We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hotel was located in a quiet road next to the river Gunnel. We were on a Groupon deal and upgraded to a sea view room. The room was quite spacious although the bathroom was small. Overall the Hotel was very good with all communial areas clean and tidy. We even had a free bottle of good wine on arrival ! Meals were ok too, good value for money. Oh and the Tenpin bowling alley is great too.

Room Tip: Sea/River view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottiepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Oh what a shame , location of this hotel is brilliant as were all the staff I met , however, the room was like an damp old caravan ! It had a funny smell , was shabby (without the chic) and like something from the 70's & was certainly not a pleasant place to be !! The lobby & restaurant were better and the view was superb (& the food was very enjoyable) , this hotel with some money spent could be amazing . Be prepared for a tired hotel and you won't be dissapointed when you arrive. I most definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kashbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed at the hotel on a groupon deal, it was a bargain at £76 for wine dinner, bed & breakfast for two.
I work in a hotel and to be honest wasn't expecting anything brilliant for such a cheap deal but we still had a great time! We checked in before 3pm and the room was ready which was a bonus, room was clean and spacious and bed was very comfy. Dinner was ok, portions not huge or very hot and the serice was too quick for my personal liking. As soon as you finished your plate was taken and your next course served immediatly. Still it was all ok and we had a lovely evening playing pool and having a few drinks in the bar area. Breakfast was very chaotic our hot breakfast came before tea and toast, and to be honest i didn't think much of the breakfast it was poor quality and was a very small portion, still i did expect this for such a cheap deal. All in all we had a lovely evening away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We purchased a Groupon for this stay. I upgraded to a sea view room as other reviews suggested to do this. The room was a good size but was like something from the 70's, wasn't well cleaned the carpet needed hoovering. The balcony was nice but very dated too. The bathroom shower was a dribble and the tiles were mouldy. As we only paid for a voucher the room was not the worst part the food was awful it was like something you'd get in an 80's b&b. The ice cream at the end was so icy it was like it had been in the freezer since the hotel was built.
Breakfast was ok nothing to get excited about. Had I paid the going rate I would of been very upset. Good points - great location, great views.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate83mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Courteous reception on arrival. Facilities excellent, spotlessy clean. Very comfortable lounge and dining room with beautiful views. Food very good too. Excellent value through Groupon.

Would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Newquay and hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Rating 4.5/5

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Gannel Estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I am actually here now, have one day left, this hotel is loverly , I have a room with a balcony overlooking the gannel with superb views , it's very comfortable, and the staff are loverly, nothing too much trouble, the food Is very nice, especially the breakfast, done exactly how I like it, lol, I am a coach driver , here with a group, and I really hope my company send me here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suez58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A bit of a walk in to town so unless you are fit you will need a taxi, we enjoy walking when away so not a problem for us. We had a lovely view from our room of the estuary, but the room was very small. The toilet was dirty when we arrived and towels were not change when they should have been, they were just taken back out of the bath and hung back up, although the reception staff were very quick to make amends for the house keeping staff and were very friendly. Rest of the hotel was in keeping with it's star rating for the area. There is free wifi in the reception area which we made good use of for planning where to eat each night as we like to go out of the hotel and try different places, so can't comment on the hotels evening meal, although the breakfast was good and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Choose a room out the back with view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeyboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing