We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very over priced, shabby and in need of major renovation”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very over priced, shabby and in need of major renovation”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Booked during August 2011 for 3 nights, location and price seemed about right. However, this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in for the following reasons; £117 a night b&b had to be paid up front - alarm bells ring; room shabby; damp/smelly rooms; sticky carpets; dated decor - 80's; lumpy mattress; food no frills standard to name a few. Top tip - view your room before paying !!!

The indoor swimming pool was small, shabby and dated and not used even though we paid for it.

On arrival the outside was very dated and our hearts sank, after a 3 hour drive it was most disapointing. When asked why you had to pay up front reception advised it was normal for this hotel ! We were shown to our family room that was not a 3 star standard, travel lodge would have been a far better choice. The first room was behind reception via a short corridor and it looked onto the main path to the bowling alley. Under the window was an air conditioning unit that buzzed away all day and night. Bathroom suite was in need of replacement, broken extract fan and the wc cistern had a cracked top that had been superglued, bath sealant grubby This room was also very dark, damp with a musty smell - even the curtains had rising damp stains. Upon complaint to the first receptionist, (even though 3 year old has asthma) we were told there were no other rooms available, so at 9.00pm we reluctantly stayed the night.

The next morning after an uncomfortable night sleep on the worst mattress ever we asked another receptionist if we could change rooms. To our surprise we were shown two other rooms that overlooked the outside pool that were also available the night before ! These rooms were a 25% improvement but still not 3 star standard expectation.

Good points were most staff were pleasant and room cleanliness ok. This hotel could be improved by replacing bathroom suites, carpets, curtains, mattresses as a minimium.

Room Tip: 1 - choose different hotel, 2 - get room over looking pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    185
    124
    90
    110
See reviews for
146
293
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel California with work for just under a week in August (we were working at Boardmasters). There were around 25 of us and we all had to share rooms (they had been booked this way). The hotel lobby and restaurant all looked relatively posh and well kept, however the rooms were a different story. They weren’t dirty as such, but were old and shabby – faded curtains, handles missing off drawers etc. They also always seemed to have spiders in them which was not great as I’m not a fan of spiders! However I did find the rooms relatively quiet and the bed comfortable.

The room size I had (1 double & 1 single) was good and had enough storage space, however, my colleagues rooms were a different story. They were put in what we referred to as ‘the servant quarters’ which were found through an unmarked door in the restaurant in a tiny corridor. They were twin rooms but each guest had to re-arrange their rooms as the twin beds were placed so they were basically a double bed – not good for those who didn’t know each other!

Parking was sometimes an issue although this was because we had a lot of cars for the amount of staff who were there, but it was free and enclosed so was good.

Breakfast was a good selection and well cooked, however it was awkward having to wait for the waiters to approach you to order a cooked breakfast & tea & coffee – this was often an issue as we needed to have a quick breakfast to start work, but once it was ordered it didn’t take that long. We didn’t eat in the restaurant (it was a bit too posh & overpriced for us), but we did eat in the bowling ally on the ground floor, which although not to everyone’s tastes was a good portion and good price – chips, burgers etc. I must mention the bowling ally staff, they were very friendly and dealt with our food, drink and bowling ally requests very well. It’s a full size bowling ally and is relatively cheap and lots of fun!

The reception staff were also great in dealing with our ever changing room requirements, and were very friendly and welcoming the whole time we stayed there. The night staff were also very helpful, as after we returned from work at around 3am I go locked out of my room and they were very helpful in letting me back in. It was also obvious to see that the owners really cared about the hotel a lot. They were often in the lobby in the morning making sure everything was okay.

It was also good that there was a costal path which was around a 20 minute walk to Newquay beach where we were based. To reach this you need to walk all the way to the main road and then turn left towards new housing developments, then when you get to what looks like a toilet on the right and that’s where the path starts.

Lovely little hotel and caring staff, could just do with a little bit of a re-vamp to make it great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed here for 3 nights end of October Room had a funny smell like cats pee, Or amonia the carpet was shabby, Balcony door would not close properly there was a gap on the top, Bath had brown stains around plughole, The room was not cleaned all the time we wre there, and only one set of towels were changed every day.There was no tiolet brush in bathroom.The lift was never working which meant we had to walk upstars to second floor My friend was disabled and had a mobility problem which did not help because when you got upstairs you had a glass door to open towards you at the top of the stairs which I thought was dangerous.Food was okay and staff worked hard many doubling up as cleaners and waitresses the barman also doubled as a waiter.The view was lovely from our room we could see right accross the estuary but I think the hotel could do with refutbishmnet, looked so nice in the foyer but pool and Jaquazi area let it down would not want to stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyjane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My Partner had visited this hotel 10 years ago and had been saying for ages he would love to come back and for me to share his experience. As soon as we pulled up in the car park he commented that he didnt remember it being so shabby.There is a musty smell in the reception/lounge. We made our way to our room and was most disappointed. Although it was clean it was very tired & shabby looking. The curtains were not the same height, we had a duvet underneath the sheets??and the divan did not have a valance. The bath needed replacing as was very scratched, the shelf in the bathroom had ring marks on it. The Carpet was patchy. We took a tour of the hotel and all around needs a good repaint and tidy up. My partner remembered however you could reach the beach via the Hotel gardens and we decided to take a trip down there. This path obviously had not been used for some time and was in accessable, On the way down we passed a roof level that used to be a bar and childrens playground, long since unused. Although disppointed we could not reach the beach we were more concerned this pathway to the bar & beach path had not been fenced off as any child could have been exploring and easily had a serious accident.
The only meal we had was breakfast this was ok apart from the sausages as they were cheap and undercooked. One morning arriving for breakfast I decided to sit at a table near the window only to be told by the waitress that I could not as we were only 2 in our party and instead directed us to a table that had already been used and needed clearing and relaying. This I can understand in the height of season but not a November weekend when there were not many guests staying.
The staff on reception although helpful as in booking us in, could bearly acknowledge us as we walked in or out and on departure did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay.
However, the young (skateboarding) man who served at breakfast was most pleasant and helpful.
We will not be coming back and my partner is pleased he had not recommended this hotel to others.

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great lay out for family room. (DONOT like the connecting room style offered by many)
Great views of river.
Staff lovely'
Breakfast great'
Double bed too short (we found all UK beds too short, we are 6'1 & 5'9 & have a queen size bed at home)'
A mini fridge would have been useful for milk etc for kids.
Hot water was too hot & difficult to regulate for kids to shower under.
Parking easy & free!!!
Close enough to main town area, but also just far enough away too!!!
Have already recommended this hotel to our friends who are looking at travelling.
Personally we like to see mattress protectors on beds. BUT it was all very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have stayed at this Hotel previously and had no complaints,on my second visit i decided to opt for evening meal as well as i was accompanied by family.

Out of season the barman doubles as a waiter and his attitude towards customer complaints needs to be questioned, my self and my family agreed that the vegetables with each meal were very under cooked which we brought to the attention of the waiter and his reply was thats how Chef cooks them," what he should have said was i will pass your comments on to the Chef " having been married to a Chef y self for twelve years i know how vegetables should be cooked.

The evening waiter could pick up a lot of tips off the morning waiter on customer service, the waiter at breakfast was excellent a real nice guy freindly and polite and an excellent addition to the breakfast experiance.

The public area's of the hotel are comfortable but unfortunately a bit more needs to be done to the bedrooms although the bed was extreemly comfortable,the sliding door to my balcony how ever had a make shift lock as the original was either broken or not working.

I would stay at this hotel again as the location is excellent and the views superb and apart from the barman/dinner waiter the rest of the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had another great stay, it was our daughters wedding, and we had the reception there, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, brilliant service, lovely food, staff very helpful and friendly, our room was very clean,so was the bathroom. We have stayed several times at this hotel and always been very pleased, good value. We all had a great week. Look forward to staying again. It has a great view and the location is
good. The bed was very comfortable, 10/10.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing