We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'lovely owners'”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sutherland Hotel
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I come to this hotel around 3 or 4 times a year and i can hoenstly say, i've never had any complaints. The location is outstanding, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. The barman roger has quite often kept the bar open late for me and my friends which is ideal, as well as the owner enjoying a few 'jager bombs' with us! For the price you pay,this hotel has everything you need and i won't think twice about coming back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I spent a weekend at The Sutherland in September, I was travelling as part of a large mixed group, from memory about 14 men and 8 or so women.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, the bar was very reasonable and open as late as we wanted!

The rooms and decor of the hotel was fine, it's a little dated, could do with a lick of paint etc. The furniture in my room was a little chipped and tatty BUT it was clean, a decent size, good shower etc.

Breakfast in the morning was fine too, cereal, toast, juice and a freshly cooked English breakfast.

To sum up I wouldn't bring my girlfriend here for a romantic weekend but if you are looking for a base for a weekend of drinking/partying you could do a lot worse than the Sutherland. Nice and central in Newquay too so the local bars/clubs are a short stroll.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Came down to Newquay and stayed the night at this hotel .
Had a fantastic evening , Bar stayed open really late.
Close enough to the main part of the town.
The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Hotel rooms are not the best we have stayed at, but are clean and tidy.
Breakfast was full english and very enjoyable .
We will be staying there again in Feb.
Perfect for the weekender would recommend if you want a cheap stay and great fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-and-Mrs-Ritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

i stayed at the sutherland hotel with some friends for new years eve and had a great time, the bar was open late, our rooms were comfortable and the full breakfast in the morning was a god send!! will defo stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

a group of us stayed for new years eve,we found our rooms comfortable,good breakfast in the morning.and all the staff were brilliant.we will be booking to stay again in the summer

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Picture this.... a hotel where everything is broken, everything is stained, everything stinks worse than a dead dog and where you will leave with mould clinging to your skin. Now multiply that by 10 and you are still a million miles away from how god awful this scanky pit hole is. I would have preferred to pay £70 to sleep in a bin.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank MickyBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Today I witnessed about 30 residents (part of Dans stag 'do) surround 2 vehicles outside in the road. After much shouting at the occupants, the stag party then tried to rock the van. Wherupon a pregnant woman got out and protested. There were 2 small children sat in the front who were also hysterical at this time. She walked on to the forecourt where we were sat and got physically manhandled by men from the stag party. All the manager did was try and usher her away as quickly as possible, shouting a hurried appology as he went inside.
I was shocked and appalled. He did nothing. I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aiden1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#1 of 37 in Newquay
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#23 of 37 in Newquay
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutherland Hotel

Address: 29 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parties of any sort and size are welcome - Stags/Hens (fancy dress optional!), Sports Groups (fixtures can be arranged) and if you think you'll be hungry on arrival, food can be arranged providing it has been booked beforehand. If you would like a stripper, male or female, we can organise it! If you want to paintball, go-kart, horse ride, surf etc. we can help there as well, we just want you to enjoy yourselves. The Sutherland at a glance... 29 Bedrooms, 24 ensuite (single to multiples) All Groups Welcome (Stag, Hen, Sports) Own Public Free House - "The Top of the Town" Residents Licensed Bar / Lounge Most rooms en-suite Colour TV in all rooms Tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sutherland Hotel Newquay
The Sutherland Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing