harbour umm delicious.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowbrite2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We booked via a'late booking' company the day before our stay. We were met by a very friendly receptionist Fabienne who managed to change our room to one with a seaview. The room was great although I personally did not find the bed comfortable. We ate at the hotel restaurant and had a lovely meal. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The next morning after a great breakfast while we were checking out Fabienne wished me 'happy birthday' . A very nice touch as I had only mentioned it in passing the previous night when checking in . Really nice that she had noticed and remembered.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Myself, my partner and children, aged 12 and 14, had a week at Porth Veor Manor at the end of July. We stayed in one of the Ocean View Villas (No. 10) which was absolutely lovely and really huge with two good sized bedrooms, two bathrooms and a very spacious living/dining/kitchen area, plus a balcony upstairs and a patio area on the ground floor.

Despite the weather being quite unkind to us, we still managed to have a great time. It helped massively that wi-fi was available although the service was quite patchy. There's also a small outdoor pool which I only braved once due to the weather, but it was really nice.

We had a really nice meal in the hotel's restaurant and I would also recommend the Coast Cafe (where you can get sandwiches, baguettes, cheesy chips, etc - we went there several times for lunch or snacks) which is on the path to Porth beach from the hotel. Also we really liked the Mermaid pub where we had a quite a few very enjoyable meals during the week (I particularly liked their home-made curry) - it gets really busy in there though, so get there early!

We love this area of Cornwall, mainly because of the amazing beaches such as Watergate Bay, Whipsiderry, Lusty Glaze (zip-lining, abseiling, coasteering, etc available) and loads of others too numerous too mention.

We also enjoyed popping in to Newquay, which is a place I admit I have a soft spot for, despite it's undeserved (in my opinion) reputation. We looked round shops, art galleries, amusement arcades and of course there's a Zoo and Aquarium for younger children.

All in all, a great time was had by all - we've already booked for next year!

PS - forgot to mention, the hotel does a lovely cream tea!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Myself,wife and 17 year old son stayed here in one of the lodges that overlooks the small pool area for five nights.On arrival parking was easy since we had our own identified car parking that was allocated.
The accomodation was excellant with a fitted kitchen with built-in fridge,freezer and dishwasher.Furthermore there was three TV's with cable and free internet. as well as en ensuite and roomy bedrooms.Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy and appeared nearly new..Our only complaint was that the main toilet was badly blocked but the staff got it sorted in a timely manner.So not a complaint at all really.
We were unlucky with the weather and it appeared the small pool wasn't heated when my son tried it.The staff however were very pleasant and seemed genuinely sorry that the weather was poor.Indeed they even suggested we visit the nearby pub/restaurant called The Mermaid which had an excellant atmosphere and pub type meals.
From a food perspective we tried Beaucliffes restaurant which is on site.We found the food to be excellant and tasty (guess that you can tell that i'm not a food connisseur!) Unfortunately we weren't asked if we wanted wine with the food and the water never arrived either.Small points again that could easily be rectified.
The surrounding area was pleasant and the beech was virtually next door.Indeed some rooms had a view of it.Nearby there were only a few things to do unless you walked the 20-25 ninutes into Newquay which we often did.
Overall,i'd say that the venue was a great base for someone who had a car and liked their accomodation quiet,clean and friendly.Given all the "new" add ons it was like having all the comforts of home whilst be on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRightBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Address: Porth Way | Porth Beach, Newquay TR7 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#10 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel is just over a mile from Newquay, within easy walking distance of all the amenities it has to offer, but far enough away to act as a haven from the hustle! Prettily perched above Porth Beach, you can look forward to breathtaking views across to Trevose lighthouse. But if you fancy a stroll, our terrific terraced gardens flourish in the mild Cornish climate and a private path leads you to join the coastal route, with easy access to Porth beach below. The hotel building itself is a charming 19th Century manor, packed with original features such as our winding staircase and open fires. And as we're big on good taste, you'll find award winning locally sourced food in the relaxing interior of our restaurant too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas And Apartments
Porth Veor Manor Hotel, Villas & Apartments Hotel Newquay
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing