We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sutherland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Came down to Newquay and stayed the night at this hotel .
Had a fantastic evening , Bar stayed open really late.
Close enough to the main part of the town.
The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Hotel rooms are not the best we have stayed at, but are clean and tidy.
Breakfast was full english and very enjoyable .
We will be staying there again in Feb.
Perfect for the weekender would recommend if you want a cheap stay and great fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-and-Mrs-Ritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    30
    14
    8
    50
See reviews for
6
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

i stayed at the sutherland hotel with some friends for new years eve and had a great time, the bar was open late, our rooms were comfortable and the full breakfast in the morning was a god send!! will defo stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

a group of us stayed for new years eve,we found our rooms comfortable,good breakfast in the morning.and all the staff were brilliant.we will be booking to stay again in the summer

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Picture this.... a hotel where everything is broken, everything is stained, everything stinks worse than a dead dog and where you will leave with mould clinging to your skin. Now multiply that by 10 and you are still a million miles away from how god awful this scanky pit hole is. I would have preferred to pay £70 to sleep in a bin.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MickyBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Today I witnessed about 30 residents (part of Dans stag 'do) surround 2 vehicles outside in the road. After much shouting at the occupants, the stag party then tried to rock the van. Wherupon a pregnant woman got out and protested. There were 2 small children sat in the front who were also hysterical at this time. She walked on to the forecourt where we were sat and got physically manhandled by men from the stag party. All the manager did was try and usher her away as quickly as possible, shouting a hurried appology as he went inside.
I was shocked and appalled. He did nothing. I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aiden1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

When we found out we were staying at the Sutherland for my friends stag weekend I immediately searched reviews for the hotel.
I was shocked to see some of the reviews and frankly after reading them, feared for my life.
When arriving, I was not disappointed, the demolition in progress next door didn't bear well!
The hotel is a large old house located in the centre of Newquay, about 5 mins walk from the main strip of bars, so it's located well.
That was the only redeeming factor of the hotel (apart from a couple of the staff - one of which was a bang tidy 19 year old potential glamour model! Yes, she really was that hot!!)
Out room was small, dirty, smelly, and the on-suite bathroom, was located across the main corridor and shared with the rest of the hotel.
There really is no explaining the run down, tiredness of the hotel.

But bearing all this in mind, it is perfect for stag do's (I wouldn't be so sure for hen weekends though)

Where else would you find a hotel that let a group of 13 men be pissed and rowdy for the whole weekend.
And big respect to Dave banana man, who didn't change his clothes, sleep or stop partying for a whole 4 days! They must have had to peel your underwear from you!

Come to the Sutherland expecting the worst and you won't be disappointed. Bear that in mind, get blind drunk and bathe yourself in bleach when you get home though, and you WILL have a good weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spermbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

the rooms were sound and the staff were perfect, the bar was open pretty much 24 hours we all had a great time

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#5 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutherland Hotel

Property: The Sutherland Hotel
Address: 29 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parties of any sort and size are welcome - Stags/Hens (fancy dress optional!), Sports Groups (fixtures can be arranged) and if you think you'll be hungry on arrival, food can be arranged providing it has been booked beforehand. If you would like a stripper, male or female, we can organise it! If you want to paintball, go-kart, horse ride, surf etc. we can help there as well, we just want you to enjoy yourselves. The Sutherland at a glance... 29 Bedrooms, 24 ensuite (single to multiples) All Groups Welcome (Stag, Hen, Sports) Own Public Free House - "The Top of the Town" Residents Licensed Bar / Lounge Most rooms en-suite Colour TV in all rooms Tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sutherland Hotel Newquay
The Sutherland Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing