We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel with about 80 adults and 12 children from our church. The hotel could not have been more helpful from the moment we arrived.
The staff were extremely helpful, the food was well presented and excellent. The facilities were of a good standard and the hotel was very warm throughout (our visit was in February).
The bedroom was comfortable and spotlessly clean - including the en-suite.
The views were magnificent from the lounge and dining room. Our bedroom also overlooked the Gannel River and beyond - beautiful.
Thank you to the staff for making our weekend very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We did not use the fitness Centre of make use of room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have just arrived home following our church weekend away at Hotel California. What a great weekend we all had. The staff could not have been more attentive - they worked so hard. Food was excellent - well presented and delicious flavour/taste. The public areas are superb with attention to detail, for instance the beautiful flowers in reception and spring flowers on each of the lounge tables. The array of leisure facilities was impressive and I'm sure we used them all. The views of the Gannel and out to sea are magnificent. Although our bedroom was looking a little 'tired' it was spotlessly clean and the bed was more comfortable than our own. Well done, Hotel California, for making us so welcome and responding to our every need. Do hope we can come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Apart from the pleasant and helpful staff, the Hotel California is a tired and musty hotel. The family rooms are dated a frankly very unpleasant. Some of the children's bunk beds were unsafe and not fit for purpose. The hot water was running yellow with black floating particles. I had booked the weekend on what was a very cheap Groupon deal. Despite the cheap price. My brother and his family along with my family simply felt the musty and tired surroundings to be unacceptable to the point that the thought if staying in the rooms made us cringe. We requested a refund and thankfully the hotel staff were happy to oblige. A truly awful hotel, so much so, I felt compelled to share my comments on Trip Advisor, something I have never felt necessary to do before!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Savvyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed for one night on a special deal and enjoyed what proved to be a very nice hotel and a comfortable stay. Staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel enjoys a good location overlooking the Gannel estuary with some nice walks from there. Our room was spacious, clean, tidy and with a balcony making the most of the view.

The three course meal (whilst not elaborate) was nicely prepared and presented, and served in a good quality dining room (again making the most of the view). Breakfast was fine, if a bit limited choice-wise.

All-in-all, we felt it was a good choice for a night away and encountered none of the problems identified in prevoius reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in early February and were well looked after. The hotel had opened specially for our party and hadn't had a full pre-season clean but the lounge is a lovely, open area and both the lounge and dining rooms have lovely views across the River Gannel. The staff were excellent - particularly those in the dining room. They made us feel most welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MandSExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here in September 2012. On arrival we had a good first impression but it all went down hill very quickly! We arrived around 8.45pm to find an empty reception area. A member of bar staff ignored us as he walked past. A receptionist arrived 5 minutes later to book us in. While doing this another guest asked approached her to say he still had no hot water in his room after reporting it that morning. The receptionist assured him it would be sorted and as he walked away she said 'what do you expect me to do at 9pm' We thought this was very rude - talking about another guest like that to us and if he reported this in the morning they had all day to deal with it. Our rooms were 'ok' nothing special apart from the view. Damp smelling and in desperate need of updating. Breakfast was the worst we have ever had!! Very small portions, only luke warm and completely tasteless!! Even after mentioning this to our waitress there was no improvement. Cutlery, cups and tableclothes were dirty. No sauces on the table so had to ask for them EVERY DAY!! I reported all this to reception after our waitress did nothing but still no improvement. If we hadn't already paid for breakfast we would have walked to Newquay and paid for a decent one. We saw the owners MR & MRS JONES several times in the Hotel and not once did they speak or even have eye contact with their guests. After all, these people are paying good money to stay at their Hotel. Very rude!! I wrote to the owners when we came home explaining how disappointed we were but they didn't even have the decency to reply. I phoned MRS JONES to ask about my letter but she didn't want to know about our problems and wouldn't even confirm she had received my letter! COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends at New Year through a Groupon deal. Yes, the rooms need updating (like many seaside hotels) but we were made to feel extremely welcome and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were happy. The rooms are pretty basic but comfortable and The reception and dining hall have recently been refurbished where we enjoyed two fabulous evening meals there. A lot of effort had gone into the decor with beautiful and stylish Christmas decorations and a warm, inviting atmosphere. It was a pity there had not been more bookings with more guests to appreciate it all! Would go again.

Room Tip: Best to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £38 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing