We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and great views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location and great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel previously and had no complaints,on my second visit i decided to opt for evening meal as well as i was accompanied by family.

Out of season the barman doubles as a waiter and his attitude towards customer complaints needs to be questioned, my self and my family agreed that the vegetables with each meal were very under cooked which we brought to the attention of the waiter and his reply was thats how Chef cooks them," what he should have said was i will pass your comments on to the Chef " having been married to a Chef y self for twelve years i know how vegetables should be cooked.

The evening waiter could pick up a lot of tips off the morning waiter on customer service, the waiter at breakfast was excellent a real nice guy freindly and polite and an excellent addition to the breakfast experiance.

The public area's of the hotel are comfortable but unfortunately a bit more needs to be done to the bedrooms although the bed was extreemly comfortable,the sliding door to my balcony how ever had a make shift lock as the original was either broken or not working.

I would stay at this hotel again as the location is excellent and the views superb and apart from the barman/dinner waiter the rest of the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    179
    120
    90
    108
See reviews for
143
284
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had another great stay, it was our daughters wedding, and we had the reception there, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, brilliant service, lovely food, staff very helpful and friendly, our room was very clean,so was the bathroom. We have stayed several times at this hotel and always been very pleased, good value. We all had a great week. Look forward to staying again. It has a great view and the location is
good. The bed was very comfortable, 10/10.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The shabby state of the hotel made me embarrassed to be British - goodness knows what the foreign visitors thought of the place. The bedroom was very pokey and it was not good value for money. The toilet in the bathroom was dirty, the sheets on the bed do not cover the entire mattress (no sheet under the pillows!).

No fruit nor croissant at breakfast. The toaster needs replacing and maybe an additional one as there was always a queue. Nicer bread required. The cooked breakfast was uninspiring and no menu in sight so you can consider what to order. Tomatoes were tinned and I was not advised of this.

The swimming pool was tatty and the changing room prehistoric.

The walk into Newquay wasn't too far and reception provided a map. The barman was a nice chap.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko_2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

stevenage
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

All i can say about this hotel is;
The service brilliant,
The food brilliant,
The views brilliant,
The staff brilliant,
The price brilliant..
I can not fault anything about this hotel, I had a wonderful 2 nights and will definatley be retuning without a doubt.
The hotel is approx 15 mins from town, 10 mins to fistral beach, and because we went when the boardmasters were on, we had a few problems with arrangeing a taxi to get us to fistral beach, we could not walk as i had hurt my foot/leg and was on crutchies, but the owners jumped to our plight and gave us a lift, it was sevice beyond the call of duty. The booking/reception team gave us a room on ground level as requested because of my walking difficulty, a nice personal touch which was very much appreciated. The bar staff were friendly, actually all the staff were friendly and this really made all the difference. The room was clean and the bed was comfy, extra pillows were given to rest my leg upon, Im just so glad there is still great british hospitality out there.
Thank-you very much Hotel California, I will definatley be recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucklebum101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The beds are not comfortable!......We had a very small twin room, it was at the front of the hotel, we requested a room with a terrace or balcony, didn't get either!.....the hotel was mostly clean, but the toilet in our room was not!.........the breakfast was very plain and simple, we were not impressed with the self service area, no fruit or yoghurts, you needed to order these!......The staff, however were very friendly and helpful, but this Hotel needs to get with this century!........the bar closed even to residents at 11pm!.......lots of guests were not happy during our stay!............This Hotel could be great, but needs to change lots!.......would not stay again at the price we paid!.........not good value!...........

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlibran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had our wedding reception and evening doo at the Hotel California. All the staff where very friendly and helpful at all times especially David who was fantastic in organising everything nothing was to much trouble, he made everyone feel welcome and checked to see if we needed anything. The food was outstanding and lots of it, at our evening doo he put extra food on above and beyond what we paid for. The setting is stunning so alot of our guest sat on the belcony where there was never a rush for them to move. For the evening doo we had the room downstairs which was great as it was just opened to the wedding party with there resident DJ.

The Bridal suite was lovely clean and tidy with some chocolates, fruit and champagne.

The Hotel California ensured our wedding was perfect from start to finish we cant speak highly enough of them and will recomend hem to anyone that asks.

Thank you David and your staff for everything that you did for us and for making our day perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIET E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st austell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We cannot recommend highly enough the whole service that we experienced at the Hotel California! From the very first meeting with David back in February to arrange our Daughter's wedding through to her wedding day (in August) and the day after, we received nothing less than an excellent service.
David took most, if not all, of the pressure from us with his laid- back approach, there were no starch formalities, we told him what we wanted and he listened, not instructing us but confidently and professionally guiding us!
My Daughter and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite the night before the wedding, the room was fantastic with fresh flowers and a large bowl of fresh fruit. We went to the restaurant that evening for dinner where the food and service was exemplary. In the morning we were asked what we wanted for breakfast and then it was brought to our room! (and later came a bottle of wine)!
David came up to our room to escort our Daughter downstairs to meet her Father, a very special and private moment which we were proud to share with him. After the ceremony we went to have a look at the restaurant where we were having the wedding breakfast, it looked amazing, they had accommodated our every need!
Words cannot express the praise deserved of David and his staff......unique, friendly, professional, personal, curtious......etc! Not anything was too much trouble!
Our whole experience over the two days were faultless and we can only endorse the Hotel California, David and his staff as "par excellence"
We will most definitely choose this venue again...........David and your wonderful team........we salute you!

Thank you so very much!

Gina (Mother of the Bride)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing